List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

Surely the concern is that at his listed 181cm height he will have limited marking ability against men?

If he is 181cm he is 4cm shorter than Jack Martin and only 1cm taller than Matt Owies.

Jamie Elliott is 178cm. Hotton has similar burst on a lead, strong hands and leap. I don't see his height as an issue

Nothing alike, Campo had better vision, composure and footskills
Geez mate. We all have our likes and dislikes, and our opinions, but this is just so far off. Far off my observations and that of a great many decent draft watchers. He played inside during the bulk of the championships, not off a wing, he played there under age, where he had the reputation of an elite user.

The other consideration is comparing players from different eras. There is so very much more congestion in the game today. In Campo’s day, we all played our positions. Today half of the team are pseudo on-ballers. Forwards flood back and a decent number of defenders play largely offensive roles. The levels of composure you refer to are very rare in the modern game unless playing behind the ball.

I happily pass on why I prefer one player over another, particularly from a perception of our needs. To state an opinion as fact to emphasise a contra view is mischievous.

Hotton fits perfectly into our squad, dangerous as a marking forward or HHF and can rotate through the middle

Has Archie Perkin attributes, but can also play as a rebound defender
Your first line is appropriate. Hotton is more hybrid forward than mid at this stage. While I wouldn’t discount him playing midfield as he is a “goer”, he can crumb to a high level and take an excellent mark for his size. The thing is question for his ceiling at the next level would be defensive mindset and workrate. None has been on show during the championship games. I am not dismissing it off hand, but has not been on display until now. It has not needed to be with the game style in the under 18’s. He has been an offensive weapon.

I like Hotton, but there are question marks which suggest to me late first of early second rounder. I have seen nothing to suggest he is a defensive rebounder.

I originally watched both Hotton and Hollands (prior to Acres signing) as prospective
wingers and deduced Hollands could, but Hotton doesn’t show the traits, especially positional discipline. He did show some outstanding forward skills and smarts. Certainly nice to have, but is it a first pick priority. As Arr0w has agreed watching for a pure winger drew my attention to Darcy Edmends who has received little press. No longer a prime need, although I am keen to add a midfielder who could play early off a wing, half back or half forward. Hollands is that player as is Phillipou at the other end if he slides.

Geez mate. We all have our likes and dislikes, and our opinions, but this is just so far off. Far off my observations and that of a great many decent draft watchers. He played inside during the bulk of the championships, not off a wing, he played there under age, where he had the reputation of an elite user.

I don't see him as an elite user, over the last 2 years. What I see is great endurance, amazing workrate defensively, willingness to get to the next contest. Hollands is naturally an inside type, but that doesn't mean he can't improve his composure and ball use to be a wingman

The other consideration is comparing players from different eras. There is so very much more congestion in the game today. In Campo’s day, we all played our positions. Today half of the team are pseudo on-ballers. Forwards flood back and a decent number of defenders play largely offensive roles. The levels of composure you refer to are very rare in the modern game unless playing behind the ball.

I happily pass on why I prefer one player over another, particularly from a perception of our needs. To state an opinion as fact to emphasise a contra view is mischievous.

Not stating an opinion as fact, not even recruiters are capable of that as we don't know how they will develop, but Campo's footskills are way beyond what Hollands as shown

Your first line is appropriate. Hotton is more hybrid forward than mid at this stage. While I wouldn’t discount him playing midfield as he is a “goer”, he can crumb to a high level and take an excellent mark for his size. The thing is question for his ceiling at the next level would be defensive mindset and workrate. None has been on show during the championship games. I am not dismissing it off hand, but has not been on display until now. It has not needed to be with the game style in the under 18’s. He has been an offensive weapon.

I like Hotton, but there are question marks which suggest to me late first of early second rounder. I have seen nothing to suggest he is a defensive rebounder.

Hotton doesn't have the defensive side of Hollands, but it isn't poor. Hotton has played as a rebounding defender. Then he transitioned to playing through the middle and in the last 12 months hss been working on his forward craft. I think he has huge upside, much more than Hollands

I originally watched both Hotton and Hollands (prior to Acres signing) as prospective
wingers and deduced Hollands could, but Hotton doesn’t show the traits, especially positional discipline. He did show some outstanding forward skills and smarts. Certainly nice to have, but is it a first pick priority. As Arr0w has agreed watching for a pure winger drew my attention to Darcy Edmends who has received little press. No longer a prime need, although I am keen to add a midfielder who could play early off a wing, half back or half forward. Hollands is that player as is Phillipou at the other end if he slides.

Edmends, like Dowling is criminally underrated. Edmends doesn't get a heap of the pill, but his composure and ball use on both sides of the body is similar to Sidebottom

Dowling, I rate him late first early second, but will probably be drafted mid to late 3rd round

His decision making in terms of disposal is elite, can play in any arc, as well as inside or balanced mid.

Picking Hollands for need is not necessarily the wrong decision. There will always be an opportunity cost, missing out on Mckenzie etc. He just looks a 150 game lock in a position(s) we do not have covered.

Could someone compare Hollands to Camporeale in 1995

I reckon Mackenzie and our Hewett play a near identical style of football.

Agree he looks a very safe bet to make it at AFL level and I would be content with taking him at 11. In saying that we will get some big trade offers should he slide.

We’re in a good position.

