Mega Thread 2018 Trade Period Discussion part 2! (cont. in Part 3 - link in OP)

What are we going to do??

• 4 picks 21 and under? Back in Hamish!

Votes: 74 67.9%
  • Trade up! We’re getting Lukosius / Rankine / Rozee!!!

Votes: 35 32.1%

Never had one myself but willing to have one at some point.
Really? I think I remember you saying you were in your 50s recently. Interesting.

Given how Hamish and his crew have perforover the years

tenor.gif

Ignoring state, what's the preference between Hately and RCD? Are they similar?

Just remember we let Ebert slide to Port and took a vic kid called Patrick.

We all know how that turned out.

This is one area of the footy Club we have far excelled at. Probably an absolute necessity given the Tippett sanctions, that despite what the AFL threw at us, which was far worse compared to what they did to the Dons, yet we recovered magnificently.

Just for a point of reference when Carlton received sanctions it destroyed them for years and years and years.
That's fine but obviously relies on there being a Patrick Dangerfield available later in the draft. What if this years Patrick Dangerfield is Rankine or Rozee ( or Walsh) and there is no one as good later. Doesn't matter how good Hamish is if all the best players are gone by the time he picks he can't make them stars by his picking them.
It's why whether or not we trade up depends on our recruiting teams evaluation of the talent, not just getting a certain pick.

I also think this is the line in the sand moment the Gold Coast had to have and will really turn it around.

They may finish 16-18th in 2019 but in 5 years, this will be the off season that turned it around.

Unlikely.... I can't see GC trading 2 or 3, they're after the same players we are.
Who knows what they will do - they have had a fair warning from Cripps today and they will know that taking the 2 best guys from SA means that they will have both clubs gunning for them as early as next year as both will badly want them. I am firmly in the camp that they should have tried to trade these picks for players that may have been open to going there - like weller last year. Likewise they are able to get a massive draft bounty from us and probably the maggots down the port that won't happen again and I think they should cash in and draft a heap of talented kids and hope volume keeps some there. Luko and Rankine and Rozee won't - I mean won't be there past their first contracts

I also think this is the line in the sand moment the Gold Coast had to have and will really turn it around.

They may finish 16-18th in 2019 but in 5 years, this will be the off season that turned it around.
Well they can only go up from losing both their captains in the same year.

If I was them I'd keep whatever picks they get for May. Going into this draft with 2,3 and 5 would be massive

Really? I think I remember you saying you were in your 50s recently. Interesting.

tenor.gif

Will be honest, have only ever had one cigarette when I was 13 and given had a heart attack 3 years ago (and now 10 kgs lighter and fitter for the experience) probably glad I never took it up. Never had any recreational drugs - but hey, willing to give anything a go now with a different perspective on life.

RCD is 3 or 4 cm taller but the main difference is speed and acceleration which allows RCD to get separation from opponents that Hately does not possess. If you're drafting in the here and now you probably take Hately who finds more of the pill and has the better developed all round game but if you're drafting for future projections you probably take RCD with his points of difference.

Who knows what they will do - they have had a fair warning from Cripps today and they will know that taking the 2 best guys from SA means that they will have both clubs gunning for them as early as next year as both will badly want them. I am firmly in the camp that they should have tried to trade these picks for players that may have been open to going there - like weller last year. Likewise they are able to get a massive draft bounty from us and probably the maggots down the port that won't happen again and I think they should cash in and draft a heap of talented kids and hope volume keeps some there. Luko and Rankine and Rozee won't - I mean won't be there past their first contracts
The issue was getting good players to go there when everyone is walking out

Will be honest, have only ever had one cigarette when I was 13 and given had a heart attack 3 years ago (and now 10 kgs lighter and fitter for the experience) probably glad I never took it up. Never had any recreational drugs - but hey, willing to give anything a go now with a different perspective on life.
You've given up smoking but willing to try recreational drugs ?? Isnt that backwards thinking??

6, 10 and hombsch for 3? That would nett them rankine or rozee if gold coast hands it over. Would be a shame to see either of them play for that rabble of a club.

I would be amazed if even Port did this. But it appears they are far more desperate than us to grab one of the 3 SA boys.

RCD is 3 or 4 cm taller but the main difference is speed and acceleration which allows RCD to get separation from opponents that Hately does not possess. If you're drafting in the here and now you probably take Hately who finds more of the pill and has the better developed all round game but if you're drafting for future projections you probably take RCD with his points of difference.
He's a big lad. Modern midfielder. Will he make it?

Well they can only go up from losing both their captains in the same year.

If I was them I'd keep whatever picks they get for May. Going into this draft with 2,3 and 5 would be massive

Agree.

I would draft @ 2 Lukosius, @ 3 Rankine and at 5 @ Smith

A key forward and 2 future midfielder who will be excitement machines.

Only had one cigarette in my life and yes I would try a bong now.
Fair call, having done both a bit as a youngster IMO they're overrated.

Not anti drugs by any means but they're not for me.

Hately better production, better outside game, more consistent, more running capacity, better outside game.

Dawkins has far better burst speed, better skills and arguably a more advanced, if inconsistent coal face midfielders game.

Both equal as forward targets imo.

I prefer Hately, but that's partly due to being south Australian and partly due to having runs on the board. Dawkins the higher ceiling.

Would take Hately from ~10 and Dawkins from ~13, so splitting hairs really.

Still reckon we go all out for 2 and 3.

It really depends though still how much they rate the SA kids.

I have seen this happen for years where SA kids have been talked up and end up being potatoes at Maccas.

And there has to be rules in place to stop contracted players requesting trades to specific clubs! If there's personal reasons you need to go "home", then fine, the Club will deal with all clubs in your home state to find the best deal for both us and you, but you have no say. This would be on the proviso the purchasing Club will take over your existing contract at the same rate/length of time and you can negotiate for longer period/pay once there. If you are wanting to break your contract because someone has offered more... tough shit, you have to play your contract out.
Yeah but, but, but, no-one would request a trade back to South Australia as they would risk being traded to Port. Would you risk being traded back to S.A.?

I think I’d rather stay at Gold Coast:(

He's a big lad. Modern midfielder. Will he make it?
I haven't got a crystal ball, put it this way IMO Hately is the safer pick and will be a very good AFL footballer but if RCD who is very raw talent at this time develops as a lot are predicting he projects as a level above Hately.

Speed is probably not a good idea as it raises heart rate. Ice is shit.
Weed is fine.
Anything stronger isnt worth it.
I also had a heart attack about 5 years ago.

How can you not have come across weed? I am also in my 50's and it was everywhere growing up. You couldnt avoid it.