2010 Ladder Predictions

I like how people are underrating the Eagles. Also hit with the injury curse, loads of premiership players not able to get game due to being out of form or injured, one of our top 20s didn't get a game this season (and the other two had injury-affected first halves of the season), and Cox and Kerr being on the sidelines too.

And we won eight games.

Where are the Bombers at mate? :rolleyes:
Relegated to the VFL.

Haha, nah, I was going over that list hoping I didn't forget anyone.. Seems I did.. Apologies to the Bombers. I'd probably have them somewhere between 8/9/10.

Well TC, if we hadn't had our huge injury list this year, we'd be at least 10th now from what I can see. So I think we'd have to be going backwards to do much worse than that next year without the same level of injury troubles.

And we're definitely not going backwards mate.
You can only guess you'd be 10th. Nothing is a certainty. If 'd have had Cox & Kerr for the whole year, we might have been a bit higher as well.

I never said you'd do worse.. I have you going up one spot, maybe ever a couple more, but imo, not out of the bottom 4 just yet.

Would be great if the Kangas also make substantial strides up the ladder next season, as I expect will happen with the Demons.

It's hard to see that happening for the Kangas to any great degree though. I reckon North will get out of the bottom 4, albeit probably not progressing much further than that.

But I'd love to be proven wrong SLF...

Reckon North will lurk around the edge of the eight for most of the year, but younger guys will fall away later in the season and we'll probably just miss out.

But we'll have some class wins and getting another season into the likes of Ziebell, Urqs, Wright, Swallow, SDT, Grima, McMahon, Goldstein, Anthony, Warren etc will be invaluable.

If the last few weeks haven't shown people once and for all that we actually do have real quality kids, then people are fools.

We get a another quality mid (Lucas etc) in the draft and we'll be looking good to get heading right up the ladder from 2011 onwards.

Reckon Scott will stamp himself on the squad very quickly and can't see him wanting an over-finessed gameplan that wioll take seasons to install.

But we'll have some class wins and getting another season into the likes of Ziebell, Urqs, Wright, Swallow, SDT, Grima, McMahon, Goldstein, Anthony, Warren etc will be invaluable.

Lachie Hansen? :rolleyes:

Liam Anthony was a great pickup. Showed that mature age players should not be ignored.

There are a few decent enough kids. Ben Warren for example saved my Dream Team a couple of times this yearand Urquhart did the same last year :D

Reckon North will lurk around the edge of the eight for most of the year, but younger guys will fall away later in the season and we'll probably just miss out.

Hope so mate... would be very good if both the Demons and the Kangas can reach 9th/10th next year. And there'd be a lot of justice in it if we managed to make the finals, of course.

Collingwood (Pains me to say this.... few teams recruit as well as the Pies.... talent aplenty)
St Kilda (Quality throughout their list and have survived '09 without relying upon their older players like Maguire and Hudghton as they have in the past... if they they don't take all the bikkies this year, then still a threat to do so next year)
Adelaide (Second to the Pies in the recruiting stakes.... quality players abound and the best coach in the league guiding them)
Brisbane (Will build a team around Mitch and Rich over the coming years... better luck with injuries will help)
Bulldogs (how long can they go on with that forward set-up??? B Hall going to make a difference? I reckon it might upset their structure...)
Hawthorn (crueled by injury and snipers in '09.... better luck in '10 will see them win more than they lose)
Carlton (Kruezer, Gibbs and Murphy are all maturing nicely... Judd is still a top 5 AFL talent.... need Waite to be on the paddock desperately)
Geelong (YES!!!.... expecting the Cats to slide..... they will lose Harley, Milburn and perhaps Scarlett over the next year or two - so there goes the vaunted defence)
West Coast (An awesome forward line is about to compliment a very good defence and an B+ midfield led by Big Cox, Kerr and the young guns)
Melbourne (they have so many x-factors in Wonaeamirri, Jurrah and Sylvia.... and not forgetting Scully and perhaps Butcher)
Essendon (artificial peak too soon.... the run at all costs game is yet to succeed to the utlimate degree and the Bombers fitness team probably need another pre-season to put that energy into their legs for it to succeed)
Sydney (they still have Goodes.... enough said)
Port Adelaide (can Choco still deliver....first or second coaching casualty in '10)
North Melbourne (only slightly ahead of the bottom two - Petrie and Harvey have a lot of weight to carry!!)
Fremantle (if they can keep Sandilands, Hasleby and Pav then they'll win at least 5 games..... Harvey in a neck-a-neck race for first casualty race with Choco)
Richmond (massive rebuild on the way - finally!!!! - loss of stacks of experience - the responsibility now rests predominantly upon young shoulders - swan-song year for Richo, but sadly a disappointing one)

