List Mgmt. 2020 List Management, Free Agency & Trade thread

This is Part 1

The thread is continued in part 2:

If you’re Mihochek, why wouldn’t you go to a Norf or Essendon? They need KPF’s, they’d be offering similar money and he could stay in Vic? It makes no sense why he’s linked to us.

1. Both those clubs are a mess at the moment.
2. We seem to have our shit sorted. We could tell him he would help complete us.
3. He respects JL.
4. Money is good enough.
5. Coronavirus realistically affecting movement in Victoria for the next year.

If I’m Mihocek, I’d take less to play at a club that has the best chance at a flag in the 4 good years I’ve got left, biased or not, I’m picking Freo.

Footy journos adamant he's staying with the pies. But that bulldogs poster seems to have his finger on the pulse regarding who freo is looking at.

The situation is Collingwood are in negotiations with his management. They are happy with the 3 year contract term just a big discrepancy on money. A number of clubs circling (incl.) Freo with much more money. When they say more money it is commensurate for a top 10 B&F and leading goal scorer, and the Collingwood money offer is terrible. Collingwood will need to clear some cap space like Tom Phillips etc. and then be able to offer Mihocek closer to the money he deserves.

The report you refer to is that Collingwood remain confident of retaining him. What else would you expect them to say?

Along with others I think if a move for Mihocek was to eventuate (which it may not) then the club would be more willing to deal Hogan at a reasonable deal (equivalent of late first round should be around the mix - certainly not an upgrade of our first pick), but a pick around 18-22).

As Mihocek is on the Rookie list mid to late second round is about fair value. If we trade 28 (or future 2nd) I would hope we could reasonably ask for a late pick back without having to genuinely push the DFA route. PSD isn’t really an option because a bunch of VIC clubs like Essendon and North Melbourne as well as Sydney etc have a pick before us.

With Hogan the initial talk was he wanted to leave. Everyone just assumes Freo want him gone. Neither are prob on the mark but it is realistic that he is tradable - even more so if Mihocek comes. It still remains not a great time to trade Hogan but if we end up with another similar fwd as a result then it is more likely.

Clearly JL was a liked coach at his previous club, so that would hold some weight. There only a few Afl journos that are really trustworthy as well. Barrett and cleary are good for mine. The rest just fabricate things. Pies have a good record of keeping the players they want to. A lot like west coast.

So... Mitch and Riley didn't address the Cripps issue.
Either a case of "nothing to see here" or, "we've been asked to keep silent, and will not lie"
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
I feel that lockdown, and hubbing etc. has affected the media and the ITK's ability to get gossip from pubs, cafe meet ups etc. I fully expect some big curveballs to come up over trade period, purely because it's been easier for clubs to keep things quiet

I reckon Jesse just needs a dad figure, someone he can sit down and blow the froth off a couple with and to throw an arm over his shoulder and say 'Come on mate, maybe it's time to pull your finger out eh? You're gonna have to decide where you want to end up sooner or later, and nobody can decide that for you, you're going to have to be a big boy and figure it out, and no matter what, we'll all support you because none of us want you to be unhappy.' etc.
JLo came to the club with big wraps on his people/relationship skills, I'm backing him in to sit down with young fella and have a heart to heart over summer. Who knows maybe we'll see them having a rest on the floor of a local establishment together at some stage?
Whatever happens, I'd rather see Jesse running around for us next year than getting nothing for him and trading in Mihocek. Yuk.
Rather Cox goes forward.

Also, JDad has a nice ring to it.

There's talk Mihocek and Collingwood have pretty much come to an agreement for a three year contract.So I guess it's not happening.

Jesse must stay then it's that simple. Or we put faith in Sturt to be that 3rd Kpf.
Fyfe as 3rd kpf.

Bailey dale on the wing and get Acres into boxing lessons.

We need to preserve our champion.

I think Mihocek is being offered a spot on Collingwoods main list and therefore won't be free.

It would only be if they were trying to retain him on the rookie list.

See "A Player who is a second year Rookie Player and receives an offer from his Current Club to be retained as a third year Rookie Player but does not accept that offer will be a Free Agent in the relevant year." from Page 112 http://www.aflplayers.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/2017-2022-CBA.pdf

I still expect rule 17.1e to apply to a third year rookie player as it does to second year rookie players.

That being if a contract is offered but not accepted then the player is a free agent.

An agreement has been made with Collingwood apparently. Clearly used us to bump up his pay packet like most.

I still expect rule 17.1e to apply to a third year rookie player as it does to second year rookie players.

That being if a contract is offered but not accepted then the player is a free agent.
I think offering a rookie contract vs offering a main list spot is why the rule is in place.

Its basically giving the rookie an option to not stay on as a rookie, this is why we haven't actually seen anyone leave through this rule.
Offering a main list spot (even just to force a trade) is a much smarter move than letting your player go for free.

Used us? The only thing i have seen is this forum losing it's mind. Nothing legit about him possibly moving here.
What is the definition of a reliable source? The afl journos are a joke. Isn't that what these forums are about? Id prefer to take the word of a poster who has some sort of history of being right.