News 2011 Round 1: Hawthorn vs Adelaide team

Boggled in the mind that Goo and X-man aren't in the side. I'm wondering if there aren't some niggling injuries (general soreness?) that have been kept quiet.

Not that surprised Smurf can't get a gig, he's fallen out of my best 22 with Hale and Bruce coming to Glenferrie. Maybe Clarkson is looking for more run out of the backline with Ladson in, but then why have Suckling and not Poo?

Good luck to the S's.

Add to that the crows
I Maric 200 cm 101kg
B Vince 188 cm 89kg
P Dangerfeild 189 cm 92 Kg

Compared to our

Roughead 193 cm 100kg
Framklin 196cm 102kg

utilities
Hale 201 cm 102kg
Renouf 200cm 98 kg
Bruce 190cm 190cm 87kg (whos height seem to float around 190/193

Defence
Gibson 189cm 90kg
Birchall 193 cm 93kg (whos going to have to play to every cm of his height)
Stratton 189cm 82 km
Gilham 192cm 86kg

The crows look top heavy and it certainly looks like there trying to expose our lack of height. It means our forwards are going to lead out well and midfeild will have to have accurate passing skills ans hit them right on the bloody chest!

maybe not as bad as i first thought, still a concern though! We can win if the boys want to win GO HAWKAS.:thumbsu:

lol at Bruce being taller than both Gibson and Stratton :p

Im concerned about the side we are taking over to Adel. But I suppose we have to trust Clarko and match committee that they know what they are doing...

B: Rick Ladson, Stephen Gilham, Matt Suckling
HB: Benjamin Stratton, Josh Gibson, Grant Birchall
C: Clinton Young, Sam Mitchell, Chance Bateman
HF: Shaun Burgoyne, Lance Franklin, Cyril Rioli
F: Michael Osborne, Jarryd Roughead, Cameron Bruce
Foll: Brent Renouf, Brad Sewell, Jordan Lewis
I/C: Brendan Whitecross, Liam Shiels, Shane Savage, David Hale
Emg: Xavier Ellis, Jordan Lisle, Kyle Cheney

If we do lose, questions have to be asked. Im talking about these 2008 premiership players that have done squat over the last 2 years, who continually get a game. I just hope that they prove me wrong and play blinders, but Im concerned!!

Goo must be injured, he is vital to our defensive set up with his kicking and decision making, good of the club to keep its members updated though.

I agree he is a good kick but not that he makes good decisions. I'd add his one-on-one effectiveness and accountability as a backman leaves a lot to be desired in my opinion!

After about round 6, when the club isn't expecting many more members to sign up, the injury information will be more forthcoming. Sorry to sound cynical, but it happens every year.

Im concerned about the side we are taking over to Adel. But I suppose we have to trust Clarko and match committee that they know what they are doing...

B: Rick Ladson, Stephen Gilham, Matt Suckling
HB: Benjamin Stratton, Josh Gibson, Grant Birchall
C: Clinton Young, Sam Mitchell, Chance Bateman
HF: Shaun Burgoyne, Lance Franklin, Cyril Rioli
F: Michael Osborne, Jarryd Roughead, Cameron Bruce
Foll: Brent Renouf, Brad Sewell, Jordan Lewis
I/C: Brendan Whitecross, Liam Shiels, Shane Savage, David Hale
Emg: Xavier Ellis, Jordan Lisle, Kyle Cheney

If we do lose, questions have to be asked. Im talking about these 2008 premiership players that have done squat over the last 2 years, who continually get a game. I just hope that they prove me wrong and play blinders, but Im concerned!!

So who do you suggest to bring in? Hodge, Murphy and Goo are unavailable. Leaves the emergencies, Pop and Smith to choose from before you get into untried and probably not ready youth.

I agree. Only 13 or so of the 22 are 2008 premiership players. There is a fair bit of new blood in there already!

Any other of the 'fringe' premiership players - you know already who I'm talking about - will at least get a round or two to show they still have some relevance at this level.

