List Mgmt. 2017 Trade Period - Done and dusted for 2017. Thank you SOS!

Glad Josh Mahoney isn't our list manager. Effectively gave Jack Watts away for nothing.
Really? Mahoney has been at te demons for six years , they probably have a top 4 list now and it's a pretty young one too.

Watts for pick 31 shows they are trying to rid themselves of the 'old ' Melbourne loser culture and that is more important than the pick itself.

I feel Port are going to have all eyes on them being one of the teams to watch next season with this added expectation. Motlop's form is too sporadic for me, and not worth the money he's going to be on. A change of scenery may be what's needed though. Rockliff will solidify their midfield a lot, his contested ball numbers will assist their Polec's and Hartlett's as well as can sit on half-forward and add scoreboard pressure. Watts is the most interesting addition though, I feel he shares traits with Westhoff and are similar type of player. Pick 31 is absolutely great value, but it is going to be interesting to see how they structure up in their forward line. Attitude has been poor at times and can be seen as conditional, but I think once again that a change of scenery will do him some good. For Pick 31, why shouldn't they have a crack?

The pressure should be piled on Hinkley if they can't deliver results in 2018. Great business and they've gone for broke this off-season, but if they lose ground next season with the players they've gained, watch out.

Best thing that club has ever done, Watts' attitude is awful they dont want conditional footballers

Every Melbourne player selected in the NAB AFL Draft since 1986
(in draft number order)

1 – Travis Johnstone (1997), Jack Watts (2008), Tom Scully (2009)

2 – Jack Trengove (2009), Petracca (2014)

3 – Steven Febey (1986), Darren Kowal (1991), Colin Sylvia (2003), Brayshaw(2014)

4 – Cale Morton (2007), Jimmy Toumpas (2012)

5 – Jason Norrish (1991), Brock McLean (2003)

6 – Allen Jakovich (1990)

9 – Martin Pike (1992), Luke Molan (2001), Christian Salem (2013)

10 – Andrew Lamprill (1991), Trent Ormond-Allen (1993)

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2014-11-26/melbournes-afl-draft-picks-19862014

The pressure should be piled on Hinkley if they can't deliver results in 2018. Great business and they've gone for broke this off-season, but if they lose ground next season with the players they've gained, watch out.
Not sure I understand the Port criticism. 17 teams will fail next year, at least they won't have done so sitting on their hands.

Thanks for the comparison mate.

Looks like 2013 was a pretty strong draft to me though.
Round Pick Player Drafted to Recruited from League Notes
1 Tom Boyd Greater Western Sydney Eastern Ranges TAC Cup
2 Josh Kelly Greater Western Sydney Sandringham Dragons TAC Cup Traded from Melbourne
3 Jack Billings St Kilda Oakleigh Chargers TAC Cup
4 Marcus Bontempelli Western Bulldogs Northern Knights TAC Cup
5 Kade Kolodjashnij Gold Coast Launceston TSL
6 Matthew Scharenberg Collingwood Glenelg SANFL
7 James Aish Brisbane Lions Norwood SANFL
8 Luke McDonald North Melbourne Werribee VFL Father–son selection – son of Donald McDonald
9 Christian Salem Melbourne Sandringham Dragons TAC Cup
10 Nathan Freeman Collingwood Sandringham Dragons TAC Cup
11 Dom Sheed West Coast Subiaco WAFL Traded from Collingwood; free agency compensation pick (Thomas)
12 Ben Lennon Richmond Northern Knights TAC Cup
13 Patrick Cripps Carlton East Fremantle WAFL
14 Cam McCarthy Greater Western Sydney South Fremantle WAFL
15 Zak Jones Sydney Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
16 Darcy Lang Geelong Geelong Falcons TAC Cup
17 Michael Apeness Fremantle Eastern Ranges TAC Cup
18 Luke Dunstan St Kilda Woodville-West Torrens SANFL
19 Blake Acres St Kilda West Perth WAFL
20 Jack Leslie Gold Coast Gippsland Power TAC Cup
21 Jarman Impey Port Adelaide Murray Bushrangers TAC Cup
22 Darcy Gardiner Brisbane Lions Geelong Falcons TAC Cup
23 Matt Crouch Adelaide North Ballarat Rebels TAC Cup
24 Billy Hartung Hawthorn Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
25 Daniel McStay Brisbane Lions Eastern Ranges TAC Cup
26 Zach Merrett Essendon Sandringham Dragons TAC Cup
27 Sean Lemmens Gold Coast Port Adelaide SANFL
28 Lewis Taylor Brisbane Lions Geelong Falcons TAC Cup
29 Rory Lobb Greater Western Sydney Swan Districts WAFL
30 Trent Dumont North Melbourne Norwood SANFL
31 Malcolm Karpany West Coast Woodville-West Torrens SANFL
32 George Hewett Sydney North Adelaide SANFL
I didn't say it was bad! :p

Aish, Salem, Freeman, Lennon, Sheed, Apeness, Dunstan and Acres don't read well right now, and it doesn't get much better after that (Leslie, Lemmens, etc).

