2017 Non Crows AFL Discussion Thread

Thanks for that, too.
As far as the Shanghai home game / home ground is concerned Gold Coast was not asked to 'give up' per se but to sell certain game-control rights to one of their eleven 2017 home games which has been relocated to Shanghai. This arrangement has been credited as 'innovative' according to global standards by a London sports business magazine.
The transfer sum involved I have seen / heard quoted as a minimum of $400k and a maximum of $600k.
As things stand the funding (via PAFC) for this, plus the balance of the cost of the Round 8 project, originates mainly from AusGOLD Mining, who are the main Match sponsors as well as Open To The World programme sponsors, and also from Mr Gui Guojie who signed the MoU in Shanghai in April 2016 with Gil McLachlan and Keith Thomas, witnessed by the PM.
One of the clauses in that MoU promised an AFL match for premiership points would be staged in Shanghai as soon as possible. This match is part of Mr Gui's 'Gift to Shanghai', his home town, so it's logical that part of his first year's instalment in the three-year deal (paid in advance), and second year no doubt, would go towards the Round 8 project ... as well as other aspects of the continuous game development programme being orchestrated, in Shanghai, via the Shanghai Tigers FC in conjunction with South China AFL in Guangdong and Hong Kong where PAFC have been developing AFL for three years.
To my knowledge AFL House has not to this point contributed any funding, but is providing essential services in support of the project. I say again: 'to this point'. I'm unaware what funding, if any, will come later.
Other partners, of whom Cathay Pacific is the most obvious, are providing services and funding. Discussions with other benefactors are ongoing in the Club's quest to at a minimum break even on an international event that - regardless of result, both on- and off-field - will write a new piece of sports history for Australia. DFAT are pretty keen on this. They call it Sports Diplomacy.
On the subject of Gold Coast wearing their red livery - and this is my personal comment only - this will hugely benefit the exposure of our great game across China via TV and social media. A casual Chinese surfer, attracted by the red and gold on his or her screen would be more inclined to dally a while, thereby boosting viewership and related data on our road to a potentially lucrative national CCTV contract sooner rather than later.
Hope this helps.
BTW, Mr Gui, soft-spoken little battler that he is, won his share of the pastoral leases to the Kidman cattle stations at his third attempt, not second.
What a crock of absolute propaganda !
Ppfffttt
Can just imagine you and Janus (silent J) having a conversation

Just keep doing this - please! All this effort, time, cost and distraction !

Not to mention your cosy little junkets in Tents - ping ponging and kung fuing - while the not "cool kids" back here run amok getting pissed and smashing cars .

Nutshell - you don't know who has paid for what !

And as for T. V. broadcasts - didn't you get the memo - nobody gives a toss about Port in China!
IMG_9115.GIF

Ba ha ha ha. It was a painful read. Full of self kudos and big nobbing and name-dropping.

Kill me when I'm swayed, by a London sports business magazine crediting the china game as being 'innovative' according to global standards, to believe that the China game is anything more than a waste of AFL money and resources, or a big-noting of knob heads whose egos are way too big for their self inflated positions. This charade of its purpose being to expand trade relations with China is rhetoric peddled by people who have everything to gain personally and politically from all the networking and shoulder rubbing, especially if the AFL and State Government are coughing up money to help finance these elite little soirees, as I suspect it is.

As if the AFL needs to expand globally. It already doesn't know what to do with the gazillions of $$ it already makes. I doubt it has the personnel to handle a bigger budget.:D Apart from greed in hoping it'll bring in $$ to the AFL and individual teams, I see no point in trying to convince China or any other country that they should be getting interested in AFL. The game will never damage trade relations for sure but there are more tangible ways to promote international trade rather than trying to squeeze $$ out of organisations to sponsor a ****ing alien football team, or agreeing to blackmail, at the buyer's request, the buyer who wanted to buy the biggest land holding in Australia. But you know, "you might want to sponsor a footy team to show how interested you are in supporting the Australian culture...that'll look pretty good on your CV when you wanna, you know, get permission to take over half of the countryside. Oh, and while we're here, try this Tim Tam, you'll ****ing love it cobber". Caarn.
Spot on !

