Mega Thread 2018 Trade Period Discussion part 2! (cont. in Part 3 - link in OP)

What are we going to do??

• 4 picks 21 and under? Back in Hamish!

Votes: 74 67.9%
  • Trade up! We’re getting Lukosius / Rankine / Rozee!!!

Votes: 35 32.1%

I am a club member, a football fan, I post on this board occasionally. That is the extent of my football involvement. I don’t speak with players, player managers, get to watch players in lower ranks who aren’t getting games.

Compare that to the clubs recruiters who are paid hefty salaries and it’s their job to ensure we go into each season with the best chance of winning a premiership. It is their job to ensure we went in to 2019 with a ruckman capable of not being slaughtered. They failed.

I ended up providing an option, a player that the club identified would help. Now the issue was the money, if that’s the case we have chosen to go into 2019 with a flawed ruck set up because we didn’t want to pay. It’s great saving money but not at the expense of success.
So you are happy to take pot shots but when questioned to elaborate out comes the famous line "its not my job"! :rolleyes:

You are making assumptions as to why Preuss did not come to the Crows. You assumed it was money without having any evidence to back that up, other than the reported deal that people have evaluated to be too much of a hefty price to pay.

We have gone into the season with the same ruck division for a few years now. Only 12 months ago we played off in a GF with the exact same ruck division. Jacobs has a history of having a stinker of a season every 3 years. He just had that. Will he be better next year, no one knows but if I was a betting man, i would say yes given the history of his performances since he crossed over from Carlton. ROB played a couple of pretty promising years in 2017. For a back up, he is fine.

Now would I like to have Grundy or Gawn or Nic Nat in my team?! Absolutely but that is NOT a realistic option. I think we will be fine in the ruck. All i will say is that the very same people who you are questioning (i.e. the recruiting department) have done an outstanding job over the years given the hand they have been dealt. If Hamish and his team who scout not only the under age competitions but also the state leagues say that Preuss is not worth the reported deal, then I am fine with that. $525k is a pretty hefty price to pay for an unproven 8 game player. Add another $175k and you get yourself a GUN ruckman.

Pretty negative opinions here. Some people focusing too much on Port.

Hope the club is now focusing on GC pick 3 and GWS pick 9.

8 to 3 for ? (-683 points)
13 to 9 for ? (-140 points)

ITT: Missing out on the SA guns will set us up for a decade.

Also flag is just around the corner.

Some highly medicated individuals posting in here.

Tyson isn’t a bad name or obscure spelling

Chase isn’t too bad but chayce. Why with the ‘yc’ sound.

Bogans tend to do these kind of things.

Think of many Anglo Saxon names the spelling of them today is far different to 10-20 years ago.

ITT: Missing out on the SA guns will set us up for a decade.

Also flag is just around the corner.

Some highly medicated individuals posting in here.

Also ITT - missing out on the SA guns is the worst conceivable outcome.

Having them is more important than anything else, including winning football games.

We should start a fight. That or talk about Uber Eats. I have a few stories about them.:huh:

I remember when you gave me a "fake red card" lol. :p

I thought damn this guy doesnt f**K around. :$

Ah so hes done it before.

I just gave you a Day Off FR0GGY but when i refreshed the page it didn't work, so i took it off.

Ah, abuse of power for my own amusement... it's like pick 2 & 3 but in my heart

You're not actually digesting my posts .....maybe time to have a breather & a stiff drink ;)

Timely.... BF locked me out for some reason.
I think you’re not digesting mine, my point stands it’s not about the upgrading of picks per se. That’s part of it but that’s not the whole point, it’s more about the overall strategy for the future....

- for exercise if we’re talking about stacking picks for the future why bring in Gibbs last year? Why Re-sign Sloane?

- if it’s about going for a premiership this year why not trade our picks to bring in ready made guns? Screw the early draft picks.......

This is my problem there is no coherent strategy it’s just take it as it comes.

Jenkins was originally earmarked to be a defender more than a forward. So nope on getting him to replace Tippett. Lynch also plays a completely different forward role than Tippett did. So that comment doesn't make too much sense. They played in games with Tippett in 2012. Lynch was competing with Lewis Johnston and Jack Gunston for the forward position, not Tippett.

Who did Freo get in? Two WA players. Couldn't attract a third because of Ross Lyon. The player they lost was a SA player who went to Queensland to be back with his good mate from Geelong who moved up there too. He was never coming back to SA. Freo had an A grader proven midfielder to use as bait to help them out and was going to a team who had a number of players leave and first round pick that could be moved around so had advantage. We had a player going out that has potential but hasn't fully shown it yet going to a team that had the number 1 pick. That was a disadvantage for us and I think we did pretty well with what we got back taking that into account and that Gov is injury prone and hasn't proven he can be consistent. More consistent and proven AFL players than him were being traded for a lot less due to missmanagementby their club who needed to get players off their books asap. That the AFL allowed those to happen is just ridiculous and shows how there are rules for some teams and not for others.

