2010 - General Player Discussion

Barry Hall in your SC team??

• Absolutely. Bargain pick up of the year.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No way. Will snap someone within the 1st month.

• No. Will be out too many games this year.

• Not a great SC option in the first place.

Re: 2010 Player Discussion.

Any thoughts on Brett Peake as a fourth midfielder? Saints picked up Lovett for pace and Peake for insurance just a hunch Lovett wont play so surely Peake will be the pace injection they were looking for? Plus he wont have to score much to get his price on the rise from $350K? And he's in a better team to start with which can only help him get more of the ball?

mcveigh, masten, ziebell, redden all better considerations imo. peake isnt very good at footy / and or fantasy footy

Peake is a spud dont get. him what are thoughts on Cale Hooker he has had a great pre season scoring over 100 each game. HIs place is set in essendons 22. i tihnk there are a lot of similarites between him and Gilbert of last year

Do you think its worth the risk or should i go with one of Malceski or Kennely?

Harry O'Brien is playing more of a Heath Shaw role this year, with Shaw likely to get tagged some games is Harry worth the swap and how much will he rise in value?

Re: Stanton

Hey all,

I've been locked away for days trying to finalize my (now ridiculously different) team before lock out.... An issue I had stumbled upon is regarding Stanton... To select or not. Is he a goer this year or will his few preseason standout games (i.e. points) end there in the preseason... I just don't know, at that price I reckon he's a gamble but what do you all think??

PS: The other issue the Don's have thrown at me is with McVeigh so cheap and headed back to the squad soon...

Cheers all.

Hey all,

I've been locked away for days trying to finalize my (now ridiculously different) team before lock out.... An issue I had stumbled upon is regarding Stanton... To select or not. Is he a goer this year or will his few preseason standout games (i.e. points) end there in the preseason... I just don't know, at that price I reckon he's a gamble but what do you all think??

PS: The other issue the Don's have thrown at me is with McVeigh so cheap and headed back to the squad soon...

Cheers all.
I'm also keen to know if Stanton and McVeigh are worth a toss in my SC team.

I'm wondering on another player to fill in my 4th midfield spot, I've narrowed it down to Kerr, Rischetelli or S. Burgoyne. Any ideas on who I should choose guys? (Wouldn't mind another decent 400k player to fill the spot if you can think of any.)

Wouldn't touch any of those guys you mentioned with a 10 foot pole.

To be honest, I'd look to Boak or Ball for value. I'd maybe even consider Callam Ward or Masten.

Stanton is hilarious to me, and I really hope people in my league pick him based on his recent stats.

Cutting up Melbourne and Richmond without a tag in a couple of practice games may be good preseason form, but that's all it is. Expect his inconsistent best once the real stuff starts.

Stanton is hilarious to me, and I really hope people in my league pick him based on his recent stats.

Cutting up Melbourne and Richmond without a tag in a couple of practice games may be good preseason form, but that's all it is. Expect his inconsistent best once the real stuff starts.
Why? So you can lose to them?

Got my team finalised but keep swapping Cotchin for Ziebell and vice versa every half hour or so, which am i going to stick with, both are almost the same price...........

Firstly, there is a bigger picture than just the pre season.
How old is Stanton, does he have room for improvement, how did his season finish last season..? well since you asked...

He is only 23 years old and far from hitting his peak.

Stanton from round 15 last season has posted scores of -

113, 95, 105, 78, 93, 131, 111, 109, 118 and in the NAB 121 and 196.

So over the last 11 games for Essendon he has averaged 115.
And remember his NAB scores were posted with less playing time.

I don't think its unreasonable to say that Stanton will improve his average, anywhere from 5 - 15 ppg this season.

He certainly won't be going backwards.

Just want to get some ideas and thoughts on some quick study for one of my Defensive options. Ive already locked in Goddard, Enright and Hodge. I have 535k left for another top defender. My favourite four remaining players are Heath Shaw, James Kelly, Shannon Hurn and Chris Newman.

Shaw 25YO. Averaged 112.5 in his last 11 games. (117, 121, 11, 89, 93, 105, 117, 94, 161, 142 & 93) Including finals. After all that media attention last preseason and selection in the leadership group, he looks ready to be back to his best. The way he finished last year might suggest he is over his tagging woes also. Thoughts??

Kelly 26YO. Averaged 94.5 in his last 11 games (96, 88, 81, 106, 71, 94, 93, 91, 87, 89,142). Finals included. Super consistant and a rarely selected SC option also. Slips under the radar all the time like Enright did couple of years ago. would you expect him to get better??? I'm often tempted in selecting him. Thoughts?

Hurn. 22YO. Averaged 103 in his last 11 games (130, 96, 107, 172, 82, 82, 51, 92, 119, 105, 99). Will he dominate? Can he handle the attention? I dont know! He has a sexy penetrating kick and that is supercoach gold. Thoughts?

Newman 28YO. Averaged 98 in his last 11 games. (76, 121, 106, 133, 85, 105, 67, 99, 96, 70, 117.) Ive had him in my SC side all pre-season. Beatiful left foot hits his targets often. But im worried this season he might drop off the pace. I have a gut feeling he will decline due to the experience lost in the tigers side and lack of forward options. There is also been talk that he will play midfield here and there too.

Who would you choose?

harry o'brien?

Averaged 100 in the NAB challenge.
With Heath Shaw rotating through the midfield and possibly even playing on a wing, expect O'Brien to play the rebounding defender role while Shaw isn't there.

Would expect a realistic 10 ppg rise in his average.

PATFULL, GRUNDY, N. KRAKOUER, H. O'BRIEN or J. RUSSELL?

I'd go O'Brien mate, huge wraps on him from Pies supporters.

What do you guys think of Mitch Farmer, got him on my midfield bench, think it will work well with Goddard and Hodge able to swap with him at any time. Can downgrade him as a mid or defender aswell which is useful.

Hi guys, I'm trying to get a $200K defender to replace Myers - any suggestions?
Beau Waters or Matt Maguire if you already have both, your pretty much stuffed unless you can find another 50-70k for Malceski, Hunt or Ladson.

I've got those two already on my bench.
The max I've got is $230K, so anyone under this price?