Autopsy “You’re Shit at Dying” Freo Trounce the Hawks

When you step back and look at it it's only really one first round pick 'wasted'. He would have cost the other first round pick to draft anyway - and he's still young enough he's practically got the entire career of a draftee ahead of him with us.

The trade will no more 'cripple us' than drafting a dud one year with our first pick would.
We did give a high 2nd rounder as well.

+ves
  • Ras defensive work was actually ridiculous. There were so many times you’d excuse him giving a free or not locking it in but his tackling was incredible. If I’m honest I have some concerns on his pace but his handballs and defensive stuff was absolutely what our midfield needs. Add Johnson and the midfield mix really comes together.
  • Jackson was a ****ing behemoth and if that’s what we get most weeks against good opposition when hes 24-30 then he’s worth it. Close to unstoppable
  • Fyfe back out there was awesome, it’s incredible the difference he makes around the ball
  • Thoight Pearce and Clark were fantastic and we are slowly getting the real Pearce back

Ves
  • I hope he gets another crack at it (though it will be hard with Fyfe back) but Treacy was so close. He had to take that mark after doing the hardwork top of the goalsquare
  • I hope Darcy can get over that niggle because we are going to need him the next few weeks

Really liked Erasmus’ fast hands in close.
For me, the quick decision making and clean hands are key for modern midfielders.
His tackling and defensive mindset is what we need - hoping he stays in next week and beyond

Geez Will Day will tear a game apart in years to come

Interesting thing I noted was him attending the centre square in the first quarter with Darcy rucking, which is the first time I have seen that trialled.

Ysaye jackson lined up as mid start of 3rd quarter in the saints game. Don’t understand why we haven’t done it again since.

Brayshaw and Jackson both with phenomenal games. So good to see fyfe back, especially in the middle.

Anyone else’s Kayo refusing to play the replay?
Just got home wanting to bask in the glory and pick up all the intricate bits I missed live (after a few beers) and nada!!
Other than that am currently on cloud 9 loving life right now

View attachment 1680350
We’re gonna send them to the bottom!
My Hawk-supporting work friend forced me into putting a posh lunch on the outcome of tonight's game, even though he was convinced that we would win. I think he just wants the Hawks to get Harley Reid so he will be quietly happy about the % draining we did; almost like a bigger masochist than a freo supporter.

Ah I can only add to the praise for Fyfe, he made an instant impact, his game sense to put his body in the way of his opponent and block for his team mate coming through is just wonderful to watch.

Reckon we could surprise the Swans next week if Fyfe plays a full game of that.

Will be interesting to see selection when Johnson is available the week after.

Great confidence boost that the team needed.

No matter what JL has helped bring back the crowds.

Do you all remember the dark Lyon years of 20-30k? 33k if lucky. We've been shitful the past few weeks but still managed 37k - so there's a good 5-7k who've gotten in board and decided to stick through the fat.

Good for us business wise.
Except that's bullshit.

We never had a 20k crowd with Lyon at Optus. 2019. We had 1 of 33k against Swans and had 48k in his last game.

No matter what JL has helped bring back the crowds.

Do you all remember the dark Lyon years of 20-30k? 33k if lucky. We've been shitful the past few weeks but still managed 37k - so there's a good 5-7k who've gotten in board and decided to stick through the fat.

Good for us business wise.
Was a much quieter crowd than I remember. Acoustics are different?

Ah I can only add to the praise for Fyfe, he made an instant impact, his game sense to put his body in the way of his opponent and block for his team mate coming through is just wonderful to watch.

Reckon we could surprise the Swans next week if Fyfe plays a full game of that.

Will be interesting to see selection when Johnson is available the week after.

Great confidence boost that the team needed.
Johnson needs as many games as possible. The guy's a gun in the making. To bring him back through Peel would be moronic.

Apart from the guys already mentioned (Jackson and Brayshaw in particular) I thought O'Meara was very clean with the footy, Clark and Luke Ryan were excellent off half back with Young also contributing very well. Honourable mention to Freddy for 3 goals and Amiss also - he continues to look a real future prospect.

Anyone else’s Kayo refusing to play the replay?
Just got home wanting to bask in the glory and pick up all the intricate bits I missed live (after a few beers) and nada!!
Other than that am currently on cloud 9 loving life right now

It'll probably be on 504 if you search that up on Kayo. They often shelve the replay till after that's done from what I've seen.

Breaking news!
King Charles has knighted Sir Nathan Fyfe.

Autopsy “You’re Shit at Dying” Freo Trounce the Hawks