Who left GWS and GC? Victorian players left to go home to Victoria. Geography is an issue for our club in attracting players and coaching staff. Unless we can move the club from SA to Victoria, it is going to continually be a major issue.

If you want to understand why Hawthorn and Essendon can attract players - look to who are in their Coterie groups.

As usual Nikki you have made a very clear and concise post on what happened. We're never playing on an even playing field with the Vic clubs. Cap problems for GWS and loss of players for GC, not a problem; VFL House steps in and grants them all sorts of carpet sweeping deals. Compare that to the way we got treated over Yippett. 4 top picks lost as well as the 2 players we were going to get for the scumpond. Carry on, says Dimwit you have a great list anyway.
As for the Eagles, only differance between us and them; they won the GF and we choked. Get that into your tiny minds those knocking us and lauding them. We're a top side and with our players back, and not injured we'll be right up there for the flag this coming year.
Gov missed far more games than he played over the last 2 years, sure he flashed some potential but so did Hentschell back in the day. Lets wait and see if he makes much of an impact at the Bloos. We got a fair deal for him. BTW considering our hands were tied by the players being able to pick their own club. Pear are spewing because Chadly mucked them up by going to the Hawks and not the Bullies. Just another case for the feeble minded to ponder when they claim we never got a fair deal.
I love your point about the coterie members, so valid. Drug cheating not a problem, here's a slap on the wrist, next year here's the #1 pick while you rebuild. Toss money around to get a proven coach while GC have to go the rookie route, so did we for that matter. Hawks: need a second 1st for JOM, not a problem, Saints to the rescue in a deal for peanuts. Geelong: you need to use your future 1st rounder, even though you have used your alowable quota under the rules. What rules? This is a Vic club, sure here you go is the result. It makes me sick in the guts just typing these points.
The league is rigged IMO.

So you are happy to take pot shots but when questioned to elaborate out comes the famous line "its not my job"! :rolleyes:

You are making assumptions as to why Preuss did not come to the Crows. You assumed it was money without having any evidence to back that up, other than the reported deal that people have evaluated to be too much of a hefty price to pay.

We have gone into the season with the same ruck division for a few years now. Only 12 months ago we played off in a GF with the exact same ruck division. Jacobs has a history of having a stinker of a season every 3 years. He just had that. Will he be better next year, no one knows but if I was a betting man, i would say yes given the history of his performances since he crossed over from Carlton. ROB played a couple of pretty promising years in 2017. For a back up, he is fine.

Now would I like to have Grundy or Gawn or Nic Nat in my team?! Absolutely but that is NOT a realistic option. I think we will be fine in the ruck. All i will say is that the very same people who you are questioning (i.e. the recruiting department) have done an outstanding job over the years given the hand they have been dealt. If Hamish and his team who scout not only the under age competitions but also the state leagues say that Preuss is not worth the reported deal, then I am fine with that. $525k is a pretty hefty price to pay for an unproven 8 game player. Add another $175k and you get yourself a GUN ruckman.
Roll your eyes all you want, I explained my position and then provided an option, get over yourself.

Whatever the reason, we missed out on Preuss and did not bring in an adequate ruck, that’s a fail.

Jacobs is done, if you or the club are holding out hope that he will match it with the better rucks we are in trouble.

How did Jacobs go in the GF when up against Grigg? FFS we couldn’t even take advantage of that.

We are saving the warchest now for a gun ruckman?

How did Jacobs go in the GF when up against Grigg? FFS we couldn’t even take advantage of that.

Jacobs torched Grigg. That was all game plan.

Had Jacobs just done what Grundy did in the PF (that is spike it 35 metres every opportunity) it would have helped a greater deal than the perplexing tap it to his feet strategy.

If we nail this draft, we will be setup for the next 10 years. We will win a flag and shortly.

Would love to know the basis for either of these statements.

Especially the winning a flag shortly one.

We finished 13th.

We have lost 3 best 22 since our GF implosion.

Two of our line coaches are unproven novices.

One is a proven failure.

Our senior assistant has been in the game for a decade and no club has bothered trying to poach him.

Our head of football is demonstrably unqualified and out of his depth.

Our head off fitness has left a long trail of mangled bodies behind him at two clubs

A third of our list are 400% more likely to do hamstrings next year because they did them this year.

