2017 Trade & FA Targets Part 4

Next season will answer a lot of questions

Macartin - he already looking far better than when he started the season (by all accounts), if he can stay on the park he is going to be a bonus to the team and give us another option with Membery , Bruce, Gresham and Billings.

Freeman - the guy has proved he has overcome his hamstring problems so now it is all up to him having a good preseason and we could have a surprise coming our way definitely a talented kid.

Goddard - difficult to say to much about Goddard , basically he has been out of action for over 2 years , if he can have a good preseason and show us he can fill Brown position it will be great for the team.

Rice - he has come along way from his first year , amazing improvement he has made, was on the brink of selection a couple times and the way he is going he will be a very good replacement for Geary going forward.

McKenzie - now he is one , has got the ability to be anything but has yet to show on the field , hopefully next year he will show us - have heard from quite a few people he will make the grade.

Marshall - looks like he could be a handy pick up , a versatile big guy who can play back, forward or even ruck another one we will have to watch and see how he goes.

Long - his first season , must be given every chance to shoe why we selected him - another pre-season and we will see.

Pierce - heres one , complete out of the picture - had a poor year in the VFL has another year on his contract , will have to improve or he will be delisted.
23 next year and has not helped having compete with Hickey and Holmes at Sandringham.contracted

Battle - expecting good things from this boy , will be a asset if he comes good.

Phillips - his first year , had injury concerns for a best part of the year , just needs time to settle in.

Lonie - plays good in the VFL in the mid field just can't produce the goods playing in a forward pocket in the seniors. Keep him for one more year and see if he can bulk up and improve.

Wright - good tough player but hasn't shown enough. contracted

Minchington - another guy who kills it in the VFL but doesn't produce the goods in the seniors , does play good against Geelong but / strange.contracted

guys in Red have been given enough time now and should be moved on.

FREMANTLE is open to trading youngster Harley Balic to a Victorian club after the midfielder requested a trade back to his home state.

GAFF WHO???

Yayyyy its a Maverick family reunion.

I watch Dees matches because my mates follow them, I wouldn't think he's that good, he does a couple of flash things every now and then but not often enough.
He's got slightly better stats than Dangerfield at the same age and that's despite having a slow start due to missing his entire first year.

He's finding enough of the footy for how many games he's played and what he does with it is often pretty good.

Possibly. In the mid-stacked GWS team, we never got to see this for long periods. Certainly has the attributes to run through the middle and allow Billings to do the same.

Yeah, when they can move Toby Greene to the forward line despite looking like an elite mid you don't really get opportunity to show that you're more than a small forward.

At that point is rather give 7 and 8 to gold coast for 2 a second and fiorini and draft rayner. I think similar players and we don't help Melbourne by giving them two top tens for lever.
Wow. Sorry to say it but you're dreaming mate.

2 and a second would equate to a fair deal for those picks but asking for Fiorini on top would be cheeky as ****.

Maybe 2 and Firorini for 7 and 8?

Yeah, when they can move Toby Greene to the forward line despite looking like an elite mid you don't really get opportunity to show that you're more than a small forward.

To your point earlier, he's not that elite runner we crave but quality nonetheless.

He's got slightly better stats than Dangerfield at the same age and that's despite having a slow start due to missing his entire first year.

He's finding enough of the footy for how many games he's played and what he does with it is often pretty good.

I'm over talking about Petracca, I don't rate him that highly and doubt he ever becomes a full time mid. He might still be elite but I don't see it. He looks like he should always be good but has some deficiencies. Looking at Dangerfield and his stats at the same age doesn't mean he will be as good. Daniel Rich burst out of the blocks and I could show you how he would have been better than most champions using that method.

Clayton Oliver on the other hand I reckon will be absolute elite. He is already third in the comp in a host of midfield stats and he's in year 2 of his career. That's actual output and while he might be another Rich he is already making a massive contribution to his team every week so it's not that likely.

Lewis Pierce
4 VFL No impact in the ruck or attack. -
5 VFL Did the bulk of the ruckwork to have 21 hitouts and four marks. Needs to lift a gear or two. -
6 VFL Quiet game again. Just a handful of touches and hitouts in the ruck and resting forward. -
7 VFL Found some form in the development league after a lean few weeks. -
8 VFL Shaded in the ruck contests by Goodwin and wasn’t able to get hands on the ball on the deck. -
9 VFL Used in ruck and attack. Just fair in both roles. -
10 VFL Non-factor again and looks to have taken some big steps backwards from last year's form. -
11 Didn’t play for Sandringham.
12 VFL Kicked a goal, but battled to get into the game. -
13 Bye.
14 VFL One of the best in Sandy's development league thriller over Coburg. -
15 VFL had 22 hitouts and a goal. Not a star on the day, but not the worst. -
16 Didn’t play for Sandringham.
17 Didn’t play for Sandringham.
18 Didn’t play for Sandringham.
19 Didn’t play for Sandringham.
Didn’t play for Sandringham.
20 VFL Used in a few unfamiliar roles. Hard to get a read on where he's at. -
21 VFL Bye. -
22 VFL Played down back and was outmatched in a role that he hasn’t played much. -
23 VFL Back in the ruck and was good with 35 hitouts and also jagged a goal

Lewis was contracted for 2 more years last year , for the selectors to contract this kid for another 2 years he must of shown something, has he had much help from with in the club to help him improve - who is our ruck coach - have they been putting the necessary work into the guy so he can show his full potential.
Any thoughts on this one.

Yayyyy its a Maverick family reunion.

I think a late pick would get it done. He cost pick 38 or something and has played 4 games and is suffering from personal issues and there are no guarantees he will get on top of those, he also had wrist issues that were potentially career ending. I wish well for the guy but I would rather keep Mav and give up our third rounder for him to off set the risk.

