Review 2017 AFL National Draft - Friday 24th November

Dow, LDU & Rayner are taken. Who do you select at pick 4?

Yeah, sorry. I deleted my original post because I had misread what nn said.
86y1W.gif

Good times

I have that scary Atley feeling about Stephenson watching the clip above.

Looks like Atley2.0, break free and turnover by foot.

However in the positive column seems to have a good leap and knows where the goals are.

I can just see us drafting this guy and putting him on half back and ruining him like Atley.

I have that scary Atley feeling about Stephenson watching the clip above.

Looks like Atley2.0, break free and turnover by foot.

However in the positive column seems to have a good leap and knows where the goals are.

I can just see us drafting this guy and putting him on half back and ruining him like Atley.

Atley is ranked 10th at our club for turnovers and about 300th for the competition.

If ya can't kick then you're for the tip.

No good wasting your first high pick in an eternity on somebody who will slot in beautifully if you're looking for speed and spray.

A bloke that hits targets more often than not should always be given preference in a side notorious for ball butchers.

Dunno why but have had a random inclination lately to look more into Adam Cerra. As I said I don't know why..

Highlights don't tell you much but..

One touch player.

Quick decision maker.

Reads the ball movement quickly and gets it before anyone else meaning he didn't need a burst to get into position.

Strong kick off either foot with some very precise passing to leads.

Still reminds me of a pure mid version of Sidebottom. Could be a nice pairing for Cunnington.

Might have a big upside with a development year lost to injury.

Ok, I got an answer. He scored 27/30 for the kicking test and 20/30 (3goals 2 behinds) in the goal kicking. So not too bad.

Goalkicking test (score out of 30)
Jordan Houlahan – 30 (5.0)
Angus Schumacher – 30
Jackson Ross – 30
Ben Miller – 30
Jake Patmore – 25 (4.1)
Ryley Stoddart – 25
Changkuoth Jiath – 25
Andrew Brayshaw – 25
Connor Ballenden – 25
Aaron Naughton – 25
Aiden Bonar – 25
Jaidyn Stephenson - 20 (3.2)

Kicking test (score out of 30)
Connor Balldenden – 30
Jack Higgins – 29
Angus Schumacher – 29
Jack Payne – 29
Hayden McLean – 29
Jackson Ross – 29
Ned Reeves – 29
Jordan Houlahan – 28
Hunter Clark – 28
Lloyd Meek – 28
Jaidyn Stephenson - 27

Bonar and Brayshaw both got above 80%(24-26) in this kicking test. JS = 90%

Brayshaw
Goal kicking - 25/30
Kicking - >80% (24-26)
Standard Vertical Jump 59cm
Running Vertical Jump 68cm
20m 3.00
Yo-Yo 22.4
2k 6mins 14secs

Stephenson
Goal Kicking - 20/30
Kicking - 27/30 - 90%
SVJump 63
RVJump 83
20m 2.96
Yo-Yo 21.8
2k 6mins 21secs

Bonar
Goalkicking - 25/30
Kicking - > 80% (24-26)
SVJump 89
RVJump 88
20m 2.90secs
Yo-Yo 20.5
2k 7mins 9secs

Dunno why but have had a random inclination lately to look more into Adam Cerra. As I said I don't know why..

One touch player.

Quick decision maker.

Reads the ball movement quickly and gets it before anyone else meaning he didn't need a burst to get into position.

Still reminds me of a pure mid version of Sidebottom. Could be a nice pairing for Cunnington.

Some comments from Cerra,

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...s/news-story/2e472c98d88122c43b5150a48b2095f1

HIS AFL Draft stocks are only rising but Eastern Ranges midfielder Adam Cerra is unfazed by the attention.

Vic Metro coach Martin Allison reckons Cerra, 18 in October, was stiff to miss Under-18 All Australian selection but that doesn’t bother the midfielder either.

His temperament suits the way his plays – calm, poised and with a splash of class.

Allison said Cerra was “extremely unlucky” to miss All Australian honours.

“I reckon the recruiters at the end of the year, where they put him in the draft, will indicate they think he sits in front of those players that made the All Australian team,” Allison said.

“The accolades, such as All Australian, you don’t want to get hung up on it, but the prize for him will be being drafted at the end of the year and I think he will be pretty high in the draft.”

Cerra, a Norwood Football Club junior, averaged 18 disposals over his four games in the championships, finding a blend between winning contested possessions and using his polished skills when in space.