Our ruck and our gun small forward are both cooked and ready for the glue factory.

I do look forward to this impending flag though.

This "little fight" between a few posters reminds me of this gem on C10.

For the record Aiston is a nice guy, Ive spoken to him a few times at my gym. From what I understand, the female presenter is also good friends with him too, it was a low blow but not malicious.

Jacobs torched Grigg. That was all game plan.

Had Jacobs just done what Grundy did in the PF (that is spike it 35 metres every opportunity) it would have helped a greater deal than the perplexing tap it to his feet strategy.
Exactly

Would love to know the basis for either of these statements.

Especially the winning a flag shortly one.

We finished 13th.

We have lost 3 best 22 since our GF implosion.

Two of our line coaches are unproven novices.

One is a proven failure.

Our senior assistant has been in the game for a decade and no club has bothered trying to poach him.

Our head of football is demonstrably unqualified and out of his depth.

Our head off fitness has left a long trail of mangled bodies behind him at two clubs

A third of our list are 400% more likely to do hamstrings next year because they did them this year.

Our ruck and our gun small forward are both cooked and ready for the glue factory.
Otherwise ok?

It was widely reported we have made a very strong play for Preuss, but he decided to remain in Melbourne. Does Crow Envy even know what is going on around him?
A quick google search shows one article, widely reported is a stretch.

I'm blown away Dorodo had to pay 2x firsts. Never thought it would happen, especially with GWS cap issues.

Good to see him pay the fair price/overs for once.
Bit hard when you've already presented him to your fans via the Essendon Website .....they were committed and had to do the deal

The only benefit of moving up the draft now is to be ahead of port. Ports swap with Brisbane yesterday has taken them off the table so we are now left with working with Gold Coast or saints (Carlton price would be far too high). Without being able to leverage off another deal I feel that the price for straight pick swaps will be too high. In terms of trying to secure supreme local talent, I feel that we have been outplayed by port. I’m very happy with the picks we have though but can’t see how we can get Rankine or luko. Rozee is our best bet but probably gone by our pick. In the end ,Hamish will sort us out. I have faith.
Agree, no point moving up to 6 unless Bailey Smith is the target, or 2 of the SA boys are available on draft night. And GC are only trading 3 if their strategy does not involve picking up Rankine or Rozee.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

You are just a MASSIVE fan of Dodoro aren't you?! :D
He & Essendon are flogs .....Dodoro over the simple fact, that EVERY deal has to be like pulling teeth ......and Essendon because they're arrogant flogs, that stuffed the competition for 5 years ......yeah, but i hope they fall on their face !!

As usual Nikki you have made a very clear and concise post on what happened. We're never playing on an even playing field with the Vic clubs. Cap problems for GWS and loss of players for GC, not a problem; VFL House steps in and grants them all sorts of carpet sweeping deals. Compare that to the way we got treated over Yippett. 4 top picks lost as well as the 2 players we were going to get for the scumpond. Carry on, says Dimwit you have a great list anyway.
As for the Eagles, only differance between us and them; they won the GF and we choked. Get that into your tiny minds those knocking us and lauding them. We're a top side and with our players back, and not injured we'll be right up there for the flag this coming year.
Gov missed far more games than he played over the last 2 years, sure he flashed some potential but so did Hentschell back in the day. Lets wait and see if he makes much of an impact at the Bloos. We got a fair deal for him. BTW considering our hands were tied by the players being able to pick their own club. Pear are spewing because Chadly mucked them up by going to the Hawks and not the Bullies. Just another case for the feeble minded to ponder when they claim we never got a fair deal.
I love your point about the coterie members, so valid. Drug cheating not a problem, here's a slap on the wrist, next year here's the #1 pick while you rebuild. Toss money around to get a proven coach while GC have to go the rookie route, so did we for that matter. Hawks: need a second 1st for JOM, not a problem, Saints to the rescue in a deal for peanuts. Geelong: you need to use your future 1st rounder, even though you have used your alowable quota under the rules. What rules? This is a Vic club, sure here you go is the result. It makes me sick in the guts just typing these points.
The league is rigged IMO.

So many excuses. woe woe woe
ignore the things they can control
Tippet saga was bad management
Not retaining players is bad management
This years injuries were bad management
loosing coaches is bad management
keeping coaches who don't perform is bad management
Ignoring major issues like ruck is bad management

Why didn't Neale want to come home? How about Pavlich? How about Shannon Hurn?

Life is full of people and teams that have to overcome significant obstacles. Dont make soft excuses.

Trigg should have been sacked immediately. Burton should have been sacked.
This issue starts at board level and filters down.