2013 crowds thread

28k ish at the G

Shit crowd. Embarrassing what it would be if Hawthorn weren't prem favourites and top of the ladder. Probably under 20k

As I have many times and Im right live against the gate will always effect the attendence esp in winter and esp that we now know some teams have no hope of making the finals.

You cant expect casual goers to turn up to uninteresting games and have their balls frozen off at all grounds except Docklands when they can go to any pub or watch on their IPad or phone or stay at home on the couch and watch the match in the warmth.

I think the days of record crowds year after year are gone over forever.

Apparently the NFL in the US dont allow live telecasts in the city where the game is being played and I think the AFL should follow suit in the next TV deal.

As I have many times and Im right live against the gate will always effect the attendence esp in winter and esp that we now know some teams have no hope of making the finals.

You cant expect casual goers to turn up to uninteresting games and have their balls frozen off at all grounds except Docklands when they can go to any pub or stay at home on the couch and watch the match in the warmth.

Shit excuse

The Tiges drew almost 40k to the G in the same time slot 2 weeks ago after Melbourne's Gold Coast loss. Hawthorn are premiership favourites and should draw around 40k to this game home or away

Shit excuse

The Tiges drew almost 40k to the G in the same time slot 2 weeks ago after Melbourne's Gold Coast loss. Hawthorn are premiership favourites and should draw around 40k to this game home or away

So was it 10c and raining?Half of Melbournes population wouldnt have got of bed before lunchtime today.

It's been sunny all day lol

The weather was very similar that day but I think it was cloudy
Dont forget not all the population is as obsessed by footy like you are and there are plenty of other things to do in Melbourne than going to watch a boring forgone match like todays -people like a contest not a near 100 point thrashing

I wouldnt just blame Hawthorn I bet there wernt many Melbourne supporters there today and why should they to see the shit their players are dishing up?.

Dont forget not all the population is as obsessed by footy like you are and there are plenty of other things to do in Melbourne than going to watch a boring forgone match like todays -people like a contest not a near 100 point thrashing

I wouldnt just blame Hawthorn I bet there wernt many Melbourne supporters there today and why should they to see the shit their players are dishing up?.

Hawks are prem favourites. They have 61k members. Should be at least 35k Hawks fans on the back of that.

Their crowds will really be shit once they aren't contending anymore. The writing is on the wall

Calm down Richmond_Groupie

We know that being in the 'Big 4' is the only thing you can hold onto at the moment :rolleyes:

This is a crowds thread and the crowd today was shit for the premiership favourites who are 1st on the ladder with 61,000 members.

Wouldn't being premiership favourites be a negative in this case? This football game was a terrible game to watch. Everyone knew the result before it had even happened. Hawthorn have had 3 snore fests in a row (actually GC wasn't as bad as the other two). Why would people want to show up to 3 of the most boring games of the season in a row? As for Melbourne fans, the only reason they would turn up is to see Mark Neeld get sacked live.

Also keep in mind that the less Hawthorn members that turned up, the better for Hawthorn. Regardless of if they came, they have paid their membership. but every member than scans in for the replacement game, means that club has to fork out money to Melbourne.

Then when you factor in the average weather (and potential for bad weather), and the terrible time slot for attending the game, it's no wonder people don't want to turn up.

At the end of the day, Brisbane/Collingwood, Adelaide/Fremantle and Sydney/Essendon were all played in terrible conditions/had terrible conditions all day before.

With Collingwood, Richmond and Essendon playing interstate and Carlton playing GWS you couldn't really expect any 40k+ crowds.

RE: Melbourne vs Hawthorn
Let's not forget it was a Melbourne home game and they're supporters were still outnumbered by Hawks fans. The way the Dees are travelling they're lucky to be getting 10k supporters a game

2013crowdsr10.png

No doubt tomorrow will be the biggest crowd of the round, but until then its probably the first time ever Gold Coast has played in front of the biggest crowd of the round (2nd after tomorrow)

This is a crowds thread and the crowd today was shit for the premiership favourites who are 1st on the ladder with 61,000 members.

Melbourne home ground, Sunday arvo, Melbourne are pretty darn shit, expected to be a blow out and pretty boring game.

I didn't expect anymore. Actually I thought it was a good turn out by the Hawks fans. We outnumbered the Dees fans easily.

Carlton v GWS: 25,008
Adelaide v Fremantle: 27,684
Sydney v Essendon: 29,792
Western Bulldogs v Port Adelaide: 7,850
Geelong v Gold Coast: 30,082
There's been a slow and steady decline for Darwin crowds. Getting a bit like Tassie, people there must be getting tired of nothing games being played there year after year.

2013 crowds thread