Moral of the story:
Ignore Dals whole career when it doesn't support my arguement... but include his whole career when it does. o_O

Gaff has what 9 less years of football under his belt than dal played?
Hardly apples and apples at this point.

Also someone posted gaffs heatmap for the year recently.
He doesn't kick goals because he WC play him behind centre wing.
ok lets compair the pair on their first 7 years in footy ..

year 1
games played: Dal 18 - Gaff 17
Goals: Dal 7 - Gaff 7
Tackles: Dal 33 - Gaff 19
Contested pos: Dal 83 - Gaff 75
Contested Marks: Dal 1 - Gaff 0

year 2
games played: Dal 8 - Gaff 24
Goals: Dal 7 - Gaff 9
Tackles: Dal 36 - Gaff 34
Contested pos: Dal 61 - Gaff 136
Contested Marks: Dal 3 - Gaff 1

Year 3
games played: Dal 25 - Gaff 22
Goals: Dal 11 - Gaff 5
Tackles: Dal 82 - Gaff 40
Contested pos: Dal 181 - Gaff 134
Contested Marks: Dal 8 - Gaff 2

Year 4
games played: Dal 24 - Gaff 22
Goals: Dal 15 - Gaff 10
Tackles: Dal 77 - Gaff 54
Contested pos: Dal 233 - Gaff 137
Contested Marks: Dal 10 - Gaff 5

year 5
games played: Dal 23 - Gaff 25
Goals: Dal 11 - Gaff 11
Tackles: Dal 96 - Gaff 62
Contested pos: Dal 198 - Gaff 190
Contested Marks: Dal 6 - Gaff 3

year 6
games played: Dal 22 - Gaff 22
Goals: Dal 9 - Gaff 7
Tackles: Dal 82 - Gaff 27
Contested pos: Dal 190 - Gaff 163
Contested Marks: Dal 2 - Gaff 0

year 7
games played: Dal 24 - Gaff 24
Goals: Dal 12 - Gaff 6
Tackles: Dal 75 - Gaff 49
Contested pos: Dal 173 - Gaff 169
Contested Marks: Dal 4 - Gaff 1

now this is a pointless exercise as its not a choice between Gaff and Dal (you would take dal every day of the week) but it highlights that Dal was critisised of not being hard enough at the contest and not being damagining enough to be in the upper levels of great players these stats show Gaff is even less of a physical player and even less damaging ... Gaff runs all day thats about it
ill say it again Gaff is a good player but really i would at a maximum give up pick 8 for him (and thats at a push) to give up a player we want and that pick or that pick and another pick i would rather pass

Not a Fan ?

Is what, 29? For an outside mid his numbers are terrible, makes horrible decisions and I'm pretty sure he keeps tomato sauce in the fridge. If that wasn't enough it would mean that we would pretty much be the 2018 version of collingwood getting Mayne.

Geez that trade radio talk from Stringer about he "doesn't know what he did" to get kicked out of the club is massive alarm bells.The dogs aren't doing something as drastic as kicking out their most talented youngster who is contracted without having made it very clear why.
"I don't know the exact details on why. I haven't spoken to Bevo. I've spoken to (list manager) Jason McCartney about those type of things," Stringer said."

Stringer said he saw no point in discussing his situation further with Beveridge.

"It's past that point now. It's sort of just one of those things. I've dealt with Jase (McCartney), I've been talking to Jase, so I'm pretty confident and comfortable with where things are at now," Stringer said.

Jesus H Christ
The guy is 'comfortable' with being kicked out of the club he 'loves' even though he doesn't know why it's happening.

C'mon Rors , explain to everyone why Stringers head is even more eff'ed than Jaegers knees.

Do.Not.Want

Anyone else find this extremely odd?
Surely the Coach talks to a player before they get rid of him? I doubt Stringer would lie about that.

Some weird things happening down at the kennel.

Anyone else find this extremely odd?
Surely the Coach talks to a player before they get rid of him? I doubt Stringer would lie about that.

Some weird things happening down at the kennel.
Something as weird as shit.

Stringer looked genuinely shattered about leaving and said the exit meeting was ok with none of the rumours occurring.

Also admitted that he could have done more.

Plough on SEN said in 2016 Stringer was getting 5 injections a week to get on the park.

Stringer seems like he has had a huge kick up the arse, but something aint kosher at the kennel.
Looking at 3 CEO's in 3 years. Gordon is an interfering bully and the coach didnt have the balls to tell a 23 y.o AA premiership player that he is sacked.

Something Fishy

Remember when he first started Gaff ripped us to shreds at Etihad and Ross Lyon said he'd be the best player in the comp in a few years, then he said Dale Thomas was the best in the comp. Had some bad calls old Rossy.

He so badly wanted us to get Andrejs Everett

Something as weird as shit.

Stringer looked genuinely shattered about leaving and said the exit meeting was ok with none of the rumours occurring.

Also admitted that he could have done more.

Plough on SEN said in 2016 Stringer was getting 5 injections a week to get on the park.

Stringer seems like he has had a huge kick up the arse, but something aint kosher at the kennel.
Looking at 3 CEO's in 3 years. Gordon is an interfering bully and the coach didnt have the balls to tell a 23 y.o AA premiership player that he is sacked.

Something Fishy

According to SEN this morning Bevo refused to shake Matthew Boyd's hand in his exit interview & management forced him to play Boyd in the final round

Ha! Indeed. He made many poor recruiting decisions as well. Schneider & Dempster early on in the piece the only decent trades in (although Gardiner had a very good 09).

To me , when he got King, Schneider and Dempster, it was like a gambler who won the Quadrella the first time he went to the races. Thought it was easy after that.