Strategy 2021 Draft and Hypothetical pick trade proposals

Lol seriously can we just have a ban on posting things ol clickbait Kornes says…

none of it is interesting and it’s all designed to just stir people up.

Hodgey wants a new rule! Hodgey gets a new rule.

No more clickbait shit from Cornes in here.

Also:
Can we also threadban Rendell quotes. The bloke is senile.
Done ✔️

He’s pretty connected at the Blues but turns out they are confident… not confirmed. But yeah I took that bait 🤦🏻‍♂️ Sorry guys, I should have held fire!
All good mate. Will watch this space with intrigue. Blues confident like they were confident they would play finals carlolololololton

Ideas for upgrading the best 22 for 2022 cheaply:

1) Talia from the crows as a free agent. Should be an upgrade on hartigan unless completely cooked. Talia takes Fullback and Hartigan replaces hartley as the back up.

2) Silvagni from the blues if they can't reach a contractual agreement. He's a fairly good/solid mid-sized forward who can sort of do it everywhere.

3) Bailey Banfield from freo. Not entirely sure why he wasn't playing early this year but only played the last 6 or so games of 2021.

4) Charlie Constable from Geelong. Good player and just cannot get a game ahead of the likes of Higgins, Smithy and the older brigade.

5) Quinton Narkle. His spot is there at Geelong but it could be safer elsewhere. Starting as the sub every other week would surely be taking a toll on Narkle.

6) Robbie Tarrant from North UFA. A big upgrade on Hartigan at full back if you thought you could challenge.

7) Billings possibly underachieving at St Kilda. Has talent and would be ahead of Hanrahan one might think.

You really dont like hartigan huh?

How do the blues have spare cash for Cerra?

What am I missing?

Re-signed Mackay, Cripps, C.Curnow, Weitering, Docherty medium-long term all on presumably at least decent coin.

Brought in Saad, Martin, Mcgovern and Williams all on presumably good coin in recent years.

I get that other players are going to leave and free up space like Betts, Casboult etc. Still seems odd that the blues could afford to bring in so many seemingly expensive recruits year after year.
I am confused and perplexed as well.

Probably the old brown paper bag deals and Elliott is back in their system🤔

He’s pretty connected at the Blues but turns out they are confident… not confirmed. But yeah I took that bait 🤦🏻‍♂️ Sorry guys, I should have held fire!
I reckon you will or source will he proven right.

Clarko can put a spin on things as well about taking time off as he was with his 30 min presser about sticking around and loyal to the transition and staying put.

Would not surprise next week he is announced Carltank Head coach😁

How do the blues have spare cash for Cerra?

What am I missing?

Re-signed Mackay, Cripps, C.Curnow, Weitering, Docherty medium-long term all on presumably at least decent coin.

Brought in Saad, Martin, Mcgovern and Williams all on presumably good coin in recent years.

I get that other players are going to leave and free up space like Betts, Casboult etc. Still seems odd that the blues could afford to bring in so many seemingly expensive recruits year after year.
Trades for Cerra, not enough money to keep Walsh. Wouldn’t that be awesome

That would have been swallowed up by the Cripps, McKay and Walsh re-signings, no?
They'll back end it.....the modern way.

McGovern is the one on the massive deal that hurts them. 4 year deal for $800k a season!

That ends next year, so they'll have more room to fit in Cerra

Not super across points and the whole trade thing but, Gunston and 24 for Brisbane's 18 and 47?

Improves our hand and some risk mitigation for them? Gives us 46,56,62 to improve someones points position?

View attachment 1215296

Gunston for 18 would be more realistic. It will become roughly pick 21 on draft night which is potentially a fair deal.

Not super across points and the whole trade thing but, Gunston and 24 for Brisbane's 18 and 47?

Improves our hand and some risk mitigation for them? Gives us 46,56,62 to improve someones points position?

View attachment 1215296

Don't mind it although I'd push for their future 2nd instead which will likely be around pick 30.

Gunston + 24 for 18 + future 2nd

I think with another interrupted under 18s season we should look at trying to get as many picks into next year's draft with the hope of a full season and championships played.

We love to undervalue our players.
yeah, he's had back surgery and only played 1 game this year, so let's trade him for pick 100 and a bottle of gatorade

Missing a year through injury doesn't destroy his value. Does it lessen it? Yes, a little. But he's still a freaking gun.

yeah, he's had back surgery and only played 1 game this year, so let's trade him for pick 100 and a bottle of gatorade

Missing a year through injury doesn't destroy his value. Does it lessen it? Yes, a little. But he's still a freaking gun.
I’ve said it before. He’s a match winner. Give him 4 shots inside 50 in a final and it could be the difference between a win and loss.

Michael Hurley had back surgery 4 years ago.....went on and played good footy

Jamie Elliot had back surgery 5 years ago.....went on and played good footy

Jack Bytel had back surgery 3 years ago....has come on and now Saints best 22.

Why is this a perceived death sentence for some posters and thus having his trade value plummeting?