2010 Ladder Predictions

As many have already said, this is very pointless given this year isnt over yet, the trade/draft period hasnt happened, and the draw hasnt come out. But Im going to do one cos I like to be involved okay.

1. St Kilda - See no reason why they wont be up and about again (injuries to key players the only possible problem).
2. Collingwood - As much as it pains me to say, the Pies are a good team and are still getting better.
3. Adelaide - Have reinvented their style of play and are now very exciting to watch, and will only get better in 2010.
4. Geelong - The fall started with their dodgy 2nd half of 09, and while they are still a very good side, they are nowhere near as good as they were.
5. Western Bulldogs - They always seem to be there or thereabouts and pull a few surprises (beating Geelong and Collingwood), but then play like shit (losing to West Coast), and I see this continuing.
6. Brisbane - May end up a lot higher than this since they still have some guns from the premiership years, plus good youngsters in Clark and Rich.
7. West Coast - Not being biased, but I really see no reason why we wont return to finals in 2010. Started to make Subi a fortress again, and even pulled out an away win. This will continue in 2010, especially with the returns of Cox, Kerr and Waters (lets not forget we will also have the 2010 Rising Star Winner Pick 7).
8. Carlton - Not convinced of their depth, but as West Coast in 05-07 showed, a gun midfield can cover many holes.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
9. Hawthorn - Probably placed too low, but the teams above I think will push them out of the 8 again.
10. Essendon - Like Hawthorn, but for some disgusting reason, they might end up pushing top 4 in 2010.
11. Sydney - The slide that a lot of people have been predicting for many years has finally started. Losing Hall, Mickey O and Barry (possibly Kirk too) will prove to be a huge loss and they face many years of rebuilding.
12. Fremantle - Who the hell knows what Freo will do? Their inconsistency just makes me hate them even more.
13. Port Adelaide - Another frustrating team. Like Freo, they are consistently inconsistent. They may make finals, they may get the spoon, its too hard to tell.
14. Melbourne - Like West Coast, they timed their tank to perfection, but unlike West Coast, they chose a girl with pick 1 (relax all you Jill Watts fanboys). Seriously, there are a number of potential guns here (plus Scully and Pick 2 this year), they just lack the experienced core of West Coast. A few years away from making finals.
15. North Melbourne - Trouble ahead for the Roos. I dont see much hope for them, and with GC17 and WS coming in, rebuilding will be even harder.
16. Richmond - What can I say about this rabble? Seeing them live on Friday night made me wonder how many players truly care. They fooled many, myself included, at the start of the year but it is evident that a lot of deadwood needs to be chopped from this place before they can even think about climbing the ladder. Certain wooden spooners IMO.

1. Collingwood - A great list and still a young list, only getting better
2. Hawthorn - With a full list plus a top 10 pick, will bounce back easily
3. St Kilda - No reason to drop, class list now with self belief
4. Carlton - Pains me to say it but they may well be coming if Waite and co stay fit. Gibbs to mature
5. Adelaide - Tippet to challenge for the Coleman, with Porpus, Burton, Tippet all firing have the best forward line in the league to rival hawks
6. Geelong - Can do anything as long as given a spot in the 8, which they should still do easily
7. Bulldogs - Inability to win games they should (WC at Etihad) will continue to haunt them, will get up for big matches (this seasons geelong and pies).
8. West Coast - Will make Subi one of the most dreadful away fixtures for anyside again.. but still rubbish on the road
9. Brisbane - Building a great list, Simon Black to drop off, shifting of the guard may lead to losing a bit of direction IMO
10. Port Adelaide - For a talented list, still one of the most inconsistent teams in the league. Pearce to start finding some consistency however
11. Essendon - Great young list and probably should finish higher, i just struggled to find room for them. Could climb as high as 7th
12. Melbourne - No reason to tank second half of the season anymore is there?
13. Sydney - Young players not ready to lead a team in to September yet. Will come good though
14. Richmond - Still Richmond
15. Fremantle - Still coached by Mark Harvey
16. North Melbourne - Need to do well at this years draft, otherwise the future is looking bleek IMO

I know what you may think.. Collingwood in first = another biased supporter.
However, this is my honest opinion.
1-3 = a tear away group
4-7 = battle for 4th spot
8-11 = tight battle with any of these 4 really able to grab that last spot
The rest = Young developing lists who will not be expecting big things in '10 to start off with

Premiers = Collingwood
Brownlow = Joel Selwood
Coleman = Kurt Tippet
Rising Star = Tom Scully

Not as stupid as you may think. They have the determination and will remain competitive for sure. If they can win a few more close games, unlike this year, then will be close enough. I see us just missing, but its definitely not a horrible prediction.

