2nds 2016 Adelaide Crows SANFL season

The improvement that Doedee has shown this year has been really pleasing. Lack of a PS, and without senior footy experience, the difference between his first game and yesterday was massive.

Love the quick hands in close too, and goes when its his turn.

The improvement that Doedee has shown this year has been really pleasing. Lack of a PS, and without senior footy experience, the difference between his first game and yesterday was massive.

Love the quick hands in close too, and goes when its his turn.
Looks to me like he's already a better defender than Smith, Cheney and Henderson.

That isn't a comment on other aspects of their overall game btw.

Nowhere I reckon.

Doesn't seem to be being groomed as a defender.

Not being used as a wingman.

Playing in the guts the last few games and isn't much chop around clearances. Not strong over the ball at all.

Behind a heap of players for an inside mid role and not being thought of as a wingman/half back.
I think he'll end up on a wing/back flank but the inside work is part of his development phase...I'm confident he will be a very good AFL player.

I agree on CEY, I thought his game was very influential in the win. He has definitely trimmed down and lost that 'fat component' he carried early and should be looked at seriously come selection.
We need to improve our centre square clearances...period.
They're not going to change the look of our ruck set up so I would be rolling the dice on Cam.
He has a strong body and is in as good form as anybody in the seconds.

I thought he looked reas strong yesterday but admittedly only saw bits and pieces.

Would have to say that developing him into an inside mid is the last thing I thought would happen. Obviously not much trouble finding it and using it. Do you think the issue is with him or his development?

I don't see why he has to be pigeoned-holed into one particular role. I don't see he can't do what Laird is capable of doing. Playing through the inside, but also very good on the outside and can play HB on a small forward if need be. Versatility is key here don't forget, and that kick of his is a serious weapon.

Looks to me like he's already a better defender than Smith, Cheney and Henderson.

That isn't a comment on other aspects of their overall game btw.
I'd say he has way better defensive instincts but that wouldn't be super difficult. He does show a great deal of poise for a kid too.

Thanks to my dear husband loaning me his phone I have been able to catch up a bit on SANFL matches. CEY really contributed yesterday. He had that determination with 2nd & 3rd efforts. As we know he brings something different to the midfield and not an easy one to be knocked off the ball.
Greenwood has some serious talent.

Do you mean on the SANFL match, or just in general?

He was the last one out so presumably he's the closest to coming back in... but he wasn't exactly dominant in the SANFL match.

I agree that so far this year, he's been the pick of the depth mids. (I'm counting Atkins as a best 22 mid this year)
To be fair, his playing time was heavily managed yesterday. Neither he nor VB played more than probably half the game which was the reason poor Lowden had to keep lumbering around with his corkie.

Credit to Lowden by the way - kept having crack even though he couldn't run and kicked an important goal.

Theres a 'review' of our game on another forum. Basically its a load of North fans whinging about us in the league and saying how our tall players should all be in Div 4.

Not a bitter bunch these SANFL fans.

Let's get to the games. Hardly anyone goes. I know we have a lot more supporters than there is at these games. I bet come finals we will all be there.

Watching a replay of the game, and having seen 3 live this year, jeez we mis-kick it a lot with heaps of floaters. A bit left field but, is the Burley footy responsible at all for this. And anyone who sees training, do we train with the footy. Having played with both, I always feel I kick better with a Sherrin. Differently weighted, a bit lighter and a rounder shape when compared to the Burleys. Seems an abnormal amount for AFL, although reserves, players. NikkiNoo Shed any light, you're the guru? :D

They normally train with the Sherrin, but they definitely use the Burley when they split into squads leading up to a game.

There were training pics of Crouch using the Burley when he was about to play an SANFL game earlier in the season.