Strategy 2021 Draft and Hypothetical pick trade proposals

Lol seriously can we just have a ban on posting things ol clickbait Kornes says…

none of it is interesting and it’s all designed to just stir people up.

Hodgey wants a new rule! Hodgey gets a new rule.

No more clickbait shit from Cornes in here.

Also:
Can we also threadban Rendell quotes. The bloke is senile.
Done ✔️

Talk about Adelaide splitting 4 for 7 and 15. We should get in on that with our pick 5. Then only need one trade to end up with 5 in top 25.

How though?

If they already have 4 on the table how do we work our way in to it?

If nothing else to piss the $tains off and f$&k up their Dawson trade. Payback for driving up Ladhams price when they don't need another ruck.

I don't know why posters were so adament against Ladhams. Obviously the price has to be right but if we did give up pick 24 (probably a little overs on exposed form but trading is never 50/50), we recruit a strong ruck/forward option for the next ten years. I always thought he was quite good watching him at Port, so I am a little dissapointed the interest (from both ends) seemed to have waned. I am not as bullish on Reeves as everyone else, and Ceglar (looks to be gone) and McEvoy are close to the end.

I'd be looking at GWS pick more so than Crows pick. That get's us Callaghan, who you would think is our No.1 target. If Tigers are happy doing 4 for 7 & 15, I'm assuming GWS aren't taking 5 and 21 for 2.
Personally just don't think it happens, trading up is so hard. Maybe if it is true they want Mac it is possible they trade back a few spots?

Do you actually know stuff or are you just constantly posturing? It's getting pretty annoying. If you do actually know something, provide a smidge of context like some people have been generous enough to do e.g., I heard from me old fling down Alberton way that Ladhams is ___[insert valuable insight]____.
If not, perhaps a few qualifiers or hedging phrases could help you e.g. I believe, IMO, I reckon ... among numerous other options.

Yours sincerely,
Someone who is trying to figure out if you know something or if you are just someone who is really sure of themselves.
From a good source.

If we get the deal of the century we will have the hard conversation with our players but in this trade period the deal of the century is no chance and for example if GWS offered pick 2 for Tom he would say no as he won’t move back to Sydney. Gunston also does not want to move interstate. If a Brisbane had cap space and could offer him $4m over 5 years would that change his mind? Who knows but they don’t have the cap space anyway.

Salary cap wise we would only look to pay a very small amount if it got us a higher draft pick. Maybe $50 000 for Cegs gets us pick 41 instead of 59.

All our players are really happy and excited for 2022. That won’t always be the case at footy clubs so we won’t rock the boat.

I don't know why posters were so adament against Ladhams. Obviously the price has to be right but if we did give up pick 24 (probably a little overs on exposed form but trading is never 50/50), we recruit a strong ruck/forward option for the next ten years. I always thought he was quite good watching him at Port, so I am a little dissapointed the interest (from both ends) seemed to have waned. I am not as bullish on Reeves as everyone else, and Ceglar (looks to be gone) and McEvoy are close to the end.
I would love to know how many of the fans that were so adamant we should go no where near him have watched much of him, wouldn't be surprised if some couldn't even pick him out in a line up tbh.

From a good source.

If we get the deal of the century we will have the hard conversation with our players but in this trade period the deal of the century is no chance and for example if GWS offered pick 2 for Tom he would say no as he won’t move back to Sydney. Gunston also does not want to move interstate. If a Brisbane had cap space and could offer him $4 over 5 years would that change his mind? Who knows but they don’t have the cap space anyway.

Salary cap wise we would only look to pay a very small amount if it got us a higher draft pick. Maybe $50 000 for Cegs gets us pick 41 instead of 59.

All our players are really happy and excited for 2022. That won’t always be the case at footy clubs so we won’t rock the boat.
$4 over 5 years seems low…think Centrelink would give him a better offer to be unemployed

If we don’t lose a big name for a early pick in the trade period I think we should consider trading our 2022 first rounder for a pick inside the top 6 this year if anyone will do it. The only way I think it would be risky is if we were losing Mitchell or Wingard… keeping everyone makes it worth the risk IMO.

From a good source.

If we get the deal of the century we will have the hard conversation with our players but in this trade period the deal of the century is no chance and for example if GWS offered pick 2 for Tom he would say no as he won’t move back to Sydney. Gunston also does not want to move interstate. If a Brisbane had cap space and could offer him $4 over 5 years would that change his mind? Who knows but they don’t have the cap space anyway.

That's really interesting to read...thanks..
I think it's pretty clear, (only in my opinion) there is no real determination from other clubs to get hold of the players we're open to good offers on. I think the salary cap reduction has stymied the player movement in a big way.
I don't think GWS would have an interest in TOM in any case given they're blessed with inside mids, with Hopper, Greene, Taranto, Warde, it's not a position they're lacking in. I'd have thought Gunston would be valuable for them but given he's not keen on a move that may rule that out.

If we don’t lose a big name for a early pick in the trade period I think we should consider trading our 2022 first rounder for a pick inside the top 6 this year if anyone will do it. The only way I think it would be risky is if we were losing Mitchell or Wingard… keeping everyone makes it worth the risk IMO.
Please No. If we're bad next year, and there is a real chance we will be, do you fancy going through the year knowing our pick is in the hands of another club ? Ask Pies supporters how they feel about that ...Keep 2022 first above anything would be my advice.

But imagine going well and seeing that pick winning the rising star and helping us make the 8!

Gunston also does not want to move interstate. If a Brisbane had cap space and could offer him $4 over 5 years would that change his mind? Who knows but they don’t have the cap space anyway.
I'm a little torn on this one... I'm generally of the belief that if you're undergoing upheaval (Wright + Clarko + Bolton + Macrae gone in 12 months), then you may as well get it all over & done with at once - no point being back here in 2yrs time & having to re-create havoc.

But... I'm also pretty happy with the above. Gunston is the only senior player that I would've been comfortable moving on & even then - if his back is going to be fine - I'd rather keep him (on account of poor trade value). I'm really confident what this list can do next year (assuming fit) with a new Coach & direction.

I really, really hope we get in on a straight out salary-dump trade for a player/position of need (Darcy Macpherson @ Gil Coast be perfect), as well as using a Future Pick to get us another one in this Draft.

We can strengthen our list with a couple of small-medium additions.

Yeah I understand that but we’ll be going in with a full fit and healthy list. The Pies were destined for fall after what happened at the end of 2020. I cannot see us having a worse year than last year