Resource 2020 Draft Watch (picks 1, 9, 20, 30, 45, 50, 60, 74) - updated R17 15/9/20

He's just turned 19 and has played 1 game at the senior level. Is he actually a dour defender? How about we give him a chance. Wouldn't hurt to give Mathew Nicks, Adam Kelly and Dan Jackson a chance to make an impact too.

Seems we'll be going into the draft with a reasonable hand, and there's also the possibility of some new assistants coaches.
Yes mate boring as bat shit.. it's written all over him 😂
Nicks ? He was senior assistant at port for how many years .. zero finals. He leaves and they look good 🤔
GWS have a list that good they don't even need a coach so he can't claim much from his 12 months there.

I think we should play Mcasey CHF instead of Frampton or himmleberg takes a good contested Mark something we dont have atm. Looks a decent shot at goal too.. can he pinch hit in the ruck? i like him as he can play at both ends and play doedee talia KPD and with bigger KPF team's bring in Hartigan to assist.

Nicks ? He was senior assistant at port for how many years .. zero finals. He leaves and they look good 🤔
GWS have a list that good they don't even need a coach so he can't claim much from his 12 months there.

Im sorry, Port looked good last year?

I think they made some good moves at the2018 draft/trade period and then actually gave guys an opportunity, but they’re a long way off.

Tally 2018/19 and they’ve won one more game than us and finished 10th both years. We finished 12th and 11th.

Jury’s absolutely still out on Nicks, but you’ve gone a bit far there.

With regards to McAsey, give the lad a chance, he projects as every bit a strong intercepting CHB.

We do need to make some more aggressive moves at the draft this year though and actually start giving our young talent genuine opportunities.

Im sorry, Port looked good last year?

I think they made some good moves at the2018 draft/trade period and then actually gave guys an opportunity, but they’re a long way off.

Tally 2018/19 and they’ve won one more game than us and finished 10th both years. We finished 12th and 11th.

Jury’s absolutely still out on Nicks, but you’ve gone a bit far there.

With regards to McAsey, give the lad a chance, he projects as every bit a strong intercepting CHB.

We do need to make some more aggressive moves at the draft this year though and actually start giving our young talent genuine opportunities.
Port look instantly better as soon as Rozee gets the ball.. so while we are stockpiling picks for dour defenders port move up the board and grab a gun S.A lad in a super draft.. that kid in our midfield would be an absolute weapon

Sorry, when did Port last look good? I think you'll find Nicks was there as senior assistant when they last made the finals(2017)

Port look instantly better as soon as Rozee gets the ball.. so while we are stockpiling picks for dour defenders port move up the board and grab a gun S.A lad in a super draft.. that kid in our midfield would be an absolute weapon
Helps that they played him. McAsey has had 1 game.

Yeah, quite possibly.......when he actually plays midfield....

Sorry, when did Port last look good? I think you'll find Nicks was there as senior assistant when they last made the finals(2017)
Let's also see if Port downgrading their Pick 22 allowing the Lions to take Deven Roberson is such a smart move in the long run,

Have a look at Robertson's (blue top) upper body development (beast mode) seen here with my boy Tom Berry....2nd pic cop the biceps.

Think a lot of clubs will regret passing over Robertson, none moreso than Port.

McAsey, Kelly, Jackson?

Look, tbh, I don't hold out much hope of Nicks taking the team to a premiership right now. We all knew this was going to be a year of pain though. And certainly building bridges and better relationships is apparently 1 of his strengths. I'm happy to give him a bit of time to see what he does.

And you need to reflect. The post I replied to was lamenting drafting McAsey over Stephens and actually had nothing to do with Nicks. Nicks wasn't even appointed until after the draft last year

McAsey, Kelly, Jackson?

Look, tbh, I don't hold out much hope of Nicks taking the team to a premiership right now. We all knew this was going to be a year of pain though. And certainly building bridges and better relationships is apparently 1 of his strengths. I'm happy to give him a bit of time to see what he does.

And you need to reflect. The post I replied to was lamenting drafting McAsey over Stephens and actually had nothing to do with Nicks. Nicks wasn't even appointed until after the draft last year
Yeah he was appointed after.

Apparently building bridges is one of his strengths it's just about ALL we have heard! Over and over again.
Wouldve thought that skill would be one of many required to be appointed a senior coach.

Chappy and his band of brothers thought better than to hire a coach from under Clarko (how many flags from his assistants now?) And hire a bloke that hasn't done a thing..

More than one year is going to be long.

McAsey will be our Jeremy McGovern / Alex Rance AA level CHB. Happy to have him.

We could always try and get Stephens to come home.
Home to Red Cliffs?

Will Day might be the one we want to "bring home" in 2 or 3 years given is upside methinks.

Schoenberg with his decent acceleration and Ronin O'Connor with his good speed are the lads we hope will come on in leaps and bounds.

Home to Red Cliffs?

Will Day might be the one we want to "bring home" in 2 or 3 years given is upside methinks.

Schoenberg with his decent acceleration and Ronin O'Connor with his good speed are the lads we hope will come on in leaps and bounds.
Of all the mids recruited over last few years Schoenberg is the one I am excited by .
As was Robertson was sliding he also was the mid would fit in quickly with our rebuild.
Re coaches I hold hope that Nicks can rebuild our team but the assistants left are a massive concern and we need to do some work to fix at season end.

No Kaine Baldwin?

We need an athletic contested marking forward real, real bad....this lad can stick his marks on everything I've ever seen.

He's top of my shopping list of the SA lads (reliant on his recovery from the knee reco) and I reckon South Adelaide's Zac Dumesny is a name we're going to hear a lot more of as the season proceeds....another with attributes we need, elite foot skills and great footballing I.Q. Like Edwards he's got good size, excellent skills and likely to move into the midfield this season.
Is there actually a season to proceed though.

SANFL is starting up again soon as is school footy I believe so hopefully yes.....I also suspect there will be some form of U18 Championships played later in the year all going well.

Let's also see if Port downgrading their Pick 22 allowing the Lions to take Deven Roberson is such a smart move in the long run,

Have a look at Robertson's (blue top) upper body development (beast mode) seen here with my boy Tom Berry....2nd pic cop the biceps.

Think a lot of clubs will regret passing over Robertson, none moreso than Port.

Would have been handy to have him waiting in the wings with Wines leaving at the end of the year.

Home to Red Cliffs?

I saw a photo of O'Connor lining up next to Sloane the other day. That kid's got some serious size already. I can't wait to see what 18 months in a weights room will do to his frame.

I think we should play Mcasey CHF instead of Frampton or himmleberg takes a good contested Mark something we dont have atm. Looks a decent shot at goal too.. can he pinch hit in the ruck? i like him as he can play at both ends and play doedee talia KPD and with bigger KPF team's bring in Hartigan to assist.
You were getting a like from me until the last 5 words