List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

I've always had respect for the saints but since when was Carlisle worth 10 and Dixon worth 5.
Carlisle isn't worth pick 10. Without a contract he's really worth no more than 24. Anything higher comes your way, you count your lucky stars. Basic stuff.

I have no knowledge or opinion of Dixon, but is he contracted? Is he definitely not going to be temporarily banned from playing football for his unwitting part in a huge drug rort by his club? If not, you have a point but if the answer is yes then stop wasting our time.

The Hun's Sam Edmund was just on Gold104 peddling a soft version of the Injectors party line re Carlisle - unfortunately the radio played up so I missed part of it - but he also reported that Treloar's unscheduled groin operation in Tassie was done AFTER he had a medical at the Filth....

Holy. SHIT.

How is THIS not bigger news? For those struggling to catch up, that's a contracted player meeting a club he's not contracted at (but granted, wants to go to) then seemingly having an operation at their urging, in a state he's not from, without the knowledge of the club that currently holds his contract!

Why is the AFL not all over this?!

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-10-19/trade-winds-fourway-trade-may-seal-deals

Could Charlie be the key?

Two of the big fish of the exchange period could be tied into the same deal in a four-way trade.

The Age reports St Kilda and Port Adelaide have put forward an option for Gold Coast forward Charlie Dixon to be a part of the Jake Carlisle deal.

So far the Power have baulked at the Suns' demands for two first-round picks for Dixon, while the Saints have been unwilling to offer Essendon pick five in isolation in exchange for Carlisle.

The Bombers swiftly knocked back the Saints' offer last week of pick five and 63 for Carlisle and Essendon's two second-round selections.

But reports suggest both players could be involved in a mega-trade to deliver all parties a fair outcome.
In the deal, Port Adelaide would trade its pick 10 and likely a future first-round selection to St Kilda for pick 5. The Saints would hand over pick 10 for Carlisle, and Port would give pick No.5 to the Suns for Dixon.

Such a deal would give the Suns picks three and five, as well as No. 16 and 19, at November's NAB AFL Draft.

Do they even read what they write?

The Hun's Sam Edmund was just on Gold104 peddling a soft version of the Injectors party line re Carlisle - unfortunately the radio played up so I missed part of it - but he also reported that Treloar's unscheduled groin operation in Tassie was done AFTER he had a medical at the Filth....

Holy. SHIT.

How is THIS not bigger news? For those struggling to catch up, that's a contracted player meeting a club he's not contracted at (but granted, wants to go to) then seemingly having an operation st their urging, in a state he's not from, without their knowledge!

Move along...nothing to see here...OOOH, LOOK OVER THERE!!!!

5 to Port for 10 and 2016 1st round pick, they on trade 5 to GC for Dixon and GC's 2nd round pick next year.

We then do Port's 2016 1st for Carlisle and Essendon's 3rd round pick.

That then gives us 10, 24, 41, 42 and 60 roughly.

We trade our 2016 2nd round pick for Freeman.

Package up 24, 42 and 60 to Sydney for pick 14 ( they get about another 180 points in the bidding system).

That then gives us 10, 14, 41, Carlisle and Freeman

10: Mathieson
14: Tucker/Hibberd/Clarke
41: Rice
78: upgrade Sinclair

Move Farren Ray and Josh Saunders to the rookie list.

We only have 1 rookie spot though. If both Saunders and Ray made it to the rookie draft we would have to draft Saunders as he is contracted.

If the Port deal goes through we will probably do everything you said except we will give the Bombers #10 and hang onto Port's first in 2016 as this gives us more flexibilty for moves come this time next year.

Pick numbers are not the end of the story- clubs recruit to fill certain weaknesses as well, and we do need more height and strength in our backline and it doesn't have to be a superstar, just a good honest player with senior experience who can contest and take a strong mark when needed, so maybe Carlisle can be the player to stregthen that up- he's not worth 5 by any means, but may be part of Richos jigsaw he is putting together. More work needs to be put into building a finals midfield.

This is how i think it should play out:

Ameet rings AD this morning and says "clearly pick 5 isn't as valuable to you as it should be. You've got an hour to agree to it. If you don't accept it, we will be moving in trades that will see us give up pick 5 to someone else. We can't guarantee what you'll end up with once they happen. The clock is ticking" click.

Then let AD sweat.

FWIW I quite like the mooted port deal and i would be happy to roll on that as early as this morning.

A work mate messaged to say part of the Carlisle deal is involving AD sounding out the Saints for a possible gig next season- rats deserting the sinking ship????

We only have 1 rookie spot though. If both Saunders and Ray made it to the rookie draft we would have to draft Saunders as he is contracted.

If the Port deal goes through we will probably do everything you said except we will give the Bombers #10 and hang onto Port's first in 2016 as this gives us more flexibilty for moves come this time next year.

So Schneider retired and Sinclair upgrade would give us two rookie spots!

Rahul and Daddy_Barrels going early here but, assuming we pull off the Port deal and go into next year with 2 first rounders at say 8 (St Kilda) and 14 (Port).

Would you look at trading up in the draft to get someone like Petrovski-Seton (assuming he is a top 3 talent) or is next year's batch good enough that we can cut deep?

Looking at the likes of Lee, Delaney, Ray, Curren, Murdoch, Wright, Saunders, Saad, Shenton and Minch who are all down the order it seems. Thats before we bring in Carlisle, Freeman, Rice and a draftee.