2ce9d85584a41b7e1ef7c27a34f4a41c

His best game came in Vic Metro’s first outing against Western Australia when he tallied 24 disposals, six tackles, five clearances and a goal.

“I probably didn’t have as consistent a carnival as I would have liked, I thought I started pretty strongly but didn’t hold that consistency,” Cerra said.

“I still thought I did something to help the team get over the line but I probably wasn’t able to get the stats I was able to in the first game.”

After missing most of 2016 with a meniscus injury, Cerra (84kg, 186cm) has added about 8kg of meat to his bones since the start of last season.

The extra weight has helped him work his way through the packs.

“The past couple of years I have probably been more an outside midfielder so I probably struggled more with the contested part of the game,” Cerra said.

“This year they wanted me to turn more into an inside midfielder ... I’ve been working on my ability to win the ball on the inside and that is probably a good thing I have been able to add to my bow this year.

“This year it has been a focus to transition to an inside midfielder so that gives me a bit of both.”

2017 AFL Draft prospects: Adam Cerra

Name: Adam Cerra
Position: Midfield
Club: Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
DOB: 7/10/1999
Height: 186cm
Weight: 85kg
Draft range: 2-8

Summary: A classy midfielder who just runs all day long. He rarely makes poor decisions, and generally has time on the ball.

Strengths:
  • Contested-ball winner
  • Decision-making
  • Work ethic
  • Consistency
  • Ball skills
Weaknesses:
  • Quickness
  • Injury-prone
Overall:
Cerra is an all-round well polished player, He is clean and composed with the footy in hand and can also win his own ball.

He has averaged 26 disposals per game in the TAC Cup this season, however, he had his year cut short by a shoulder injury and also missed a large chunk of last season due to a meniscus injury in his knee

Oh, I'd also like a kid that doesn't fit the talented but injury prone category for our top pick.

Like ball butchers, we have a special knack of drafting "sliders that could be anything" , that average at least one development year completely out of the game.

Had enough of that shit.

What ever will be, will be.

And I'm ok with that

Weaknesses:
  • Quickness
  • Injury-prone
Overall:
Cerra is an all-round well polished player, He is clean and composed with the footy in hand and can also win his own ball.

He has averaged 26 disposals per game in the TAC Cup this season, however, he had his year cut short by a shoulder injury and also missed a large chunk of last season due to a meniscus injury in his knee

Adios muchachos.

Oh, I'd also like a kid that doesn't fit the talented but injury prone category for our top pick.

Like ball butchers, we have a special knack of drafting "sliders that could be anything" , that average at least one development year completely out of the game.

Had enough of that shit.

There currently seem to be 3 genuine mids in the top 5 prospects based on media perception.

LDU, Dow, Cerra.

Stephenson comes with caveats on his kicking and has he really played a stop, look, think style genuine playmaking mid role?

Rayner is athletically gifted but has a question mark over his tank. Plus he's extremely unlikely to be around at our pick.

LDU and Dow will probably be long gone by pick 4, if we want a bloke to join Cunnington to build an engine room around maybe the other guy is the best fit.

One touch player.

Quick decision maker.

I've been looking at him too mate, as a result of something naturally north told me, tenderly.

My only concern is that we train that passing ability out of him. Because he looks the goods :thumbsu:

There currently seem to be 3 genuine mids in the top 5 prospects based on media perception.

LDU, Dow, Cerra.

Stephenson comes with caveats on his kicking and has he really played a stop, look, think style genuine playmaking mid role?

Rayner is athletically gifted but has a question mark over his tank. Plus he's extremely unlikely to be around at our pick.

LDU and Dow will probably be long gone by pick 4, if we want a bloke to join Cunnington to build an engine room around maybe the other guy is the best fit.
If the draft is as mid thin as reported, then it's either fluke a diamond or bust. Fair chance the best overall mid is a smokey probably. Dave Swallow -who reportedly was one of the best players Pikey had ever seen in the TAC- was in the same year as Luke Parker who went at 40. Now I'm not saying LP is head and shoulders above DS as a player, it rightly should have been the other way around, which their draft positions (at that time) indicated. I'm saying that it doesn't always pan out how predicted & you can still jag a gun.

Edit: EFA

Wow based on stats Champion data rate Jack Higgins as the best player they have seen.

Champion Data has always loved their goal kicking mids.

I feel like if Higgins ever becomes a midfielder then he could easily be the best player to come out of this draft. There's definitely the potential for him to become a Ben Cunnington or Sam Mitchell type of player.

Review 2017 AFL National Draft - Friday 24th November