It was OK, and Lang is a good prospect out of that bunch.

We are over-valuing Gibbs. Intentionally. As a premium because they have tried to pry him loose two years running while in contract.

We need him a lot more then his "market" value if he was out of contract. So they can pay to compensate us or get lost

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Not sure I understand the Port criticism. 17 teams will fail next year, at least they won't have done so sitting on their hands.

I commend them for going out and strengthening their team as much as they can. Especially with Trengove and Impey leaving and the way they were bundled out of this years finals. They have done some pretty good business. But it's going to put the spotlight on them a little more, and I think that's a fair assumption. Rockliff, Watts and Motlop aren't lower profile players. There's an expectation that their implementation into the 22 will help provide more quality and produce wins. Of course a premiership is the ultimate barometer of success, and yeah 17 teams will not be successful, that is a given. But if they are languishing in 11th come seasons end for example, do you think thats an acceptable position to finish in for them in 2018? Personally, with the players they have added and list they have, i'd say no. Of course, we will never know the internal short term goals they've set for the team or for Ken Hinkley, but missing out on finals wouldn't be it I'd say. Just hope they are more successful than their crosstown rivals.

Every Melbourne player selected in the NAB AFL Draft since 1986
(in draft number order)

1 – Travis Johnstone (1997), Jack Watts (2008), Tom Scully (2009)

2 – Jack Trengove (2009), Petracca (2014)

3 – Steven Febey (1986), Darren Kowal (1991), Colin Sylvia (2003), Brayshaw(2014)

4 – Cale Morton (2007), Jimmy Toumpas (2012)

5 – Jason Norrish (1991), Brock McLean (2003)

6 – Allen Jakovich (1990)

9 – Martin Pike (1992), Luke Molan (2001), Christian Salem (2013)

10 – Andrew Lamprill (1991), Trent Ormond-Allen (1993)

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2014-11-26/melbournes-afl-draft-picks-19862014
That is horrible. Makes us look like geniuses

Our drafting is not on the same level as Melbourne, at least not at the top of the draft.

Bootsma was pick 22, Boekhurst was 20, Lucas 11, Russell and Lucas 9, Watson 18.

Those are all in the range where you get some hits and misses. Balance that alongside Yarran at 8, Cripps 13, Curnow 12, etc

Our List management has been awful though. In 3 drafts we used pick 1 + picks 20 and 24 on ruckman, as well as a rookie list pick that ended up being the best of them. That was just egregiously bad and it is only the start...

Edit: just realised I undersold our ruckman fetish a bit. In the space of 6 years, we used 2x first, 3 x second, 2x PSD picks (back when that meant something), and found the best ruckman of the bunch on the rookie list. Staggering...

Our drafting is not on the same level as Melbourne, at least not at the top of the draft.

Bootsma was pick 22, Boekhurst was 20, Lucas 11, Russell and Lucas 9, Watson 18.

Those are all in the range where you get some hits and misses. Balance that alongside Yarran at 8, Cripps 13, Curnow 12, etc

Our List management has been awful though. In 3 drafts we used pick 1 + picks 20 and 24 on ruckman, as well as a rookie list pick that ended up being the best of them. That was just egregiously bad and it is only the start...
Yarran was Pick 6 I think.
Boekhorst 19.
2010 ... Watson, McCarthy, Mitchell, McInnes, Duigan
Apart from Cripps, the hits started with SOS at the helm.

I just find it funny that another year goes by and Reid appears to have become even MORE of a moron than 12 months ago.

How has this over rated flog retained such a role? One might say he fits in well with the Taylor Walkers of the club but Reid has no credibility at all. Can't even interview properly sounds like a random BFer giving an interview when spoken to.

I just find it funny that another year goes by and Reid appears to have become even MORE of a moron than 12 months ago.

How has this over rated flog retained such a role? One might say he fits in well with the Taylor Walkers of the club but Reid has no credibility at all. Can't even interview properly sounds like a random BFer giving an interview when spoken to.

Dunno, they have a great list and makde a GF and seem to be able to make picks 20-40 sing as flankers and spare mids. I reckon AFC is in a very good spot and Gibbs is the cream.

List Mgmt. 2017 Trade Period - Done and dusted for 2017. Thank you SOS!