List Mgmt. 2020 List Management II

We have enough players now who either don’t deserve a list spot or husband present remuneration far exceeds their output. Williams comes with runs on the board and I’d expect the due diligence already done about salary cap space and future player retention needs.

Don’t get me wrong happy to have him but the money he’ll get is top 20 player in the league worth.

Williams is an unbelievable snag if we get it done.. Fingers crossed.

There are no doubts that Saad is an exciting and explosive player.

However do we want someone on big money who would be at their third club? It's a huge risk..

A player requesting a trade to a third club says a bit about the players inability to fit into the culture of the team, also of someone who seeks individuality/personal success opposed to working on their own game to correct their deficiencies to suit the teams needs.

Not sure I'm as sold on this one, he may have once or twice been in the top 50 players in the AFL but has never really set the world on fire. I also question his defensive accountability.. I feel we are lacking in this aspect, in particular a defender who can defend a small nuggety forward, if anything Saad is another offensive weapon, he doesn't address our need to be able to stem the momentum of the opposition (Essendon and Gold Coast defence being an example of that). Not sure he is the right fit for us.

Im not going to argue with you in regards to your assessment of what Saad brings as people’s assessment of attributes will vary, I don’t agree that you need to be cautious in regards to a player leaving his second club though.

Leaving GC to return to Victoria or leaving interstate to return home is a common decision many players make, some don’t like it or don’t adjust to living interstate, when leaving Saad looked after himself and chose a ream that paid a good deal and what he and many thought were on the right track, fast forward 3 years and the club is in a mess and facing a rebuild. Having come from GC who were down the bottom, to go to the Bombers who look like they will be down the bottom, I would be considering my options too.

Personal success is what Drives players, they want to win and win premierships, nothing has been said about Saad from GC to Essendon about him not being able to fit in, that seems a long bow to draw.

Hopefully throwing this up in the right thread. If T Taranto can be shaken from the GWS tree, what do we think about this trade:

- Pick 7 and next years first for T Taranto and a second coming back
- Trade our second rounder and the second rounder from GWS to Geelong for one of their first round picks.
- Geelongs first round pick to Essendon for Saad

I would love this, but i reckon he is one player they would not give up.

Its reported that North would pay the bulk of Polec salary in return for a decent draft pick.. Our 2nd would prob get it done.. I am wary purely because it would be his 4th club.. but apart from that we could do far worse with 2nd runder who will come for free.

If we land Williams and Saad, our best 22 is something along the lines of:

Plowman Jones SPS
Doc Weitering Saad
Walsh Setterfield Newnes
TDK Cripps Williams
Martin Charlie Murphy
Fisher McKay McGovern

Ed Marchbank Jack Williamson

Just don't see where this leaves the likes of Dow and LOB, who would want regular game time but realistically are just depth in a young midfield.

Given we have Cuningham, Stocker, Kemp, Philp, Gibbons in reserve, reckon one if not both need to be trade bait, otherwise who do they displace?

Polec keeps finding new clubs, but never a new gear.

B-grade mid with attitude issues

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Yes agree but if we just accept he is a B grade mid and nothing more, i think the issue at North is they were paying him an A grade salary, and were expecting A grade performance.. He was also going to a side that is a complete basket case and blowing itself up ie where we were 5 years ago.. He left Port for an offer that was way too good to refuse, he left Brisbane when everyone was wanting out of the joint.. Is still only 27 and heaps of footy left in him and would waltz into our best 22 (I would certainly rather him on a wing instead of Murphy) and to give up a 2nd round pick and effectively have him play for free just makes a fair amount of sense to me.

Would anyone be bringing up Ahern if he wasn’t a top 10 pick? I think this is the point, we assume that because someone was a first round pick, that somehow they will come to us on the cheap and come good.
We rolled the dice on many on the back of what to be exact? That’s how I’d feel if we went for Ahern, has shown nothing
Has had some good numbers last year, but didnt get going this year for whatever reason

Its reported that North would pay the bulk of Polec salary in return for a decent draft pick.. Our 2nd would prob get it done.. I am wary purely because it would be his 4th club.. but apart from that we could do far worse with 2nd runder who will come for free.
No f'ing way thanks

If it's true we've landed Williams (I'm still reserved after the Papley and Cogs debacles), then the club just needs to spend everything. Throw our 1st pick at a quality player. Throw future picks. Load up on some 1st team talent THIS trade period.

Forget the draft. It's even more speculative this year than normal. Throw those picks out and load up.

Christ almighty I hope we stay well away from Polec.

He is a C+/B- player on A grade money who is only effective when the game is on his clubs terms. Has no ability defensively, huge front runner and is as soft as out outside players come. Terrified of any contact or close checking.

He starts on the wing over O’Brien for mine. Loved his attack on the footy and delivery inside 50 against the lions on the weekend

LOB isn't best 22 at the moment.
And he may never get there.

Getting williams to nominate so quickly puts some perspective on Simmo's departure. Could perhaps have gone around again but with doc, willo, newman, marchbank and polson all vying for a spot, williams to potentially play there at times, it might have been an abrupt end for kade.
We may be accomodating saad too if the rumours are to be believed.
Right time to go for Simmo I reckon.

On SM-G920I using BigFooty.com mobile app
I suspect if we do get Saad then Polson has played his last game for Carlton, same size, same position but a huge upgrade, sorry Cam.

If we land Williams and Saad, our best 22 is something along the lines of:

Plowman Jones SPS
Doc Weitering Saad
Walsh Setterfield Newnes
TDK Cripps Williams
Martin Charlie Murphy
Fisher McKay McGovern

Ed Marchbank Jack Williamson

Just don't see where this leaves the likes of Dow and LOB, who would want regular game time but realistically are just depth in a young midfield.

Given we have Cuningham, Stocker, Kemp, Philp, Gibbons in reserve, reckon one if not both need to be trade bait, otherwise who do they displace?
Players that are injured? Seems to happen on a regular basis for some reason.

Christ almighty I hope we stay well away from Polec.

He is a C+/B- player on A grade money who is only effective when the game is on his clubs terms. Has no ability defensively, huge front runner and is as soft as out outside players come. Terrified of any contact or close checking.

Fair enough, I just look at quite a few of our fringe mids LOB, Fish, Dow, SPS, Cottrell, Murphy and Polec even if he has deficiencies would still be an upgrade.

Spot on would prefer Graham!
Yep Graham is the one we really need, hard as a cats head, can play inside/outside, wing or forward, great disposal, the man that Riewoldt nominated as his preferred player to kick to him, mainly used in defensive type roles by Richmond and has huge upside as an offensive weapon, a direct replacement for both Ed and Murph as he has a good mix of both. Get him it’s a game changer imo.