2016 AFL Fixture. News and Speculation

If Adelaide vs Geelong are going to be played in round 2 it will have to be played on either Sunday afternoon or twilight as Geelong will be playing on Easter Monday in round 1 and can't have a 5 day break between matches. I personally think that Channel 7 would much prefer the first meeting between Adelaide and Dangerfield to be played in one of the prime time Friday/Saturday night timeslots. I definently think the match up will be early in the season but I can't see being in round 2 knowing they are limited by the fact that Geelong can only play on the Sunday in round 2
Yeah I didn't think of that... im hoping its in the first 4 weeks of the season and hoping its at Adelaide Oval.

haha I remember that good old classic time slot in the early 90s at Football park.. 5:10pm.. I remember getting home around 8:10 and then watching the delayed telecast on channel 7 that started 8:30

i loved it in Melbourne... a LIVE 2pm game from Sydney/Brisbane/Perth (yep, they had noon games locally back then)/Fitzroy in Hobart, the news at 5pm (back when Channel 7 were not so anal about having the news at 6pm on weekends and were willing to move their news around to accommodate the footy, not the other way around), then back to the footy, LIVE from Footy Park at 5:30pm.... MODRAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! Crows rarely lost in that time slot too.

There was a leak on the eve of the Grand Final for the R1 fixture - 2016 (with 2 games in Queensland) as follows:

Gold Coast Suns versus Port Adelaide
Saturday, March 26, 12:40pm Metricon Stadium

West Coast Eagles versus GWS Giants
Saturday, March 26, 1:35pm Domain Stadium

do they want the players to die from heatstroke.

perth in march in the arvo would still be anywhere between 28-35 degrees

do they want the players to die from heatstroke.

perth in march in the arvo would still be anywhere between 28-35 degrees

It is hot in the afternoon everywhere in March with Gold Coast max temp about 28-29 degree C. It can be higher in other capital cities. I don't think it will be worse than the 2015 Grand Final day. (Actually it was worse the day after in Melbourne)

i loved it in Melbourne... a LIVE 2pm game from Sydney/Brisbane/Perth (yep, they had noon games locally back then)/Fitzroy in Hobart, the news at 5pm (back when Channel 7 were not so anal about having the news at 6pm on weekends and were willing to move their news around to accommodate the footy, not the other way around), then back to the footy, LIVE from Footy Park at 5:30pm.... MODRAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! Crows rarely lost in that time slot too.

I remember all that too. Great times. :thumbsu:

Carlton still to get more Friday night games than Port, Bulldogs, Crows you'd reckon.

We all know the reason why.

Doesn't make it any less ridiculous.

Happy to be proven wrong.

Literally 1 week to go and barely a leak.
Infact I reckon we can only confirm 4 games next year:
Rich v Carlt opener
Easter Monday - Hawks v cats
Anzac Day
Queens birthday

This time last year, round 1 was already confirmed.

They're probably waiting for the trade period to finish for some match ups, considering the season finished a week later due to the late start.

Might see any of Essendon vs St Kilda, GWS vs Collingwood (if Collingwood vs Bulldogs doesn't happen), West Coast vs Sydney or Gold Coast vs Fremantle.

Carlton still to get more Friday night games than Port, Bulldogs, Crows you'd reckon.

We all know the reason why.

Doesn't make it any less ridiculous.

Happy to be proven wrong.
I think you will be. The afl know they butchered Friday night footy - ratings dropped - they won't make the same mistake again.

I hope I am not proven wrong.

Would like to see Anzac round done this way:

Thursday 21st April

Fremantle v Adelaide (Domain)

Friday 22nd April

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne (Etihad)

Saturday 23rd April

Melbourne v Hawthorn (MCG)
Brisbane v Sydney (Gabba)
Geelong v Carlton (Simonds)
Port Adelaide v Gold Coast (AO)

Sunday 24th April

Richmond v St. Kilda (MCG)
GWS v West Coast (Spotless)

Monday 25th April

Essendon v Collingwood (MCG)

Caro said on Adelaide radio today that Brisbane play two top 4 teams from this year in round 1 and 2 - with round 1 being in Perth. Tough start for the Lions if true.

2016 AFL Fixture. News and Speculation

Write your reply...