I don't see him as an elite user, over the last 2 years. What I see is great endurance, amazing workrate defensively, willingness to get to the next contest. Hollands is naturally an inside type, but that doesn't mean he can't improve his composure and ball use to be a wingman

Not stating an opinion as fact, not even recruiters are capable of that as we don't know how they will develop, but Campo's footskills are way beyond what Hollands as shown

Hotton doesn't have the defensive side of Hollands, but it isn't poor. Hotton has played as a rebounding defender. Then he transitioned to playing through the middle and in the last 12 months hss been working on his forward craft. I think he has huge upside, much more than Hollands

Edmends, like Dowling is criminally underrated. Edmends doesn't get a heap of the pill, but his composure and ball use on both sides of the body is similar to Sidebottom

Dowling, I rate him late first early second, but will probably be drafted mid to late 3rd round

His decision making in terms of disposal is elite, can play in any arc, as well as inside or balanced mid.
Gerard Healy on his new radio show mentioned Dowling a couple of times…got the feeling he knows of some who are pretty interested.

Not surprised. Just racks up possessions at will and has decent scoreboard impact

More footballer than athlete at this stage, but still has a nice step and covers the ground well due to his reading of the play

Still can’t get excited watching further highlights of Hollands.

Feel like a broken record, but a lot of the vision centres around him being slightly smarter than his opponents on transition and having decent defensive awareness. These aren’t especially bad traits, but they won’t be a point of difference at AFL level.

Kicking looks than better expected, but he also won’t have the kind of space he’s afforded currently and he also does have a tendency to loop the ball a bit.

Feel like him being put up as a top end pick - along with someone like Cam McKenzie - indicates a fairly shallow top end.

I’d be comfortable taking him as a late first/early second but he has to be one of the more middling prospective Top 10 picks I can recall.
I tend to agree with all of that re Hollands. I watched the Vic Country/Allies and the Vic Country/SA replays during the week, and was not that impressed what I saw from someone who is touted as a top 10 pick. The Allies game he was pretty much non existent, and the SA match had plenty of the ball without having a lot of impact on the game. Probably similar for the Vic Country/Vic Metro final, although I can't seem to find a replay of the match.

Probably his main strength is his running capacity - which is something Austin and co would be looking for to compliment our hard nosed inside mids.

As it currently stands, I would prefer to select Jefferson with our first pick if Humphrey and Phillipou are gone. With our second pick we could then take a running mid like Dowling or Jones without losing much if anything with Hollands.

Jefferson could be an absolute gun once he fills out in a few years - reminds me a lot of Ben King the way he plays - and could become that 3rd mobile key forward that we hoped McGovern would become. Plus he's a Blues supporter and loves Charlie :thumbsu:;)

Thinking of our stated aim of getting an extra pick before #29, and the ways we could do it.

Obviously we could trade #10 down to Swans or Giants (or maybe even West Coast), probably involves our 3rd.

We can offer our 3rd + F2 for one of those picks in the 20s. *'s will be available if a bid comes for Davey, but lower ranked teams might be able to outbid us. Can't see Hawks or North being keen. Maybe Collingwood, or Saints?

Another option would be to aim higher and offer F1. We obviously would need an F3 coming back. Maybe Giants at #15?

Yep I like edmends as well.

And binns.

Solid 2nd / 3rd round options.

Jacob Anderson would be a good late draft pick also.

Huge call incoming:

Oliver Hollands is a right footed clone of Kade Simpson.

Get.
Yup hope he’s our boy come draft night, would be an astute choice, given close mentoring will mature & develop nicely, not having huge pressure to impact in his initial few years, is a significant advantage it makes all the difference. Loves the club too what’s not to like.

Not a fan of Hollands at pick 11. Sam Walsh type … vanilla.

No, no, no, no, no. I called Walsh Vanilla. I copyrighted it. And got howled down…….justifiably. Not even in the same tub though. That’s like someone saying Hewett is Judd II. ……… oh wait.

Anyways, Hollands ain’t all that.

Saw a Phantom that had Humphrey last to the Swans and we took Hotton. Collingwood got Hollands. Idiot.

Well, apparently Daicos is better than Walsh who's never stood up on the big stage. So no why would you want another.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

There are flight concerns with Phillipou, but with Hewett, it's other factors as to why he could slide

Other factors such as?

How do you or any other person doing interviews with players seperate a genuine flight risk, versus a kid who says I’d prefer to stay in WA or SA if I can?

Im not saying there isn’t genuine flight risks in footy, I’d be a flight risk if drafted to GWS or GC, but I think it’s a bit suss that reports of personal issues or flight risks surface only a few weeks from draft, in Hewetts case especially seeing WC have a pick right around where he is expected to go.

A lot of poker going on in these draft interviews I believe

Other factors such as?

How do you or any other person doing interviews with players seperate a genuine flight risk, versus a kid who says I’d prefer to stay in WA or SA if I can?

Im not saying there isn’t genuine flight risks in footy, I’d be a flight risk if drafted to GWS or GC, but I think it’s a bit suss that reports of personal issues or flight risks surface only a few weeks from draft, in Hewetts case especially seeing WC have a pick right around where he is expected to go.

A lot of poker going on in these draft interviews I believe

Normally comes out at interviews during the draft combine, then clubs do further research, schools, junior clubs, etc

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft