List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Targets

If that is true it makes kern sound like a kid in a schoolyard playground, if the club gives Ladhams away over BS like that the player will be 25 and coming into his prime by the time the coach should be on the scrap heap.

I believe a club needs 3 genuine ruckmen on their list, it's not that long ago our lead ruck was the Prince Harry lookalike who we dragged from West Adelaide's magoos as the last ruckman standing, and his back ups were Westhoff and Trengove who were both regularly smashed by genuine rucks, particularly at centre bounce downs.

If we unload Ladhams we would be left with a 29 yo Lycett, who this season couldn't jump over a jam tin and may have only a few years left in him anyway and an untried Hayes, with a 31 yo Dixon, who could break down at anytime, and Finlayson who is a pinch hitter at best as a ruckman at AFL level as their back ups.

It's true. The moment he got dropped for Marshall he had a real crack at him.
I just think a Hayes/Ladhams combination will be one of the best in the future.

Can't see the crows doing this and blowing collateral for next year's bid on Rankine/Lukosius

Before the Walker racist incident Rankine’s family wanted him nowhere near the crows. The way the franchise handled it and with the flog still playing there next season, Rankine will not be nominating them. I would doubt many, if any indigenous players would voluntarily go there. The only indigenous players the crows are getting in the next few years are the ones that are forced to go there via the draft. Actions have consequences and they are fools if they think that their brand and attraction has not been significantly tarnished.

As for Luko, he wants to play for Port.

So Ladhams, a player who has done nothing in his career but put in mediocre shifts as a forward/ruck, decides to stand up to the senior coach?

I’ve got a better idea Pete - worry about your own game. Plenty enough there to keep you busy.

I mean given that the senior coach has done nothing in his career but put in mediocre shifts as a "work hardery motivator" they don't seem too far from equal.

Maybe so, but if Ladhams is gone, who leads the first ruck when if Lycett is out? Obviously for a short period you would give the job to Hayes, but he is untried at AFL level and it would be a big ask to expect him to step straight up and carry the first ruck for an extended period. And then if Hayes gets injured, we're back in Trengove leading the ruck territory.

If we're not willing to absorb some risk that our highly touted, SANFL Best & Fairest ruckman, entering his fifth year, may have to ruck a significant proportion of a season, that is genuine fold the club up entirely material.

What so we should pick up one of their rejects and be done with it? As much as I have loved Hammer, he just isn’t best 22 or even best 28. Picking off our discards has t really worked out well for the franchise in the past.

Billy Frampton wants to fight you!

[
If your trading in someone, you usually want a guaranteed player, where with Ladhams he could still be anything.
Ladhams is a guaranteed player. He’s already made it as a player and isn’t a bust.
The question mark really is how good is he going to be?
Surprised Brisbane haven’t expressed an interest in Ladhams.

They don’t have the strongest ruck line up at all, their backup Archie Smith retired, Hipwood out for next year with his ACL and left with Mcinerney who is solid but would think Ladhams develops well past him.

They have 2 x firsts and I think pick 18 is pretty bang on for him (14 too high).

Straight swap 18 (becomes 20) for Ladhams.
they’ve invested so much into mcinerney and he’s turned into a pretty decent unit.
While I reckon Ladhams could go past him, I don’t think there’s a reason to go after a young ruck when you’ve already got a young-ish ruck in the role doing alright. It would just be a waste of resources that they should put into other positions.
Not sure how true this is but

It’s not.
They where multiple sources claiming yesterday that ladhams management were speaking to Sydney. Ladhams management don’t work for Port. They work for Ladhams.
Ladhams for Mitchell. I'd do that.
nah

I could argue that it was evident this year that wines, drew , Boak are too many one paced average kicking mids and that we also held spp out of that unit cause we felt that’s too many not so great kicks in the one midfield.

we can’t add Mitchell to that group and have a good balance unless we ditch boak and why would we do that? And hold spp out or trade him for peanuts. Or piss drew out of the midfield.

and if Mitchell is for life after boak we piss 2022 away being unbalanced, don’t get midfield exposure into our young mids and go into 2023 with Mitchell turning 30, possibly a new coach and new gameplan and bugger all midfield development into our next gen.

I don’t see a big gain from trading a young tall. I see exacerbated problems that we are already facing.

I wouldn't have done this deal. It was reported as a giveaway when North were involved.

Jesus Christ. If Clark is worth pick 19 (even if late picks go the other way) than Ladhams worth way way way more than that.
One is a flanker defender with rumoured attitude issues who won’t defend and isn’t getting games at a club who recruited senior citizens to play his position and the other is a ruck kf who will take 1st ruck spot at quite a few other clubs.

also SPP >>>>> Clark as well.

Still seems a massive giveaway in Freo's favour to me. Presuming that pick 19 goes to Geelong for Clark, Freo essentially get Clark and Brodie for next year's 2nd.

Suns get what, more cap space and a couple more picks next year but lose an end of first rounder to do it.
2022 2nd rounder >>>>> pick 19 this year imo.
Suns don’t need heaps of picks this year anyway, they’ll clear some more players next off season and next years draft has more players that they need.

It’s just silly to trade spp for a useless pick. Why bother unless we get something remotely decent

Ladhams is clearly worth more at the trade table then Jordan Clark

So Ladhams, a player who has done nothing in his career but put in mediocre shifts as a forward/ruck, decides to stand up to the senior coach?

I’ve got a better idea Pete - worry about your own game. Plenty enough there to keep you busy.
Sounds like ladhams should be made captain/coach

Carlton could have Fremantle midfielder Adam Cerra by the end of the day.
The Herald Sun and AFL.com.au are reporting the Blues and Dockers have almost completed a deal with Cerra to head to Carlton for pick six in this year’s draft and some other pick swaps. Time will tell whether the deal is done today or whether those pick swaps could take longer to finalise.

List Mgmt. 2021 Trade Targets