Not as bad as people predicting Port in the top eight. No gamebreakers, no culture, will be near the bottom.

They have a very overrated list.

1-4: Collingwood, St.Kilda, Hawthorn, Adelaide
5-8: Bulldogs, Geelong, West Coast, Port Adelaide
9-12: Essendon, Carlton, Brisbane, Fremantle
13-16: Melbourne, Richmond, North Melbourne, Sydney

looks close - a better approach that thinking you can pin point a position.

Sydney look low - they are being forced to rebuild but they are stronger and more consistant then the other 3 lowest 4. Perhaps they are 10-13.

Fremantle have a mature spine and maturing, kids may be as high as 8-9

Port - who knows

1. Geelong
2. Collingwood
3. St Kilda
4. Bulldogs
5. Adelaide
6. Brisbane
7. West Coast
8. Essendon

9. Carlton
10. Hawthorn
11. Kangaroos
12. Port Adelaide
13. Melbourne
14. Sydney
15. Fremantle
16. Richmond

7. Bulldogs - Inability to win games they should (WC at Etihad) will continue to haunt them, will get up for big matches (this seasons geelong and pies).

West Coast and Carlton are the only side outside the top four to have beaten us this season. Is that really an inability to win games we should?

Can someone please explain to me how the Swans will be worse next year than they were this year?

All our retirees were on their last legs. Hall left half way through the year and has already been replaced. Micky O had a great last month, but was playing poorly before that and had injuries in the first half of the year when we actually won most of our games. Crouch wouldn't have played if it wasn't his few games. Leo played 3 games all year.

We've had injuries to our top tier youngsters. Our first pick from 08 was injured, our first two picks from 07 were injured, our second pick from 06 was injured.

Yet, we've introduced some very promising young guys who will be better next year. White will have a full preseason as our FF. Nick Smith has already shown he's a player. Grundy has finally found a position. Hanneberry will actually have his first pre-season.

None of our older guys will get worse. Goodes is as good as ever. O'Keefe had his best season ever. Kirk is Kirk. J. Bolton had his best season.

People picking us for the spoon are nuts.

Can someone please explain to me how the Swans will be worse next year than they were this year?

All our retirees were on their last legs. Hall left half way through the year and has already been replaced. Micky O had a great last month, but was playing poorly before that and had injuries in the first half of the year when we actually won most of our games. Crouch wouldn't have played if it wasn't his few games. Leo played 3 games all year.

We've had injuries to our top tier youngsters. Our first pick from 08 was injured, our first two picks from 07 were injured, our second pick from 06 was injured.

Yet, we've introduced some very promising young guys who will be better next year. White will have a full preseason as our FF. Nick Smith has already shown he's a player. Grundy has finally found a position. Hanneberry will actually have his first pre-season.

None of our older guys will get worse. Goodes is as good as ever. O'Keefe had his best season ever. Kirk is Kirk. J. Bolton had his best season.

People picking us for the spoon are nuts.

Some people just assume because a side has been good for so long it is inevitable they will eventually turn into a rabble. A side coached by Paul Roos and as tough as Sydney will never ever be bottom four. Its similar to all the people tipping Adelaide to miss the eight this season, Sydney in my opinion will be in the 5-10 bracket next season.

I think next year the big improvements will be made by Hawthorn and Carlton, with Essendon being a distinct possibility. However, they seem to be stagnating and the jury is out to whether their young list can produce another good consistent season with the dearth of experience that they now have. The big slider will most likely be Sydney, who will spend the next few years dwindling about the bottom four. Geelong might slip out of the top four, and who knows what Fremantle and Port Adelaide will produce for us next season.
1. Collingwood
2. St Kilda
3. Western Bulldogs
4. Hawthorn
5. Carlton
6. Geelong
7. Adelaide
8. Brisbane Lions
======================
9. Essendon
10. West Coast Eagles
11. Port Adelaide
12. North Melbourne
13. Sydney
14. Fremantle
15. Melbourne
16. Richmond

1. Hawthorn
2. St Kilda
3. Footscray
4. Geelong
5. Collingwood
6. Carlton
7. Adelaide
8. Port Adelaide

9. Brisbane
10. West Coast
11. Essendon
12. Fremantle
13. North Melbourne
14. Melbourne
15. Richmond
16. Sydney

Premiers: Hawthorn
Runners Up: Footscray
Brownlow: Mitchell

Also I think 6th - 11th will be extremely close!

