List Mgmt. 2017 Trade/Draft/FA SuperMegaUltra Thread - Post Trade-Period Edition

3 picks, you'd say 1 will have to be a ruck unless we plan on McInnes being our backup to the main 3.
I would like to try Ned Reeves 208cm ruckman/FWD as the rookie ruck.

I wonder if the eagles have found anyone in their zoned region in the pilbara to rookie draft? Wouldn't surprise me.

That just shows how rubbish the EP alignment is, if one of our draftees is pushed out of our preferred position by 2 blokes we delisted.

Alignment not the trouble it is who the eagles draft.Last year 4 east perth guys played regularly mid field and it was because the eagles really didn't have real mid fielders that were playing wafl but mainly half back flanker types.With Mitchell and Priddis gone and the eagles mainly drafting forwards I don't know how they could put a competitive side in the wafl.Would prefer a eagles stand alone team and it would show how the drafting strategy is flawed.I can see a oversized East Perth side with a lot of eagles players playing part time in the midfield especially if they start the year with a fit list.If petracculei and Brayshaw are up to wafl league standard they will get a game but it is still a step up from tac and colts and may take time to adjust to a better comp.

So we have 39 on our main list, 2 on the normal rookie list and 1 on the category B rookie list.
We have 2 more options for adding (and we must have 44 in total) and that will be through the rookie draft and the preseason draft. The latter has not really been worth anything recently so I assume we will go for 3 in the rookie draft to have a 39/5 split.

Jetta would want to improve this is his 3rd year with us so out of contract.

Could be his last year playing AFL if he doesnt start delivering more consistently.
Jetta presents and presents and gets burned time and time again

I guess things like that chasedown against lolport are the things he can improve on - guys who do shit like that tend to get heaps of love

But hes never going to be a in and under player - hes a cream on top player

Reckon Duggan could be a bit of a gun this season.
Sheed and Redden to get solid.
Jetta to get new longer lasting energiser batteries (for his Ballfinder app)
Venables, Partington, Murtimer, Cole, step, step, stepping up.
Nelson learns to control and direct his 'take the game on' energy force-field..
Would like to see Yeo and AhChee as our new exotic midfield man-beasts!
Barrass morphs into The Gov... Gov becomes The Gov Elite.
Darling finally becomes the Darling we waited for and becomes everyones Darling..
JK gets silver plate service continually, doesn't have to work so hard and puts on love handles.
NicNat cuts his dreads off and is suddenly taken very seriously..the second coming.
The rest of the team display a shining ring of confidence with the new improved and refreshed team brand!
It's all good! what could possibly go wrong..?
You jinxed it with that last line mate ! As anyone who has ever watched Jeremy Clarkson on "Top Gear" knows, saying that GUARANTEES that something WILL go wrong !

Does anyone see a potential "Ryan" or "Kelly" we could rookie this year?

With regards to the draft I find it interesting that both the dogs and eagles drafted the main KPPs despite it not being an immediate pressing need for either side. On the other hand you have freo, Carlton and collingwood who all desperately need a KPP and yet went mids. I think going "best available" is biting some teams in the ass big time.

I think we'll look at (preferences in bold):

A small forward/midfielder (Aaron Darling, Cody Ninyette, Liam Baker, Adam Sambono)
An outside mid/winger (Gordon Narrier, Matthew Day, Callan England)
A ruckman (Tony Olango, Aaron Redhead, Ned Reeves)

We are too tall in the EP forward line and we still need small forwards, even after drafting Ryan. LeCras is cooked, which emphasises our need to draft one this year. We have connections to Darling so he's the favourite here. But we've watched Ninyette and Baker in the WAFL all year. Sambono is a wildcard, he could be anything, but will need a couple of years to put on 5-10kg otherwise he'll struggle. I like Darling's potential and ability to play midfield; the days of specialist small forwards are likely gone. Who knows where he wouldve rated this year without the ACL injury.

The team still lacks speed and skills, and an outside mid/winger with both of those is probably a second priority. With Masten likely cooked and Jetta inconsistent, then I would be targeting a replacement. Narrier has played senior WAFL footy and is only 19, has speed and skills in spades, but has questions over his defensive efforts. Day is a ex-basketballer who could also play inside and has serious potential. England is a good prospect, but at 181 and 73kg will need a couple of seasons. I see a bit of Cedric Cox in Narrier and would like to see him picked up.