Add to that the crows
I Maric 200 cm 101kg
B Vince 188 cm 89kg
P Dangerfeild 189 cm 92 Kg

Compared to our

Roughead 193 cm 100kg
Framklin 196cm 102kg

utilities
Hale 201 cm 102kg
Renouf 200cm 98 kg
Bruce 190cm 190cm 87kg (whos height seem to float around 190/193

Defence
Gibson 189cm 90kg
Birchall 193 cm 93kg (whos going to have to play to every cm of his height)
Stratton 189cm 82 km
Gilham 192cm 86kg

The crows look top heavy and it certainly looks like there trying to expose our lack of height. It means our forwards are going to lead out well and midfeild will have to have accurate passing skills ans hit them right on the bloody chest!

maybe not as bad as i first thought, still a concern though! We can win if the boys want to win GO HAWKAS.:thumbsu:
It's not the issue it would have been had Tippett been playing.

This is a pretty standard set up for us and I don't see too many height based concerns for you. McKernan is a good contested grab, but not quite Tippett good yet, and Walker will do most of hisdamage 1on1 or on leads.

Bruce is 190? wow.

Although at first being a bit shocked, I am happy with the team.

I see Suckers as a direct replacement for Goo, who I expect is not in top fitness, although maybe just overtaken.

Laddo is the other small back (in place of Brown). I haven't seen him live for a while, but has good foot skills and can do a job. Also, Adelaide must hate the memory of his pass to Buddy:D

We have brought in height with Hale, speed with Savage and to a lesser extent Shiels and versatility with Bruce. Tick, Tick, Tick.

We have introduced new players (from the last couple of years) essentially with Savage, Shiels and Suckers, who haven't been regulars and only generally played due to injuries to our previous Top 22. Good reward for all the effort put in by the boys:thumbsu:

It also sends a message to the new players that they have to earn a spot. The players in the current 22 know they have to play well to retain it, and players like Smith, Pup, Cheney, etc can earn it through exceptional form at training and BH.

Go Hawks:)

Although at first being a bit shocked, I am happy with the team.

I see Suckers as a direct replacement for Goo, who I expect is not in top fitness, although maybe just overtaken.

Go Hawks:)

Goo looked very fit @ Aurora staduim, so he either injured him self or his being made earn his spot in the team after some silly mistakes in the game.

Not accusing you of lieing, just he's never struck me as more than a medium sized mid.

:) I remember him being elevated of the supp list and playing against the hawks in a few games as forward and he killed us..... :eek: I wont forget the damage he can cause, i just hope he can do it for us now.

Suckling is filling a gap and I would have thought he would be first to go when Hodge is fit. Brilliant kick, doesnt offer much else. Rewarded for good preseason.

Ladson is extremely lucky to be in the side ahead of Poupolo and Ellis IMO. Unless hes done some serious improvement to his defensive game over the off season I cant see him holding a possie come May.

Ozzy is in the same boat as Lado.. Love him and what hes done for us, but hes on the back end of his best footy. He is a fighter and brings experience and a solid forward pressure to the table. needs to return to 2008 form soon or will quickly be surpassed.

Well done to Murphy on joining the leadership team this year. But he is not in our best 22, not now, not in 2 months not September. he is a great clubman and always there to put his hand up to fill a hole which is great. But sorry mate, unless we play Geelong where you can dismantle Steve Johnson your best work is off the field.

Ellis is a class act, maybe abit underdone at the moment and wont do him any harm proving his worth in the VFL. He has an elite football brain, doesnt panic under pressure and crucial for midfield and defence rotations. Get around him.

Give Shiels, Savage time to blossom, even if they have a stinker or 2. Future Jets.

Smith, Puopolo and Schneider, Lisle will get their chance to offer something.

Having Bruce down back is mouth watering.. Cudos to recruiters for plucking him.

Hale is in my dreamteam swapping with Petrie, hopefully he can bag a few and limit clangers.

Really exited about 2011 believe we are a really good chance to push it all the way provided our key 10-12 players can stay on the park.

This weeks game is a line ball. Thy who kicks straight, will prevail.

I think we should reserve judgment on Suckling. He has been hindered in his past pre seasons with injury. If he has found a much higher level of fitness and his form has significantly improved, then let's wait and see.

