2015/16 Pre-Season Thread

I like the guy who says Westhoff is a better forward than Jenkins because despite Jenkins kicking 44 goals to Westhoff's 25, Westhoff gets more disposals.

Apparently Wingard will add more to their forward line in 2016 than Betts because Wingard will still be playing in 5 years.

JJ and Westhoff are completely different players. JJ is a second tall who plays on an actual opponent and goes into the ruck. Westhoff is an over-sized third tall who runs around doing SFA all day without an opponent pretending he’s like Jarryd Roughead. He’s completely overrated by Port. The fact opposition coaches don’t man up a bloke that size should tell them something.

Our tall forwards smash theirs although I’d take their midfield over ours (Boak/Gray are guns and Ebert is great beside those two as well). Tex is better than any tall forward they have and comfortably so and that includes Dixon. If someone can't see how good a player Tex is given his size, strength, footy smarts and elite skills on BOTH sides, they've got NFI.

Adelaide’s SANFL squad is:

B: Luke Carey (59), Sam Shaw (34), Tyson Lindsay (49)

HB: Curtly Hampton (17), Matthew Johncock (60), Jake Kelly (47)

C: Rory Atkins (21), Harrison Wigg (35), Troy Menzel (32)

HF: Jonathon Beech (1), Keenan Ramsey (46), Hugh Greenwood (20)

F: Harry Dear (38), Paul Hunter (37), Luke Lowden (40)

FOL: Reilly O’Brien (43), Mitch Grigg (8), Trent Heffernan (51)

INT: Brock Castree (54), Brad Crouch (2), Matthew Spencely (50), Josh Wittwer (48), Matthew Leigh (57), Jackson Baldwin (55)

EMG: Wade Hancock (56)

15 AFL players... 200pt victory coming up for the SANFL side.

INT: Brock Castree (54), Brad Crouch (2), Matthew Spencely (50), Josh Wittwer (48), Matthew Leigh (57), Jackson Baldwin (55)

FF line is huge.

Strange we are playing Ramsey up forward when he showed outstanding form at the U18 National Championships at CHB...and yes I know he'd been playing forward in local footy prior to Sticks Phillips moving him into defence for the Championships.

I responded to that already Sanders. Are you of the opinion that all teams will improve in 2016 because the young players will get better?

I'm of the opinion just assuming we will improve more than our competitors, and more than we have lost, just because we want it to be true, doesn't seem very useful to me

Bit of a disservice to our opponents.

Coupla things...while McGoven didn't show a lot in limited TOG in the 2ndee, just maybe he's shown enough on the track to convince P and co that he's a future star. Maybe they want to have a good look this weekend and give him more minutes to show what he can do.
Number two...I reckon South will be a tad concerned about that centre line. It will cause them some headaches if Menzel manages to overcome this perceived lack of fitness.

I am looking at Dean Gore as a late pick in a keeper league. Do you see him getting any games this season.

I think so. At this stage he appears behind players like M. Crouch, Ellis-Yolmen, and Lyons for spots (but ahead of Grigg and Wigg), but he may get a few games for development reasons, and also if there are injuries to our mids.

If he plays well in the SANFL we could see him later this season

I think so. At this stage he appears behind players like M. Crouch, Ellis-Yolmen, and Lyons for spots (but ahead of Grigg and Wigg), but he may get a few games for development reasons, and also if there are injuries to our mids.

If he plays well in the SANFL we could see him later this season
Cheers mate, might be a good late pick.

I am looking at Dean Gore as a late pick in a keeper league. Do you see him getting any games this season.
hard to say seeing as he's just arrived, he's definitely around the mark with the other guys looking for that last one or two spots in our midfield though.

if I had to guess I'd say he might play 4-6 games later in the season, but he could play a dozen or more, or he could get nothing. Just don't have much to go off at this stage unfortunately.

Hope we play Richmond early. There not looking to good.