Finally, we need a project ruckman after missing out on Scott Jones and Ben Miller. Tony Olango is athletic and has bags of potential, but will he be a good footballer? Redhead is an athletic ruckman and a solid footballer with suprising speed and agility for a 203cm player. Reeves is a good prospect at 207cm.

What about Taryce Stewart?

Swan Districts have a long history of producing indigenous small forwards who people don't think a lot of until after their draft year - Walters, Garlett, Cameron.

Taryce turns 19 in about a month, averaged 10 disposals and 1.7 goals a game in the WAFL seniors. Last year he averaged 18 disposals in the colts.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/6095

Yeah thats some really good odds there. How many post round 1 midfielders have been taken over that time (20 years)? Hundreds? A THOUSAND?!

So thats what a 1-2% success rate? I didn't say its impossible I said it's highly unlikely and with better scouting techniques its actually getting HARDER not easier to get lucky.

Shuey was rated but was injured. Watson was a father son. You have to go back to Simon Black (20 YEARS AGO!) to pad out the list to double figures.

The odds are even worse then I thought. Thanks for proving my point.

So we should not pick a A grade KPP for a 1 in a 100 chance for A grade mid? Thank god you are not on our recruitment team.

You post as if you’re on our recruiting team; seeking to lower expectation to a mediocre standard to ensure you hit your KPIs. Have some more:

Matt Crouch No.23
Dayne Beams No.29
Luke Parker No. 40
Callan Ward No.19
Seb Ross No.25
Jack Steven No.42
Matthew Boyd No.23 rookie draft
Andrew Swallow No.43
Kieren Jack No.57 rookie draft
Brett Kirk No.40 rookie draft

And does the logic that no A-graders come after the first 10 picks apply to key position forwards and other positions too? Because if it does, presumably we shouldn’t have bothered using any picks this year - we were basically doomed to fail when we failed to secure 5 picks in the first 10 picks of the draft.

Your point is that you don’t have a point. A coherent one anyway.

What about Taryce Stewart?

Swan Districts have a long history of producing indigenous small forwards who people don't think a lot of until their draft year - Walters, Garlett, Cameron.

Taryce turns 19 in about a month, averaged 10 disposals and 1.7 goals a game in the WAFL seniors. Last year he averaged 18 disposals in the colts.

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/6095
Another option JTG, can he rotate through the middle at all?

I'd be looking at Ethan Floyd, Adam Sambono, Matthew Day, Gordon Narrier, Noah Answerth, Alex Martini and Cody Ninyette in the rookie draft.
Floyd and maybe Sambono could be long gone by our 1st pick though.
Would've said Bailey Banfield as well, but I've never actually seen any footage of him before, but his WAFL stats look impressive.
Most likely they'll probably select some players most people have never heard of though lol.

I reckon Banfield will be long gone before our first pick. Essendon, Port and Freo will all be interested. Clubs like North and GC should be too. No way he's available at 13, but I don't mind being proven wrong!!

He's Max Gawn for sure

You post as if you’re on our recruiting team; seeking to lower expectation to a mediocre standard to ensure you hit your KPIs. Have some more:

Matt Crouch No.23
Dayne Beams No.29
Luke Parker No. 40
Callan Ward No.19
Seb Ross No.25
Jack Steven No.42
Matthew Boyd No.23 rookie draft
Andrew Swallow No.43
Kieren Jack No.57 rookie draft
Brett Kirk No.40 rookie draft

And does the logic that no A-graders come after the first 10 picks apply to key position forwards and other positions too? Because if it does, presumably we shouldn’t have bothered using any picks this year - we were basically doomed to fail when we failed to secure 5 picks in the first 10 picks of the draft.

Your point is that you don’t have a point. A coherent one anyway.

Where did I say there was no talent after 1st round? Quote please or stop strawmanning.

I said it was highly unlikely. And 2% instead of 1% is still bad odds.

So again thanks for proving my point.

List Mgmt. 2017 Trade/Draft/FA SuperMegaUltra Thread - Post Trade-Period Edition