2018 Trade and FA thread (opposition supporters post in Trade Hypotheticals thread)

Would Tom Langdon, 18 and 32 be enough to get Neale to the Lions? We manage to keep pick 5 that way! That’s the only way this could turn into a positive for us! Scott Lucas (Langdon manager) was just on the radio saying they have spoken with sydney and Freo!

Don’t think so - probably not enough for freo to get hogan

This article is entirely "Barrett said". It's literally reporting on what a reporter said, and nothing from the player he's talking about to back any of it up.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-11/trade-shock-beams-wants-return-to-collingwood

DAYNE Beams is set to stun Brisbane and request a trade back to Collingwood due to personal reasons, according to AFL.com.au's Damian Barrett.

Breaking the news on NAB AFL Trade Radio, Barrett said the Pies would be the only club Beams would consider returning to next season as he seeks a move back to Victoria.

The classy midfielder was drafted to Collingwood in 2008 and won a premiership with the club in 2010, before leaving to return to his native Queensland to join Brisbane in 2015.

Beams remains contracted at the Lions through until the end of 2020, with Barrett reporting that the club's chief executive Greg Swann intends to hold him to that deal.

However, he revealed that Beams had indicated a desire to return to Collingwood.

"Dayne Beams loves the Brisbane Lions, he loves everything about the Brisbane Lions, there are just reasons now why he doesn't want to be there," Barrett said.

"He's not disgruntled with anyone at the club and he's not disgruntled with the club itself, but he does want to break the contract that he's got and return to Collingwood.

"It's only the Collingwood Football Club that he would explore the possibilities around returning to."

Beams' move to Brisbane was prompted by his desire to be closer to his father, who was suffering from cancer.

Philip Beams passed away in March.

Beams relinquished the Brisbane captaincy midway through this season, citing the mental stress caused by his father's illness and death, but reiterated in August his commitment to seeing out his contract with the club.

“After having our exit meetings earlier this week, I thought it was a good time to let everybody know I won't be going anywhere," Beams said in a statement.

"I love the coach, the playing group and am excited about where this footy club is headed.

"I have never asked for a trade away from the Lions and would like to put an end to any speculation over my playing future. I will be seeing out my contract here."

Beams played 110 games across six years at Collingwood and has played 58 games in his four years at Brisbane, winning best and fairests at both clubs in 2012 and 2015.

He finished second in the Lions' B&F this season, one vote behind new captain Dayne Zorko.

So I mean, on one hand you have a flog journalist reporting a player wants to break his contract and get traded, on the other hand you have the player he is reporting on with direct quotes saying he loves the coach, the playing group, oh and that he has never asked for a trade away and will be seeing his contract out.

What the??? If this ends up being more hogwash I genuinely hope the club takes it to him.

Genuine question; why nominate one club if you want to go back to Melbourne for personal reasons? Obviously he has relationships at Collingwood and it's the ideal choice for him personally, but surely getting to a club in Melbourne would be the priority?
Good on Dayne for sticking it to us and nominating one club; glad you feel so highly for the club that bent itself over a barrel to bring you here in the first place, for what three years service.

Totally disrespectful and a complete waste bringing him in the first place.

I’m more worried about the cultural effect it will have on the young guys rather than the on field set back.

How do you see that playing out in reality though. Yeah they love the guy but do they really want to see compounding mental duress continue to mount on the guy and his partner as they try to raise two infant children away from both of their remaining parental units?

I mean we either embrace our stated family first approach or we don’t. It will benefit us a lot of times, and sometimes it will give us a little sting.

Rational side of me says Daynes been a shell of a man since his dad past. You can tell by his body language on the field. But never once did I get the feeling he wasnt there. He gave 100% every game and I respect that.

The irrational side of me is saying hey we front loaded the shit out of your contract can you please honour it. Not to mention the message this sends to the young guys of the group.

I feel this could be a good time for him and the club. He has a chance to go win a flag at Collingwood and we have a chance to maybe snare a late first rounder if we are lucky.

Good luck beama.

This article is entirely "Barrett said". It's literally reporting on what a reporter said, and nothing from the player he's talking about to back any of it up.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-11/trade-shock-beams-wants-return-to-collingwood

So I mean, on one hand you have a flog journalist reporting a player wants to break his contract and get traded, on the other hand you have the player he is reporting on with direct quotes saying he loves the coach, the playing group, oh and that he has never asked for a trade away and will be seeing his contract out.

What the??? If this ends up being more hogwash I genuinely hope the club takes it to him.

I think he's gone mate. This has that feel to it

Was something brewing yesterday? I was away from it all for most of the day, didn't see anything until this article this morning.

How do you see that playing out in reality though. Yeah they love the guy but do they really want to see compounding mental duress continue to mount on the guy and his partner as they try to raise two infant children away from both of their remaining parental units?

I mean we either embrace our stated family first approach or we don’t. It will benefit us a lot of times, and sometimes it will give us a little sting.

It would be easier to embrace if it wasn’t being reported as Collingwood only.

If it was ‘I need to get to Melbourne’ then it is a bit easier to understand as a supporter. If it was that then there is a better chance to work out a reasonable deal as I’m sure hawthorn (for e.g) would love to have him and have a better pick to offer.

I should say that I generally agree with you and I’m happy to trade him for a reasonable deal, just a bit frustrated by how it has all turned out. I’m sure I’ll get over it and wish him well if he goes.

P.S. Dayne should apologise to Caro

It would be disappointing if this compromised our shot at Neale, but I doubt he was coming just for Beams and at best he’d have expected two years with Dayne and likely with his influence waning.

The kids aren’t stupid either. They’ll get it. They obviously love Dayne but they’re invested in Fagan and in eachother.

This isn’t a good thing, but it may not be too bad either. Another step on the journey towards the younger players taking ownership of the club.

A lot of people taking a ****wit like Barrett at his incredibly unreliable word here..

Would be bad news if true but reckon people need to cool down.

If he were to go: Pies 2018 and 2019 1st for Beams and Lions 2019 2nd

Totally disrespectful and a complete waste bringing him in the first place.

Your disappointment isn’t unwarranted but why completely disregard the enourmous contribution he has made to to our cultural rebirth. He has been so important.

Not listening to anything Barrett says after essentially admitting he makes shit up. Even if this proves to be true, he doesn’t deserve the pages and pages of talk that will be generated on this today.

Your disappointment isn’t unwarranted but why completely disregard the enourmous contribution he has made to to our cultural rebirth. He has been so important.
Agreed. He's been one of the guys who attempted to lift the standards off the field when some others around the club weren't providing that leadership.