Based on previous years, the answer is no, but the club obviously can see what's going on "in house." I just hope he adds a bit of grunt and hardness to his game. This is what most of us have noticed. That hard nosed determination in the contest is needed. I think most of us will be watching this part of his game.

Probably same goes with Ladson with regard to fitness, etc, except that he's been a proven performer when fit. When Laddo is 100% fit, he's a good player and can hurt teams. He can also play back or fwd.

There's one thing for certain. They've been given a very tough task to play round 1 in Adelaide. Clarko would be desperate for a good start so I can't see the club picking these guys just for the sake of change.

I would reckon these guys are performing well with regard to the game plan. Those that don't may get a shock at the selection table.

Rapt with the selection of Savage and Shiels. We need guys like this to step up and own a regular spot in the side.

Finally Ellis made to earn his position. Finally no "free games" for him.

YES!!!

Also why is Luke Hodge not the sub?

Is Guerra injured? Or is Suckling ahead of him? As you can only have one of them playing at a time.

Pressure on a few players and we would want to win even more than usual given our arrogance to play Hodge in the VFL.

would have thought puopolo would get a game in home state first up instead of laddo
might be about leadership with hodgey out i guess

Was a bit shocked to see that fullback line as well. But considering Hodge, Guerra and Murphy are unavailable, not that bad. I don't know much about our new game plan, but given Suckling and Ladson are great deliverers of the pill, it's probably to do with being clean out of defence before starting the run. And I think I like it.

I feel we've seen a fair few examples of us actually coming up with the ball in our back half and once under pressure coughing it up and the opposition scoring. Will be happy to see this eliminated from our game.

In any case, glad to see an injection of some youngsters and whilst I do think Ladson and Ozzy are lucky, if used well they should prove effective. Good to know the depth is there if/when needed.

Was a bit shocked to see that fullback line as well. But considering Hodge, Guerra and Murphy are unavailable, not that bad. I don't know much about our new game plan, but given Suckling and Ladson are great deliverers of the pill, it's probably to do with being clean out of defence before starting the run. And I think I like it.

I feel we've seen a fair few examples of us actually coming up with the ball in our back half and once under pressure coughing it up and the opposition scoring. Will be happy to see this eliminated from our game.

In any case, glad to see an injection of some youngsters and whilst I do think Ladson and Ozzy are lucky, if used well they should prove effective. Good to know the depth is there if/when needed.

Yep. Good call. Let's not forget that Bruce, at 190cm, can also slot in the back half and add some experience and run. Versatility is key.

all we need, is hale, buddy and rough to stand up tall in the foward line, and we should be ok, clarko knows, if he dosnt win games he will see the door so he must know what hes doing.. cmon boys!

Excitement turns to disappointment if you read the side from forward to back.

Taking it as listed - whether that means much:

The forward line looks really potent, though Bruce seems out of place in a forward pocket, would rather him on a back flank with Stratton at CHB and Gibson helping out on the fb line.

There doesn't seem to be enough height/grunt in that backline. The listed fullback line looks a bit shaky to me, and the bench does not offer too many fallback options defensively. If that defense has problems with the Crows forwards there will be limited options, apart from shuffling Bruce back there.

Ladson in a back pocket is a total surprise, seems to have come out of nowhere. Would definitely prefer to see Poo in the pocket providing a little more pace, pressure and persistence than Laddo has been capable of over the past two seasons. I'm happy to be proved wrong, hope Laddo can prove the selectors made the right decision, if he has full fitness and good form he may be the answer.

Suckling in the other pocket seems like a direct replacement for Guerra, they have similar attributes and he has been getting plenty of the ball in the preseason, so i guess that is no great shock - if Guerra is injured.

Bench looks ok, probably Whitex for sub, second ruck needs to remain on bench, and Shiels and Savage will hopefully see plenty of gametime.

Overall, I am happy with the team, the selectors have sent out the message to the playing group that if you are in the star entourage section of the team, ie the final 8 positions, no position will be guaranteed. Competition for spots is going to be intense this season - finally.