List Mgmt. 2016 Trade/FA Thread 2.0: Ahern (pg168); Hrovat (pg252); Williams (pg270)

Afl.com.au review

NTHMELB-sb-AFLM.jpg

In: Paul Ahern (GWS), Nathan Hrovat (Western Bulldogs), Marley Williams (Collingwood), pick 33 and 92, 2017 third-round pick (Western Bulldogs), 2017 fourth-round pick (Western Bulldogs)
Out: Daniel Wells, Aaron Black, pick 69, 105

Win: Midfielders with upside and half-back speed
Lose: A 243-game match-winner

2016 draft picks: 11, 32, 33, 87, 92

What couldn’t they get done?
The Kangaroos couldn't convince Daniel Wells to stay and made a late but unsuccessful play for Will Hoskin-Elliott.

Nathan Schmook’s verdict
Ahern could prove a bargain if he recovers from another serious knee injury to make his mark down the track. Hrovat also arrive cheap from a premiership team and should enjoy more opportunities at Arden Street. Overall, however, North wasn't very active in top-end deals, and hasn't had a trade period that will improve them after making the decision to clear out veteran players.

Rating: C-

Damn C- thats generous.

In all seriousness we shouldve got an F-

Just consider nearly everyone crying a month ago bemoaning the loss of the 4 players who should still be playing. Hmm i disagree - but if you bemoan that then you must think we'll be worse off next season without them. Then we lost Wells for pick 32 who wont offer anything for a year or 2. Then picked up a kid that wont play most of next year and a couple of other late late round picks (fringe players).

We finished in the 8 but couldnt beat any of them with StKilda, Collingwood, Carlton, Melbourne all set to pass us with the talent they've been building. Then look what all those clubs added and look what we did.

Unless we have players playing to standards we've never seen them before, we're definitely finishing closer to the bottom than 9th only we'll be doing it without much new blood in. Seriously we shouldve traded Taz as well if we're going to take this long in doing it, he and Goldie will likely retire just as we're about to head up or while we do. Thats ideal isnt? Start blooding brand new ruck and KB just as its time head up.

Oh thats right - normal rules of building a premiership team dont apply to us, we're North Melbourne we won flags in the 90s (by building from youth - but shhhh). Just throw a blue and white jumper on em and she'll be right mate.

If he says we plan on using pick 87, we must be looking to delist two more players. Who, other than Mckenzie remains uncontracted?

Or are we planning on delisting and rookie listing someone?

We weren't very aggressive with our 'aggressive reset' but I like the 3 v low risk, high reward deals we made.

Would have liked us to have been a bit bolder in trading players but we don't what other clubs were offering. Disappointed that we couldn't move up in the draft but happy that we'll keep all of next year's picks.

Surprised that we didn't do anything to trade in future picks. We'll need them to get a Kelly, Heeney, etc as we can't really afford to use 1st-3rd round 2018 picks in next year's trades.

I'm content. If anyone has an idea on our plans for the list over the next 2-3 years then I'd love a PM. Really like the work Joyce does but would like it if we did take a few more risks.

So Joyce's comments have me intrigued:
He acknowledged that we have a core group that has taken us into finals and played good footy - they're still there.

Players like Ziebell, Swallow, Tarrant, Goldstein, Macmillan, Hansen, Thompson, Higgins, Wright and Atley aren't really going to be ok with being involved in a year full of losses and or/thrashings. So maybe it really is about developing these younger guys from 2014 onwards and not topping up immediately.

Dumont, Garner, Jed, McDonald, Turner, Clarke are the guys who are going to have to blitz pre-season and start becoming more damaging during game time (TBH I've seen too much drinking and socalising from McDonald on social media while other guys have already started getting stuck into training)

The rest are going to have to find their niche real quick smart.

Damn C- thats generous.

Just consider nearly everyone crying a month ago bemoaning the loss of the 4 players who should still be playing. Hmm i disagree - but if you bemoan that then you must think we'll be worse off next season without them. Then we lost Wells for pick 32 who wont offer anything for a year or 2. Then picked up a kid that wont play most of next year and a couple of other late late round picks (fringe players).

