List Mgmt. 2020 List Management, Free Agency & Trade thread

This is Part 1

The thread is continued in part 2:

I think offering a rookie contract vs offering a main list spot is why the rule is in place.

Its basically giving the rookie an option to not stay on as a rookie, this is why we haven't actually seen anyone leave through this rule.
Offering a main list spot (even just to force a trade) is a much smarter move than letting your player go for free.
I think the rule is in place to allow players to move freely when their ability and value is at a primary list position and dissuade clubs from keeping their players with market value on the rookie list since the rookie list carried salary cap concessions.

The interesting case study is Sam Murray who was on Sydney's rookie list for two seasons before being traded to Collingwood. That's the exact rule in play, two years and going into his third, moved via trade. The key fact which I am unable to verify is whether or not Murray had a contract with Sydney at the time for the following season and did he (who had not played a game in two seasons) have a contract offer in place.

From what I've managed to find they did have a contract offer to him for a senior list position.

What’s Narkle and Clark worth? Narkle isn’t a B22, since we got Aish for a third rounder essentially, I’m thinking around that pick again for Narkle?
Not being offered a contract means he will be a delisted free agent as soon as Geelong's seasons ends.

You get him for your last pick in the draft, before the draft, removing the pick entirely.

There's talk Mihocek and Collingwood have pretty much come to an agreement for a three year contract.So I guess it's not happening.

Jesse must stay then it's that simple. Or we put faith in Sturt to be that 3rd Kpf.
Not surprising
Couldn't see why Collingwood would let their most consistent goal kicker go for no apparent reason other than trade picks .

On to the next rumour !
Any good ones ?
Would rather make up shit than talk about cricket on a footy forum 😆

Do you reckon the GWS followers would be as zealous of Cameron as the Blues of Cripps ?
Maybe we could wind them up !

What is the definition of a reliable source? The afl journos are a joke. Isn't that what these forums are about? Id prefer to take the word of a poster who has some sort of history of being right.
Lol. The madness continues. So you think Collingwood list manager is flicking through bigfooty like "holy crap the itk of the freo/collingwood board says Mihocek is a certainty to request a trade to freo. Better offer him some extra cash!"

And possibly Phillips who I have no idea about.

Phillips is like Ed Langdon. Good accumulator and runner on the wings but bad disposal. Apparently on big money which is why the Pies are keen to move him on. I doubt we'll be interested but will trust Jlo's insight on this as he's worked with him first hand.

Lol. The madness continues. So you think Collingwood list manager is flicking through bigfooty like "holy crap the itk of the freo/collingwood board says Mihocek is a certainty to request a trade to freo. Better offer him some extra cash!"
Mate you've lost the plot, what are you on about? Who's saying that? This a forum to discuss potential trades, regardless of where the rumour comes from. If you don't like it, don't read the thread. Simple. People can post their thoughts on here. Who are you to judge whats legit. Both the hogan and the neale rumours were on here before any footy journo got hold of the story, turned out to be legit.

In the games I have seen he has been underwhelming. Not sure what the attraction is.

Probably his name carries some weight. Who wouldn't want a Narkle kicking goals for their team? Ha.

I like his size. He's a solidly built bloke who looks evasive but could also break a tackle. His goal sense isn't too bad.

But it's all based on potential. In the 3 seasons since his AFL debut in 2018, he hasn't played more than 6 games a year.

And interestly, he has never played against Freo.

I like him. Not sure if he fills a need at Freo, but if he can be had cheap, I'd be stoked to see him on our list. Who knows what he would be capable of with a full pre-season of conditioning.

Narkle is a good player IMO, would be perfect for us as that kind of guy who can play a bit of mid and a bit of wing but go forward and kick goals.

Problem is really the injuries. It would be a gamble and we don't have a great track record there.

Mate you've lost the plot, what are you on about? Who's saying that? This a forum to discuss potential trades, regardless of where the rumour comes from. If you don't like it, don't read the thread. Simple. People can post their thoughts on here. Who are you to judge whats legit. Both the hogan and the neale rumours were on here before any footy journo got hold of the story, turned out to be legit.
Obviously you quote people without actually reading the post they have quoted.

Probably his name carries some weight. Who wouldn't want a Narkle kicking goals for their team? Ha.

I like his size. He's a solidly built bloke who looks evasive but could also break a tackle. His goal sense isn't too bad.

But it's all based on potential. In the 3 seasons since his AFL debut in 2018, he hasn't played more than 6 games a year.

And interestly, he has never played against Freo.

I like him. Not sure if he fills a need at Freo, but if he can be had cheap, I'd be stoked to see him on our list. Who knows what he would be capable of with a full pre-season of conditioning.
Geelong is badly in need of a refresh of their list, and have big vacancies opening in their midfield on top of losing Kelly last year. That club is exactly the right place and the right time for a player to emerge, yet he was just delisted.

What’s Narkle and Clark worth? Narkle isn’t a B22, since we got Aish for a third rounder essentially, I’m thinking around that pick again for Narkle?
As I think someone else said, Narkle will either be free or cost a future 4th or similar.

Clark would be expensive. Probably around his draft value (~15) unless they need to move him for cap space which seems unlikely given you wouldn't think he was on that much.
Narkle is a good player IMO, would be perfect for us as that kind of guy who can play a bit of mid and a bit of wing but go forward and kick goals.

Problem is really the injuries. It would be a gamble and we don't have a great track record there.
Look up his stats, he doesn't do any of that. He's one of those players who has 10 touches but a couple of them look good so you think he is better than he is. There is a reason the Cats might not be offering him a new deal.

In any event, widely reported that he wants to go to Melbourne (the city) so it's moot anyway.

When did narkle get delisted? He was sitting in the stands beside Clark and Ratugolea at the weekend? Surely they didn’t delist him in the days before a prelim final?
For what it’s worth he’s just too injury prone for my liking but has shown flashes of real talent at times. Drafted in 2016 (with the pick we gave them for Kersten) so still fairly young.

Fishing the big draw card for Jez Cameron apparently.

Big Rory and LeCras (assuming he is still working with Freo in 2021) need to get on the blower.

5 year contract with chartered trips to the Abrolhos each year written in to it.

As I think someone else said, Narkle will either be free or cost a future 4th or similar.

Clark would be expensive. Probably around his draft value (~15) unless they need to move him for cap space which seems unlikely given you wouldn't think he was on that much.

Look up his stats, he doesn't do any of that. He's one of those players who has 10 touches but a couple of them look good so you think he is better than he is. There is a reason the Cats might not be offering him a new deal.

In any event, widely reported that he wants to go to Melbourne (the city) so it's moot anyway.

I know his stats aren't great, this is my opinion from having watched most of his games, hence why I say in my opinion. I think he's a good player and he's only 22 and has had a lot of injuries hence the sparse stat sheet.

Apparently he had a good game in the Geelong practice match tonight. From the Geelong Trade thread;

watching Narkle play in the game practice tonight..gees he looks classy. Someone will get a bargain.

Still can't find any info on him being delisted. Maybe theGav65 has some secret sauce.