Apparantly Melbourne having Colin Sylvia hitting some form will see them rise out of the bottom 4, but North Melbourne regaining Wells, Ziebell, Smith, etc will see them fall to dead last on the ladder...

huh?

I don't expect us to finish to far up the ladder, but out of all the 'strugglers' North at least has some stability around the ground.

Our backline is settled and very solid, Petrie has proven to be a match winner, a great young Ruck combo in bigmac and goldstein, and the young core of Ziebell, Swallow, Wells, Anthony, Greenwood etc through the middle of the ground.

Add a fit an in form boomer and Jesse W. and North has the making of a pretty decent team.

Out of all the teams in the bottom 8 from this year I expect WC to be the biggest mover. Who knows what they may have done with a fit Cox and Kerr. Carlton to drop out of the 8. Essendon to be solid, but just miss out. Hawthorn will not surge to the top like everyone is predicting, but will have a say in the make up of the final 8.

Lachie Hansen? :rolleyes:

Liam Anthony was a great pickup. Showed that mature age players should not be ignored.

There are a few decent enough kids. Ben Warren for example saved my Dream Team a couple of times this yearand Urquhart did the same last year :D

Aye, Hansen too. Was gunning it before he hurt his hammy this season.

Reckon next year will be his breakout.

1 - Adelaide
2 - Collingwood
3 - St Kilda
4 - Geelong
5 - Hawthorn
6 - Essendon
7 - Carlton
8 - Brisbane
9 - Richmond
10 - West Coast
11 - W Bulldogs
12 - Port Power
13 - North Melb
14 - Fremantle
15 - Melbourne
16 - Sydney

Have to LOL at that last selection, for a number of reasons, but especially him putting us BELOW Freo, who we beat by 10 goals last time out... :rolleyes:

PS- It's funny how everyone's saying we should've beaten St Kilda (and it's true that we COULD have won without the huge injury list we had), but then they make such absurd ladder predictions about us...

1) St Kilda - It's a bit naive to write off a team after two shit games (both of which they lost by under a goal), they'll continue to play well next season if they don't get destroyed in the finals and lose all their confidence.
2) Collingwood - A extremely fast improving team and are slicker than ever. Deserve a premiership in the next few seasons.
3) Western Bulldogs - Finished the 2009 H&A season with good wins over Geelong and Collingwood, will push for GF contention this season, but will stay around the top three mark even if they don't win it.
4) Geelong - Also a bit rough to write these guys off. They've been without a doubt the best team since the start of 2007 until they lost to the Saints in 2009. An elite team and will remain in the top four next season. Might decline after that.
5) Carlton - Will be buoyed by the over the top affection by the media like they were this season, but having said that they have some really, really good players and I rate them as a top 6 side. Could be on the way to a premiership if they play their cards right.
6) Adelaide - Kurt Tippett and Pat Dangerfield have breathed new life into Adelaide's top four credentials IMO. They have a host of fine players and if they get their timing right, may win a premiership within 4 seasons.
7) Brisbane - Brisbane are a class club IMO. They never stay down when times are tough, and are already on their way. Were extremely lucky to get Rich at no7, and he's doing really well for them. Another club who could push for a premiership within the next 5 years.
8) Hawthorn - Probably could have been put higher, but I'm not 100% convinced yet. I know they've had their injuries but it may take a while for them to regain their confidence.