1. Adelaide
2. Western Bulldogs
3. Collingwood
4. St. Kilda
5. Geelong
6. Hawthorn
7. Brisbane
8. Carlton

9. North Melbourne
10. Essendon
11. West Coast
12. Melbourne
13. Sydney
14. Fremantle
15. Richmond
16. Port Adelaide

1. Adelaide - Once again under Craig are storming up the ladder, and while they may lose some experience between now and then I think their young players will be developed to fill those spots. Most professional club in the comp.
2. Collingwood - Naturally a very gritty team, but with the flair of players like Didak and Neon Leon. Will build on what they've done these past few years and have a major crack at the flag.
3. Carlton - Despite their percieved lack of depth, they still have one of the most talented young midfield groups in the comp and a severely underrated backline, albiet with a very one dimensional forwardline.
4. Western Bulldogs - Their younger players-like Adelaide's-will continue to fill the gaps left by older players, with guys like Griffin and Higgins starting to tear other teams apart each week.
5. St Kilda - I think Lyon has drilled them very well and traded to fill the holes they had under Thomas, but this will be their big tilt at the flag, I don't think they will have the same impact, regardless of whether they win the flag or not this year.
6. Brisbane - Great young club with a few premiership stars littered around, will be more solid than last year but I still think they're a year or two away.
7. Essendon - Will get a lot of star players back to go with a lot of developing kids, Hurley will be a major factor for such a young kid, future captain without a doubt.
8. West Coast - Call me biased all you like, but the way the young kids have stood up this year coupled with the return of Cox and Kerr will have them fighting for a spot in the 8. Although if Hansen plays more than 10 games I think we'll lose that fight.
9. Geelong - Massive surprise, I know, but I think they'll be like Brisbane of 2005; still capable of greatness but with a lot of their key players reaching the hill I think they'll be the big sliders(before you say 'what about Ablett and co, remember that Brisbane still had Black, Power, Voss, Aker etc in 2005 and still couldn't make the finals).
10. Hawthorn - This is my bogey guess. They're just as likely for mine to shoot back up the ladder, but I think they way they capitulated this year will leave a massive dent in their confidence to go with the lack of hunger amoungst some of their top bracket players.
11. Fremantle - Similar to West Coast; they've injected a massive amount of game time into a very young group. I think they'll be like us this year, fairly dominant at Subi but to still struggle away.
12. Sydney - Despite what O'Loughlin said, I think Sydney will have no choice in the matter of bottoming out. They have some great potential, but you can't lose as much experience as they have without dropping a bit. Having said that, wouldn't surprise me to see them higher considering the culture they've developed.
13. Melbourne - Similar to West Coast and Freo, just a year or two behind. Will show flashes of brilliance one quarter and be thrashed in the next, but building towards a dominant side for the future.
14. North Melboune - Scott will come in and get the best out of the younger kids, but can see them slipping before they rise again in 2011.
15. Port Adelaide - The new Fremantle. They have half a list which doesn't want to play under Williams and the other half which won't play under anyone else. A serious problem which will destroy them next year IMO.
16. Richmond - If Hardwick is smart he'll start a massive clean out of their deadwood, of which they unfortunately have a lot.

Premiers = Collingwood
Brownlow = Joel Selwood
Coleman = Buddy Franklin
Rising Star = Tom Swift

1. Carlton - Young and coming. Warnock, Waite, Walker, Jamison, Robinson, Grigg and Yarran will add strength. Fev and Judd guns. Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer to become elite. Massive scope for improvement
2. Collingwood - Young like Carlton without the elite class. But they have true grit.
3. Adelaide - Underrated in Melb. Look polished. So many young kids. Can they keep KT? They need to if they are to win a flag in the next few years.
4. Western Bulldogs - Their younger players-like Adelaide's-will continue to fill the gaps left by older players, with guys like Griffin and Higgins starting to tear other teams apart each week.
5. St Kilda - Slow slide coming. 2009 needs to be their year
6. Hawthorn - Worried about our bounce back confidence. Rucks and backs look thin.
7. Geelong - Ageing and looking slow. 2009 needs to be their year.
8. Essendon - The loss of Fletcher, lloyd, Lucas will be covered by the improvement of kids. On the way up and will win more than they lose in 2010.
16. Richmond - Such a bad list.