We finished in the 8 but couldnt beat any of them with StKilda, Collingwood, Carlton, Melbourne all set to pass us with the talent they've been building. Then look what all those clubs added and look what we did.

Unless we have players playing to standards we've never seen them before, we're definitely finishing closer to the bottom than 9th only we'll be doing it without much new blood in. Seriously we shouldve traded Taz as well if we're going to take this long in doing it, he and Goldie will likely retire just as we're about to head up or while we do. Thats ideal isnt? Start blooding brand new ruck and KB just as its time head up.

Oh thats right - normal rules of building a premiership team dont apply to us, we're North Melbourne we won flags in the 90s (by building from youth - but shhhh). Just throw a blue and white jumper on em and she'll be right mate.
Alternatively, we've picked up two young players who will likely play round 1 next season, one with class and one with speed (both areas we needed to improve), as well as a former pick 7, potential jet, who is exactly the type of player that we need but who won't play next year.

And all for peanuts.

IMO We're a better team/squad now than we were at the start of trade period and that's all that matters.

North Melbourne:

The Roos were still recovering from a bad break-up and weren’t in the mood to be social. Spent most of the night scanning the floor for dropped change and ended up finding a few decent notes to go with it. Went home with a bi-polar ex stripper who looked good but has issues.

Judgement: Came in with nothing went home with something. That’s a win right?

I wouldn't mind if we delisted Tippett and then picked up Mitch Brown as a DFA/PSD pick/Rookie pick. That would improve the ability of our key defender depth as well as giving us a player that, with a good pre season, may even push for a starting role as the 2nd KPD, allowing Thompson to take the 'Firrito role.'

Would much rather keep bmac or tippo over using pick 87

Surely whoever we could possibly get with pick 87 we could get in the rookie draft
Ii want to keep tippett but that's not entirely true.

I wanted the club to pick up oleg markov with a late pick or rookie pick. He showed heaps at the combine. Then was picked up by richmond the following year. This year he got his chance and he looks a likely type off the half pack. Quick and full of run. Excellent athlete.

Probably not. Tippett is one of the better defenders in the VFL and I imagine Werribee would want to retain him anyway.
We need to find a way to get Durdin to CHB at Werribee. Another club would probably pick him up if we delisted him.

He's a chance if Lachie Hansen plays in the seniors. At the moment the Bee's have Tippett, a bloke named Taylor(? correct me if I'm wrong someone) and then Lachie. That's why Durds has been forced to play forward. He's been swung back when Lachie is swung forward.

Cool, let's play Hansen forward then at Werribee too.

C
I've enjoyed Pelchen's analysis through the trade period on Fox Footy - level headed, pretty unemotional. I basically agree with what he said (North just a pass; pretty underwhelming). I expected (?hoped) for a big push for 1st/early 2nd round draft picks, understanding this would require big name departures to achieve. Potential names for trade that may have attracted interest include Goldy, Cunnington and McMillan. I like all but you need to give something to get something. The combo of Swallow, Ziebell, Cunners just doesn't work but we wouldn't give up Ziebell (captain) and Swallow wouldn't attract much interest so Cunnington the trade for me. I think if we had gained an extra pick between 10-25, and brought one of the 30s into the 20s then the draft could have be a real reset for future. As it is we'll have to be real clever with 31/32

Like the Hrovat and Ahern deals - little given up and kind of players we need. Worried about Williams (Joyce kept emphasising how good a clubman Hrovat will be - didn't say that about Williams...).

However these were all 'safe' deals and wonder if we attempted any risky stuff
Cunningtons don't get traded. What is safe about the deals?

Damn C- thats generous.

Normal rules! Hah! Wb won Rhett flag with no forward line? Gws should have won it and should for the next three years. Normal rules! Fridge, laidley, blakey, Clayton, pike, just off the top of my head

Partially agree on the Saints and the Dees, but Carlton and Collingwood just traded in some of the biggest duds and castoffs in the AFL, while losing players important to their structure. We've lost some blokes, but there's no way those two pass us next year.

List Mgmt. 2016 Trade/FA Thread 2.0: Ahern (pg168); Hrovat (pg252); Williams (pg270)