9) Essendon - A shade better than West Coast I predict. Got some exciting youth but will just miss out on the finals. They have been disappointing since 2002, and I expect that to continue unfortunately. Would like to see them defeat their critics though.
10) West Coast - Have the potential to snare a spot in the eight with some extremely exciting players coming along, including Shuey, who is yet to play a game. Will play better football next season, but I still can't bring myself to put them into the top eight just yet.
11) Melbourne - Another side with exciting youth, and provided they don't tank again and aren't weight down with injuries, we should see some improvement from them.
12) Port Adelaide - Don't rate them. They only ever dominate against West Coast which is frustrating. Have the potential to go further, but I just see them coming 12th.
13) Sydney - Sydney have a proud culture and rightly so, they have never been down for long, and have been top 8 contenders for like 8+ years. There's a lot to like about the likes of Kieran Jack, but 6 quick retirements + Barry Hall being traded/delisted will hurt them no doubt. I wouldn't count on them staying down for long.
14) North Melbourne - Certainly the potential is there, but were pretty bad this season. Would take a lot to do any better than 14th IMO.
15) Richmond - The only reason I haven't put them last is because of their incredible ability to win games no ones expected them to. Unfortunately for the most part, Richmond have been really bad. I quite like the club, and really hope they lift soon. I don't think they'll break out too soon though.
16) Fremantle - Certainly not the worst side in the league, but with their extreme youth being played at the moment (though they do have some might fine young players coming through) they may just find themselves playing catch up footy all year long. Some great young players there, and have the potential to become Fremantle's best side yet, but 2010 is another rebuilding year.

Grand Final: St Kilda Vs Collingwood
Premiers: Collingwood

Apparantly Melbourne having Colin Sylvia hitting some form will see them rise out of the bottom 4, but North Melbourne regaining Wells, Ziebell, Smith, etc will see them fall to dead last on the ladder...

huh?
Nah we didn't have any injuries either. :rolleyes:

You are yet to address how in your great prediction post earlier this year - where you accurately predicted North would finish above Melbourne - you claimed we would finish on the bogttom in 2010 (and only get 22k members)

Yet after pumping up your own tyres about that post, you've now contradicted it ... ????

You are yet to address how in your great prediction post earlier this year - where you accurately predicted North would finish above Melbourne - you claimed we would finish on the bogttom in 2010 (and only get 22k members)

Yet after pumping up your own tyres about that post, you've now contradicted it ... ????
Early 2009 prediction: You would come last in 2010.

2009 prediction: You will come 13th in 2010.

Can't write off the early 2009 prediction, it has been freakishly accurate so far. :eek:

Sort of. There was only one prediction you made in that post that has been testable.

You predicted that North would finish ahead of Melbourne in 2009.

Hardly a Nostradamus-like gift is it?
Members-wise i was I think 500 off your official AFL total (I overestimated you guys).

Tipped you guys to finish 12th, you finished 13th. Again, I overestimated you guys. Your relentless pumping up of your own side pre season must have got to my head.

Predicted Melbournes season 100% accurately, saying we would finish last and get picks 1,2,18 - being our last year on the bottom.

Freakishly accurate.
Freakishly.

Predicted Melbournes season 100% accurately, saying we would finish last and get picks 1,2,18 - being our last year on the bottom.Freakishly accurate.
Freakishly.

Dunno about that.

Reckon youse are a monty to finish bottom next year too. The only thing that might save you is a Stalingrad-like collapse from Freo.

Dunno about that.

Reckon youse are a monty to finish bottom next year too.
There is no chance we will be bottom next year, absolutely none.

Heck, if we didn't tank this year we would have won around 7 games this year IMO and been well off the bottom. We will improve drastically next year. 9th - 11th for mine.

Dunno about that.

Reckon youse are a monty to finish bottom next year too. The only thing that might save you is a Stalingrad-like collapse from Freo.

You MUST be kidding, yes? Not a chance in hell that's going to be happening.

LOL at the mention of Freo too - have you forgotten we beat them by 10 goals this time?

Would you want to make a bet about this claim SLF? Because that'd be money for jam for us if you did mate :p

2010 Ladder Predictions