Player Watch #18 Jesse Dattoli

I think we need Dattoli in the forward line more so than the midfield.

Last season we were high scoring. But I feel we lacked a bit of creativity in the forward line. We relied a lot on Papley to generate some attacking spark. (When our midfield were not dominating or winning turnovers.)

So I don't mind drafting guys like Dattoli or Bowman who might offer something different in our forward line.
Reckon Dattoli's first few years at least will be forward before considering significant time in the midfield. We could also use Hayward in a more attacking vein. The other question is whether to persist with Jordon in a negating role rather than attacking, or replacing him with someone more attacking. We could alter the framing of the forward line very significantly also with Warner and Heeney resting there and Gulden and McInerney pushing up. I still like the idea of playing Logan and Amartey closer to goal but McLean behind the ball to help block exits.

I wouldn't say so, getting to the point where you can safely have an amateur fight in boxing takes a tonne of effort (usually at least one or two years of proper training).

Just three three minute rounds will seriously tank you as it's non-stop and you literally do not get a moment to rest, plus on top of the cardio vascular requirements you need extraordinary agility and hand eye coordination.

It takes a certain mental strength to get yourself in the ring, I really do think it will hold him in good stead.
His boxing history and the fact that he refers to himself as "competitive" are traits that I value highly given we have been shown to have a bit of a soft underbelly.

I really like this pick and think he'll be great for us and may have an instant impact.

Apparently, he has been impressing with his kicking on both feet so far.
His Dad coaches locally and has taken Heidelberg, Vic to the last three premierships. His dad is a sports nut with a background in footy, soccer, tennis (coached pro players) & boxing. Jesse was a natural right sided kid growing up & his dad insisted he only use his left side (kick & handball) until he was equally proficient. The kid is as competitive as they come. His sister is 15yo & on the junior tennis circuit travelling with their mum. He classes Anthony Rocca, Matt Rowell & Noah Anderson as mentors. Both Matt & Noah played for Carey Grammar coached by his dad. He barracked for Collingwood due to his close relationship with Rocca. His AFL role models are Lachie Neale & Toby Greene.

"First thing I thought was I've gotta pack my bags and get to work"​

"I'm working on my celebrations"

Dont You Dare The Office GIF by hero0fwar

Like the rest of the draftees he has a very good idea of what he needs to do to make the most of his opportunity. That is very encouraging. I really hope he debuts R0. Want to see what he brings.
I also feel like there is more of an avenue for him to make the best 22 compared to that of Konstanty.

Like yes there might be the same number of small forwards on the roster compared to 2023, but it feels like there are more developing players than nailed on players.

I also feel like there is more of an avenue for him to make the best 22 compared to that of Konstanty.

Like yes there might be the same number of small forwards on the roster compared to 2023, but it feels like there are more developing players than nailed on players.
I don't know if it's Kennedy or other stuff but this crop of newbies seem better mentally prepared than other recent ones.
As to smalls I think Cox will be concentrating more on competitiveness than "small forward ness" whatever that might be.

I don't know if it's Kennedy or other stuff but this crop of newbies seem better mentally prepared than other recent ones.
As to smalls I think Cox will be concentrating more on competitiveness than "small forward ness" whatever that might be.

I hope it means we bin the 3 tall idea though, it won't happen but I live in hope.

We don't call it a roster in Aussie Rules ! we call it on the list

Sorry i couldn't get through it and can't find the relevance

No worries bedford. I'm just saying language evolves and you can't stop it. Personally, I'm ok with that (except when I'm not!). But you can have your own opinions. You may not be reactionary in general, but when it comes to use of language and footy I'd say you'd like it to be frozen as it was in approximately 1979.

2020 even , it's some getting sucked into yank talk and no need ffs lets be ourselves

Player Watch #18 Jesse Dattoli