2012 Trade Discussion

Retzlaff just didn't seem to have quite enough of anything to become a regular key position footballer at AFL level. Pretty sure he will be a gun at a lower level and by the age of 24-5 we might be talking about him as a potential state league player looking for a second chance.

Back to Petterd. He is a victim of injury, poor culture, probably questionable workrate but most importantly- grossly played out of position as a deep forward. Petterd has more ability than Golby, Adcock and Patfull. I would psych test him and give him a fitness assessment. If he passed on both, he would be a steal at pick 33.

When I compare Lisle to Retz, I reckon Lisle is quite a fair bit in front of Retz. In his few senior appearances so far, he has shown a lot of upside. Lisle's 3rd qtr & goal & against Adelaide, when he swung around & coolly slotted it from 35 metres out, was pivotal in our win that day. I haven't seen anything from Retz like that to compare with. I believe that Retz dominated in the NEAFL, but didn't Lisle do the same ? I reckon the right bloke got de listed.

I think Lisle is a smarter footballer. I actually quite like Lisle's footy smarts. However, he's not as athletic as Retzlaff.

Both need to improve their contested marking and goal kicking substantially.

A bit like how I disagreed with Hawksley being played away from his favoured junior position, I reckon the same could be said of Petterd. He was a very good half back flanker as a junior and yet is used either as a high half forward or 3rd tall playing deep. Not sure why Melbourne didn't give him a good run on half back, particularly when it became clear that he struggled for consistency up forward.

I guess the only thing that might go against that is whether Petterd was defensively up to a role down back. Then again, forwards need to defend these days too.

Anyhoo, I think the combination of injury and pretty poor form will count against him. I don't think I'd be offering him a senior list spot but a rookie spot is not out of question.

Retzlaff just didn't seem to have quite enough of anything to become a regular key position footballer at AFL level. Pretty sure he will be a gun at a lower level and by the age of 24-5 we might be talking about him as a potential state league player looking for a second chance.

Back to Petterd. He is a victim of injury, poor culture, probably questionable workrate but most importantly- grossly played out of position as a deep forward. Petterd has more ability than Golby, Adcock and Patfull. I would psych test him and give him a fitness assessment. If he passed on both, he would be a steal at pick 33.
Pick 33?
He can walk into our side as a free agent if we want him.

We wouldn't have to give up pick 33 for Petterd, my point is that I believe on talent he is worth pick 33. I hope he walks to us as a rookie, would be a massive steal.

Apart from DFA aspect, I would wonder at the "logic" of refusing to give up 33 for a contracted player in Martin and then surrendering the same pick for Petterd.

That's a very very good point Luthor. I wondered that myself when I saw that suggestion pop up. Especially when we can pick up Ricky for nothing as some have observed. I still can't work out why WE didn't offer pick 33 to Geelong for Shannon Byrnes ??? There's some shrewd recruiting from Nowledgable Neeldy.

Sorry to interrupt and talk about players. But I would think that the acquisition of Cook and Gillies would be quite handy. Looked a vision of Cook in the u/18 comp and even though it's a snipet I didn't really see a forward but definitely a CHB, agile and can read the play well for a big guy. Gillies age profile, as well as Cooks, is very handy and with the acquisition of these two and also J Clarke our future KPD stocks would look quite healthy.

And you don't think Melbourne considered that before delisting him?

Possibly, who knows, number of factors might be in play for the lack of development. 1 year contract on base salary isn't going to hurt. Even though a mate of mine was saying he heard Ricahrd Champion on the radio this morning saying the lions are in the box seat for Tippet, then we will be getting rid of players.

Gee, there are a lot of players who have been delisted at one club and succeeded at another. Think of Raines, Patfull, Maguire, Rodan, Kennedy (Swans), Brad Ebert, Danny Stanley, Giles, Leigh Brown and probably a heap more. Those clubs would have considered it long and hard also.

All were given longer than two years to prove their worth, Cook has been given two. He could be something and a lot of people claimed at the time he would be a project player who'd take 3-5 years to develop.
And no one should overestimate Melbourne and its outstanding development program. With their draft picks and talent they should be in the 8, yet can't develop guys with talent like Martin, Petterd, Cook, Blease, Watts and Gysberts.
He fits a need, has potential (#12 pick) and should be at least inquired about.

Dan - I think you might be confusing trading with delisting. Raines, Kennedy and Ebert were never delisted. A player can still have immense value at a club and still request a trade - think West Coast Chris Judd.

That said, I agree with your point in the most part, but recruiting delisted players are certainly hit and miss, and I'm apprehensive about taking those that Melbourne no longer want.

Gee, there are a lot of players who have been delisted at one club/traded from one club and succeeded at another. Think of Raines, Patfull, Maguire, Rodan, Kennedy (Swans), Brad Ebert, Danny Stanley, Giles, Leigh Brown and probably a heap more. Those clubs would have considered it long and hard also.

Fixed. (ugh! beaten away)

2012 Trade Discussion