Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023

Should Castagna be dropped for the Port game after his 2 disposal effort vs the Swans?

• Yes - for Cumberland

• Yes - for anyone

• No

• Make him Sub

Results are only viewable after voting.

Mate we love the guy but the reality is he hasn’t improved at all, but in fact he’s s**t the bed….. literally

his new wife is too good looking for him to get away with that dont you think

Wouldnt get a game with any top 8 sides so if we are serious as we have said we are (Hopper and Taranto for no draft picks this year of note) then it wouldnt make sense for him to be any more than depth

Wish him well in life though and hope he can attract interest at the end of the year with a team looking for experience.

Silvani is the new list manager and St Kilda has recently recruited our small forwards.....🧐

Jason could show them what multiple premierships look like!

Anyone thought his deal may have been backended to even out the salary cap in prior years?
Maybe even planned this way to ensure if he leaves it’s on a high $ for compo?
Can you imagine the meltdowns from the supporters of other clubs if he left and we actually got something decent? I don’t think it will happen as I doubt any other club would be interested in his ‘unique’ skill set. But if it did I’d love it just for the insane humour of it all.

That's my hope.

Package whatever we have for a decent pick.

Can't see Jason staying on our list ... if the young guys keep developing. We've got some serious talent emerging in that smaller forward role.

I thought he and Aarts would usually be among the better players in the VFL last year

Here , we would typically scream to see Sonsie , Banks, Brown ... and Aarts or Jason would get the call up

It's the wake up call , the VFL has plenty of mature bodies around the 25yo mark , been in AFL systems ...
not many 18 yos just come in and sweep them aside

So hopefully Jason plays mostly or all VFL , not because I hate him , just because there are very few injuries
and other clubs come sniffing

I reckon he has one lifeline to remain a future AFL player, and that is as a tagger. Whether we want to use him as one is another question.
If George blunts the oppo offence causing ball up or slowed momentum, without a large contribution to Tiger turnover or frees against, then that is truly valuable team contribution.

Shooting Mia Goth GIF by NEON
butt gun GIF

The worst thing they could do with a player who is borderline delist at end of season quality is rush him in for round 1 under an injury cloud and lack of recent training.

With respect to Castagna, I really hope he sits out round 1, then is brought back via the VFL to earn a spot if VFL form/injuries warrant it. Hopefully in that time, someone like Judson Clarke or similar takes the other small forward role and keeps Castagna out.

MRJ is there for pressure, I don't think Castagna adds anything that another more talented player can't provide to the team.

There is no way Castagna should play seniors ever again.
He should play VFL and/ or assist as a fitness coach to see out his contract.
If it's good enough for Steven Morris it's good enough for Jason.

Shit comparison. Steve Morris did **** all in his time as a Richmond player and Castagna is a triple premiership player.

George is depth now and so will play a lot of VFL this year. I hope others have gone past him. Rance assisted in coaching capacity when injured. Don't know if VFL need extra coaches or if George is the coach type. He is an athlete no doubt.

At his age he'll have a football career at some local level. If not an oppo club, non AFL clubs are probably better paid. He'll make a living out of his football. Hopefully he goes to tattoo art school and becomes an Ink master.

George is depth now and so will play a lot of VFL this year. I hope others have gone past him. Rance assisted in coaching capacity when injured. Don't know if VFL need extra coaches or if George is the coach type. He is an athlete no doubt.

At his age he'll have a football career at some local level. If not an oppo club, non AFL clubs are probably better paid. He'll make a living out of his football. Hopefully he goes to tattoo art school and becomes an Ink master.
He's done his hamstring anyway I heard

Not that I want anyone to get injured but fact of life is some players are injured at any given time, rarely does a team have a full list to choose from. For so long it's always injuries to all our guns at once that has crueled us. It's nice to have an inconsequential spud on the injury list as opposed to a gun. Apart from looking at his sh1t tatts this is the happiest Cantstandya has made me in years.

Hope you feel better potting a 3 time premiership player... If George didn't make you happy, I hope you didn't celebrate any of the recent flags!

As for Spud, be great to see your footy resume for comparison

Player Watch #11: Jason Castagna - signed to 2023