Koch's family are all in Hong Kong - give you a tip who will benefit from
this !

Not your average suppprter who's selling a kidney to get to this fiasco!

If the Irish, English and NZ ers don't want AFL who the Hell thinks the Chinese want it ?

Hahahaha

Spot on !

Koch's family are all in Hong Kong - give you a tip who will benefit from
this !
This is the thing to watch in the next couple of years, but I guess it will be excused as '' the price of making Port great''

Exactly.
Truth slipped out with his nobody gives a toss statement but because these flogs have been drinking the cool aid punch bowl dry, none of them dare question it.
Don't you love how it's MR Gui this and MR Gui that!
How far up his arse are these flogs?

He's got his cattle station now - he doesn't have to "love AFL" anymore!

When they had their December junket I thought here we go - I could be wrong - this may actually be something out the box.

Instead it was ping pong in a tent - and then their Chinese New Year celebrations here was a bowl of dumplings shared by 6 players !

Amateurs - rank ****ing amateurs !

8fa9afe2b1aeea2b58d2188996668a11.jpg

Never forget #10/10Umpiring

Just trying to think of any other clubs rejects that they have recruited who havent played their best footy there?

Anyone?

Edit: Under Clarkson that is.

Having a look at who they've obtained from other clubs since their 2008 flag:

O'Rourke, Boumann, McCauley, Bruce, Skipper, Kiel

Who are most of these guys? Random no names delisted from other clubs who were rookie drafted then quickly delisted by Hawthorn.

Oh I think the concept is ok, I think the game will do all it says, but the fluff and detail is buried in a mountain of fairy floss.

How much will the Port Adelaide Football Club truly benefit? No not SA, not the AFL , nor Gold Coast, but the PAFC?

I can't feel uncomfortable that a guy who wasn't good enough for us, has been snapped up by a much more professional & successful outfit

Yes this is a concern, although I feel they want Henderson for who he is. We only retained him in the hope of transforming him into someone he couldn't be

Yeah what would hawthorn know, what have they ever done?
Hawthorn aren't immune to making bad decisions just because they've had recent success. That isn't a good argument.

More likely they know their time is done, so they're able to take risks on players like Vickery and Hendo who have very limited and specific weapons that didn't really help their last team very much. If it works out for them, cool. If not, well ok.

Hawthorn aren't immune to making bad decisions just because they've had recent success. That isn't a good argument.

More likely they know their time is done, so they're able to take risks on players like Vickery and Hendo who have very limited and specific weapons that didn't really help their last team very much. If it works out for them, cool. If not, well ok.

Fascinating as always. They know their time is done so they're randomly throwing their cards in the air and hoping

I guess it's a wonder how anyone so clueless won anything

If who he is is good enough for them... you know a good outfit and everything...
Sometimes players aren't going to improve in their current environment & need a change.

We need to invest in players with more upside than Hendo, whilst the Hawks have no decent draft picks so we're looking at adding experienced players albeit with limitations. They may get some use our of Hendo like we did, but he isn't going to suddenly become a gun we regret letting go.

Sometimes players aren't going to improve in their current environment & need a change.

We need to invest in players with more upside than Hendo, whilst the Hawks have no decent draft picks so we're looking at adding experienced players albeit with limitations. They may get some use our of Hendo like we did, but he isn't going to suddenly become a gun we regret letting go.

Reminds me of Marty Mattner

Hawthorn picked up Hendo to try and cover some of the run they have lost in the last couple of years with Suckling & Hill leaving. They would be full aware of what they have got and won't be expecting to turn him into some weapon but have a use for him regardless of his limitations.

Anyone else see this article on FB about Nixon?

Edit: sorry should read "post by Nixon" spruiking himself and a course he is advertising...