Then we have Joey, Roo, Fisher, Gilbert and Dempster who are all in the final stages...

Could we be looking at a deep cut next year?

Holy. SHIT.

How is THIS not bigger news? For those struggling to catch up, that's a contracted player meeting a club he's not contracted at (but granted, wants to go to) then seemingly having an operation st their urging, in a state he's not from, without their knowledge!

AFL, and all the media outlets? It's really quite baffling.

I also find it interesting that our Carlisle trade is somehow 'holding up all other trades' and we are the bad guys - yet Magpies are yet to do a deal for Treloar, Aish, Howe, Seedsman, Kennedy AND Freeman but are 'poised to strike'. Its easier to sink the boots into a 'minnow' rather than upset a 'powerhouse' that has heavy backing and a large supporter base to utilise as click bait.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 8
Negotiation is about win win.
Consensus is that 2 2nd rounders are not worth a pick inside 10. We want a pick inside 10.
By packaging up 2 Ess 2nd rounders in the Carlisle deal and our second round pick 25 & trading them to GWS for pick 7/8 depending on the points differential, with our own gives them the flexibility of having 4 second rounders to use on their academy picks and use pick 7/8 from the Trelor trade as a stand alone draft selection. 3 picks under 10. WIN for GWS. Do the numbers......... it works!

We get pick 7 or 8 plus GWS 3rd Rounder and probably 2016 third rounder and maybe assurance that they will not draft Mathieson.

Gives us some room to manouver with giving Collingwood 2nd & 3rd rounders in 2016 for Freeman.
Gives us a couple of 3rd rounders for Rice in case Carlton decide to draft him at 21.

We then do what we want either get JOM or Mathieson.

Ess will trade because they needed our pick 25 as well as theirs to satisfy GWS in order for GWS to do what they want otherwise it would have been done by now. Ess do not want to keep 23 & 25 and pass up on pick 5 and risk losing Carlisle to the PSD. Dedoro will definitely lose his job if that happened.

In poker sometimes the hand you are dealt is not a winning hand and you have to do the best you can with what you have or risk everything and lose.

Dedoro has played a great game of bluff and had me seriously worried with the Hawthorn offer but Carlisle stating its StKilda is where he wants to go was the final straw in wrecking his gameplan.

If we trade pick 10 for Carlisle it has to have a 2nd rounder coming back with it otherwise it's the PSD for mine

Id be ok with #10 for Carlisle and their 3rd or 4th. Something to get points for Rice.

I've always had respect for the saints but since when was Carlisle worth 10 and Dixon worth 5.
On straight ability this could be argued all night. But GC did not put Dixons welfare before it's own desires by having "unknown substance" injected into him. Clearly failed to meet it's duty of care to JC and many others.

Not to mention the fact that Dixon is twice the forward Carlisle is, Bombers can only blame themselves for devaluing JC by playing him forward. His sample size of good footy is so small and 3 years old so no one really remembers. Pick 10 is even a stretch now after the way your recruiting team has been conducting itself. They are like Kanye West having tantrum in the media 3 times a day.

Rahul and Daddy_Barrels going early here but, assuming we pull off the Port deal and go into next year with 2 first rounders at say 8 (St Kilda) and 14 (Port).

Would you look at trading up in the draft to get someone like Petrovski-Seton (assuming he is a top 3 talent) or is next year's batch good enough that we can cut deep?

Looking at the likes of Lee, Delaney, Ray, Curren, Murdoch, Wright, Saunders, Saad, Shenton and Minch who are all down the order it seems. Thats before we bring in Carlisle, Freeman, Rice and a draftee.

Then we have Joey, Roo, Fisher, Gilbert and Dempster who are all in the final stages...

Could we be looking at a deep cut next year?
Big fan of Scotch/Murray/VC's Will Brodie for next year. Will go high.

187cm goal kicking clearance midfielder. Has a bit of the Fyfes about him.

I for one would be livid if we do the trade thats being mentioned. There is no way carlisle is worth pick 10 and we get ports first rounder next year which is a very very good possibility of it being around 14.

Stick to the current deal or take him in the psd and then do that trade with port and gold coast if we need the future pick.

On straight ability this could be argued all night. But GC did not put Dixons welfare before it's own desires by having "unknown substance" injected into him. Clearly failed to meet it's duty of care to JC and many others.

Not to mention the fact that Dixon is twice the forward Carlisle is, Bombers can only blame themselves for devaluing JC by playing him forward. His sample size of good footy is so small and 3 years old so no one really remembers. Pick 10 is even a stretch now after the way your recruiting team has been conducting itself. They are like Kanye West having tantrum in the media 3 times a day.

Anyone else think port are happy to deal with us knowing that when we sign wines as a free agent they will get first round compensation? Thus giving them a first round pick again! I like the deal anyway id be happy to give up 10 and 42 for Carlisle and a 25. I'm a pretty optimistic guy if you couldn't tell

Damo: The only way the Saints can get Carlisle is to use pick 5, and they need to be smart with the way they use it #NABTradeRadio

back peddling much!

Last week it was "saints just need to trade pick 5 for Carlisle and get it done"

And if we do make the trade with port he'll say something like " Saints should have kept pick 5 for elite top end talent"

Flog of the highest order!