2021 Non-Crows AFL Discussion Part 1: we can have lots of fun!

Same reason political journalists rarely ask probing questions. It's an industry that lines their pockets.

I've said this before on here but I work in a journalism-adjacent field in a totally different industry... and the conduct of sports journalists is absolutely disgusting and a blight on the profession.

I have not come across an industry as poorly covered as Australian sport. The amount of shilling, ass licking rubbish that is sprouted from basically paid mouthpieces of sporting bodies is abysmal and sports journalists should be ashamed of calling themselves anything other than blatant marketers.

Tom Browne asks Scott about the decision.

Scott says "Oh didn't really see it." (Standard response from the coach, no worries there)

Tom Browne follow up:

"Blicavs thought he didn't have prior, bit there was some conjecture"

That's it. This is Channel 7's marquee boundary reporter, addressing a blatant holding the ball error that cost the match.

FMD.
Hang on..the same scott that rides every play in a game like his life depends on it..and we are expected to believe he missed that. I think it would have added extra grey to that mane he is growing until tbe ump made no call

I've said this before on here but I work in a journalism-adjacent field in a totally different industry... and the conduct of sports journalists is absolutely disgusting and a blight on the profession.

I have not come across an industry as poorly covered as Australian sport. The amount of shilling, ass licking rubbish that is sprouted from basically paid mouthpieces of sporting bodies is abysmal and sports journalists should be ashamed of calling themselves anything other than blatant marketers.

Correct

I reckon they came out an apologised during the week after that game.

We'd already lost of course but at least they pretended

Yeah kind of like when Adelaide United played Melbourne Victory in the A league Grandfinal over in Melbourne and lost 0-1 after our main striker was sent off in the first minutes of the match. FFA apologised and the red card was overturned, but of course not the result.

In my opinion in situations like that 2012 prelim where there is official question of the officiating of the game a change in the result should be considered, or better yet a replay.

Most games are officiated pretty fairly even if there are poor decisions; In the instances where they aren't officiated fairly, and obviously so, it is difficult to consider the game a real contest and therefore it follows that the result itself shouldn't be considered legitimate either.

Everyone makes mistakes, but there is a difference between making mistakes and repeatedly making lots of mistakes that generally seem to favour the same parties.

Because it is so insular and close knit.

Got to remember we are a small country and the professional sports industry is even smaller.

Stray to far from the company line and look for work in another industry.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

The worst part of the way this event is being covered in the media is that angling into the public reaction would result in MORE views, clicks, ad sales. So they aren't covering the blatant error in a way that favors the usual "clickbait" metrics of today. Now I don't agree with those tactics normally, but not even attempting that angle is highly suspicious to me.

Could you imagine the reaction to an article like this?

Blatant umpiring error costs Brisbane AFL win

An umpiring error in the dying stages of Friday's Geelong vs Brisbane blockbuster handed Geelong a one point victory. Fans are describing the blatant missed call for incorrect disposal against Geelong's Mark Blicavs as "corruption" and "cheating", while several commentators described the incident as "clearly a mistake".

That's the norm for non-sport journalism as well. Probably only a handful of actually critical, good, and selfless journalists in the country.

Because it is so insular and close knit.

Got to remember we are a small country and the professional sports industry is even smaller.

Stray to far from the company line and look for work in another industry.

I don't buy this reason. I work in what could be described as a "close knit" and "insular" industry and I would be disgusted in myself if I conducted my reporting like sports journalists do.

The real reason is that sports journalists are terrified of having their access taken away.

And they have let themselves get into that position. It's a disgrace

The worst part of the way this event is being covered in the media is that angling into the public reaction would result in MORE views, clicks, ad sales. So they aren't covering the blatant error in a way that favors the usual "clickbait" metrics of today. Now I don't agree with those tactics normally, but not even attempting that angle is highly suspicious to me.

Could you imagine the reaction to an article like this?

Blatant umpiring error costs Brisbane AFL win

An umpiring error in the dying stages of Friday's Geelong vs Brisbane blockbuster handed Geelong a one point victory. Fans are describing the blatant missed call for incorrect disposal against Geelong's Mark Blicavs as "corruption" and "cheating", while several commentators described the incident as "clearly a mistake".

They don't want to miss out on their 30 pieces of silver.

I don't buy this reason. I work in what could be described as a "close knit" and "insular" industry and I would be disgusted in myself if I conducted my reporting like sports journalists do.

The real reason is that sports journalists are terrified of having their access taken away.

And they have let themselves get into that position. It's a disgrace
That is what I meant.

Lose their job/access if they don't toe the line.

Being a relatively small industry you have to comply.

Particularly the AFL.

That is what I meant.

Lose their job/access if they don't toe the line.

Being a relatively small industry you have to comply.

Particularly the AFL.

That's incorrect. They don't have to comply.

The correct response to any company/organization trying to dictate editorial direction to journalists is to expose those organizations and their conduct.

The fact this hasn't happened is spineless

Slightly off umpiring, but I was puzzled by the McDonald injury sub in the last, bringing on a quick player.
I thought the rule was for a serious injury?
However, McDonald was injured early (ankle) and continued to play steadfastly after that. I don't reckon that he had a second injury after that which would have justified him being subbed, so the question is how the hell can he be legally subbed for an existing, evidently non-serious injury?

This seemed to be cynical manipulation of the rule by Brisbane to gain a tactical advantage.

Dead easy way to stop that, injured players who are subbed miss the next two matches

That's the norm for non-sport journalism as well. Probably only a handful of actually critical, good, and selfless journalists in the country.

There was a time when journalists spoke truth to power. The elites hated them. They were rough, hard-edged. Now journalists are owned by media companies, who also own the subjects they're reporting on (whether it be the sport, or the political party, or the industry). Incestuous and the antithesis of journalists. Basically propagandists.

You'd probably get fairer decisions from this guy

danny-davis.jpg

(corrupt ref from the WWF for people who don't get the reference)
I am surprised you didn't bring up the Montreal screwjob from WWF survivor series 1997.
Does anyone have the stats for that infamous Troy Pannell game against the Bulldogs...

Ive been to the footy for nearly 30 years and that would be hands down, the ABSOLUTE worst game I've ever been too.
yep I remember that game well as I watched it live at the casino in 2016. My crows mate was drunk and slammed his scotch glass in disgrace.
Paid 17 to Bulldogs, 1 to Adelaide
exactly..... Troy Pannell gave only 18 free kicks in the 1st 3 quarters of that game. 17 to the dogs and 1 to the crows.
19-1 in favor of the dogs wasn't it from that cazzo
nope it was 17-1 to the dogs. I still remembered that final quarter as well. Crows were denied 2 free kicks in a space of 20 seconds. 1st Rory Sloane head was taken off then Eddie Betts was pushed in the back.

That's incorrect. They don't have to comply.

The correct response to any company/organization trying to dictate editorial direction to journalists is to expose those organizations and their conduct.

The fact this hasn't happened is spineless
Not in the artificial sports journalism world.

I agree, in other industries you are correct.

How long do you think Tom Browne (or another journo) keeps his job when he follows up with a question calling out Scott's claim of not seeing it with anything stronger than wet lettuce.

This is why I pay minimal attention to Footy media. Most of it is just trash. Minimal value to the game.