Premiers = Carlton
Brownlow = Yaaablett - Finally
Coleman = Fevola
Rising Star = Tom Swift

1. Adelaide
2. Bulldogs
3. Brisbane
4. St Kilda
5. Collingwood
6. Essendon
7. Carlton
8. Geelong

9. West Coast
10. Hawthorn
11. Fremantle
12. Melbourne
13. North Melbourne
14. Sydney
15. Richmond
16. Port Adelaide

GF Winners: Bulldogs
Brownlow: Daniel Rich

Anyone who thinks we're likely to be bottom four again next year is way off base, I'd say. Anyone who actually thinks we'll be bottom again has critically misjudged reality.

If we hadn't had the massive injury list we've had this year, we'd have won 9 games, not 4, and we'd be nowhere near the bottom four, let alone last.

I don't see us going anywhere but up in a big way next season, unless we somehow have the same shocking run with injuries again, and I don't see that happening- at least I seriously hope it doesn't, because that's been frustrating beyond belief for us.

My prediction is for the Demons to finish 9th or 10th at least. And I wouldn't rule out the chance of us making the 8 if we have a relatively injury-free run.

I agree with the OP's assessment, although I HOPE North Melbourne do better than that...

13. North Melbourne - Not really sure with North, you can never write them off, but I just don't think they'll make too much progress in 2010.

Funny, in your prediction earlier this year that you keep bragging is 'right', you claim North will finish on the bottom in 2010 and only get 22k members.

1. Hawthorn
2. Adelaide
3. Carlton
4. St Kilda
5. Brisbane
6. Essendon
7. Collingwood
8. Western Bulldogs
9. West Coast
10. Geelong
11. North Melbourne
12. Fremantle
13. Sydney
14. Melbourne
15. Port Adelaide
16. Richmond

Would be great if the Kangas also make substantial strides up the ladder next season, as I expect will happen with the Demons.

It's hard to see that happening for the Kangas to any great degree though. I reckon North will get out of the bottom 4, albeit probably not progressing much further than that.

But I'd love to be proven wrong SLF...

Bulldogs
Saints
Brisbane

North
Port Adelaide

The top 8 will be roughy the same, IMO. Maybe Port will actually play well and get in, or WC/Freo could sneak in.. Although, I think it might be another year or two before that happens to be honest.

I couldn't really split Richmond/Melbourne for the spoon. Richmond still have quality on their list, they just keep playing like shit.. Melbourne have apparently improved. I don't see it too much. Sylvia is finally playing some decent footy, and Davey can still be tagged out of a game, but nonetheless, playing good. They have a decent young back line, but need someone other than Jurrah to do the scoring.

I know it's probably not likely, but for some reason I see the Saints & Cats sliding.. I'll probably be very far of that prediction, but meh.

Hawthorn should start to fire the **** up, and play the football we all know they can.. If their stars can remain injury free, I'd get on them for the flag.

Hopefully in 2011, my boys can get into the finals, and the year after that give it a real shake.

Bulldogs
Saints
Brisbane

North
Port Adelaide

The top 8 will be roughy the same, IMO. Maybe Port will actually play well and get in, or WC/Freo could sneak in.. Although, I think it might be another year or two before that happens to be honest.

I couldn't really split Richmond/Melbourne for the spoon. Richmond still have quality on their list, they just keep playing like shit.. Melbourne have apparently improved. I don't see it too much. Sylvia is finally playing some decent footy, and Davey can still be tagged out of a game, but nonetheless, playing good. They have a decent young back line, but need someone other than Jurrah to do the scoring.

I know it's probably not likely, but for some reason I see the Saints & Cats sliding.. I'll probably be very far of that prediction, but meh.

Hawthorn should start to fire the **** up, and play the football we all know they can.. If their stars can remain injury free, I'd get on them for the flag.

Hopefully in 2011, my boys can get into the finals, and the year after that give it a real shake.

Where are the Bombers at mate? :rolleyes:

Melbourne have apparently improved. I don't see it too much. Sylvia is finally playing some decent footy, and Davey can still be tagged out of a game, but nonetheless, playing good. They have a decent young back line, but need someone other than Jurrah to do the scoring.

Well TC, if we hadn't had our huge injury list this year, we'd be at least 10th now from what I can see. So I think we'd have to be going backwards to do much worse than that next year without the same level of injury troubles.

And we're definitely not going backwards mate.

Well TC, if we hadn't had our huge injury list this year, we'd be at least 10th now from what I can see. So I think we'd have to be going backwards to do much worse than that next year without the same level of injury troubles.

And we're definitely not going backwards mate.
You're even more delusional on the main board :thumbsdown:

It's sad how so few people make the effort to produce a really good troll, isn't it... ;)

2010 Ladder Predictions