Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion

Tom highmore is still eligible as well. I reckon he has been pretty stiff a couple of times. Essendons kids are overrated. Ours have been more consistent
Is he??? I thought he was too old. If he is eligible that’s an even bigger disgrace. **** Essendon.

and frankly **** the AFL.

Is he??? I thought he was too old. If he is eligible that’s an even bigger disgrace. fu** Essendon.

and frankly fu** the AFL.
He must be because there are odds on him. He should of got it against the crows. He is paying 151 bucks. Archie Perkins is 26 bucks. I’ll take Byrnes and highmore over Perkins and Cox any day

Oh and before any of you high and mighty "nothing is wrong with the AFL, it's not a conspiracy, Byrnes doesn't deserve it" types come here and spout your sh*t let me just say I know all of that - I'm just having a big melt over the fact that nobody gives a fu** about our players apart from us.....

and that shits me.

right-in-front-of-me.gif

Grrrr I get that Archie Perkins had a break out game on the weekend and that he plays for the much more attractive "in the eyes of the media" * but how when you have a player who has offered consistently good output over the last few weeks in Ryan Byrnes do you justify this.

Because he doesn't have the "sexy" pies, blues or cats or bombers or tigers as his team, nobody even knows who the campaigner is. Since coming into the team this year he's averaged 16 disposals, he's been getting in the goals in recent weeks and is continuously overlooked.

Meanwhile you have campaigners like Scholl, that sydney prick, that other prick and Luke Jackson I think (I dunno, I'm too pissed off to research it properly) that have been nominated TWO years in a row. We only have like six rounds left and unless we have an eye catching win when he plays well he will miss out on a nom and will be ineligible next eyar.

Last year it took Max King til round twelve or some sh*t to finally get a nomination - our kids are absolutely NEVER looked at. It drives me absolutely mad. Nothing against Archie but the way I look at it is you should reward players who are in good form over those having breakout games.

I know he's no chance of winning the rising star coz he hasn't played every game but I'd like to get the acknowledgment that he is a terrific player - we all know it at St Kilda but nobody else knows and it's BULLSHIT.

The Rising Star is a ******* joke. It's just a popularity contest and honestly it should hold no weight - maybe one in every four years the rising star actually goes on to have a brilliant career. They need to overhaul it and look at picking two or three players a week, not ******* 23 nominees over the whole year. So you're telling me that only 23 blokes out of the hundred people eligible deserve to have the opportunity to win it?!!
I honestly reckon Max was stiff not to win it last year.

I've completely fallen down the rabbit hole. This stuff is awesome.

Would you believe that 1 year after formation, we now had to actually kick the ball to score instead of faux ruby run it through?

AFL history screwing us over since the very beginning by changing rules.

Harold Dangerfield lays on his back after superman diving in an attempt to earn a free kick as William Selwood prepares to take the ball with head in a ducking position to try and milk one himself.

St Kilda had a Gordon Dangerfield in the early days. I have wondered if they were related.

Oh and before any of you high and mighty "nothing is wrong with the AFL, it's not a conspiracy, Byrnes doesn't deserve it" types come here and spout your sh*t let me just say I know all of that - I'm just having a big melt over the fact that nobody gives a fu** about our players apart from us.....

and that shits me.
Much prefer for no one to rate our players and they fly under the radar… couldn't give a shit what most people think, just want us to belt other sides.

Much prefer for no one to rate our players and they fly under the radar… couldn't give a sh*t what most people think, just want us to belt other sides.
We got some ripper young talent. Highmore, byrnes, bytel, Clarke, coffeild, Connolly, king and gresh all 23 or under. Not bad. Imagine if they played for Essendon

Yep for all the wank about us topping up and having an old list, we just pumped the best team in the comp, interstate.

We only had 3 players with over 150 games experience and 1 player over 28 years of age.

Of our 8 oldest players only Ryder was playing last match and we have Clark, Bytel, Coffield, Paton, Battle and Gresham to come back into the side.

The media and wider footy community can do as they please.

Yep for all the wank about us topping up and having an old list, we just pumped the best team in the comp, interstate.

We only had 3 players with over 150 games experience and 1 player over 28 years of age.

Of our 8 oldest players only Ryder was playing last match and we have Clark, Bytel, Coffield, Paton, Battle and Gresham to come back into the side.

The media and wider footy community can do as they please.
Yeah I forgot battle and Paton. When we were being shat on by the media earlier in the year I wish they did there own research. Some of those top up players will leave at the end of the year and we will add some 18 year old. All of a sudden we are a young list just like magic. We have nailed so late draft picks. Everything is moving pretty well

The problem with kids is that they're unpredictable. Last year Coff was heading in AA direction, this year he can't get a game. The same could happen for all of our kids next year and we'll be back in a hole. Or they could all keep progressing and we'll be serious contenders.

Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion