Women's Footy 2022 AFLW Season Discussion (now Player Movement)

zf as
They've postponed both finals, by the sounds of it collingwood can't get even close to fielding a team even if they brought in top ups. So hopefully it is a full week postponement.
Where did you hear they are postponing both ? Only ours is being postponed. Likely to be midweek game then short turn around for melbourne on the weekend

I've got my tinfoil hat on here but I reckon covid suddenly hitting the pies is a bit too convenient. My guess is they want the game rescheduled and played in Victoria so they can have home ground advantage.

Unfair that throughout the season we've been disadvantaged due to covid. Now in finals it's our opposition having issues with covid and we still have to pay the price. If we end up winning and having to play Melbourne in Victoria after a 3 day break and we lose by under a goal I'm going to be so pissed.

Such a shame, I was looking forward to a jam packed afternoon of footy with the Womens final and then Round 1 of the Mens.
Haven’t been able to get to a Womens game this year so was really looking forward to it.

Such a shame, I was looking forward to a jam packed afternoon of footy with the Womens final and then Round 1 of the Mens.
Haven’t been able to get to a Womens game this year so was really looking forward to it.

I'm really gutted

I love our AFLW Lions and I was all set to watch them in the flesh at the Gabba tomorrow arvo for the perfect curtain raiser, only for the game to be scuttled by Covid "considerations"

Seems really unfair on our girls after being shunted from pillar to post this season to accommodate Covid related issues of other teams

Noooo.... We are lined up for the double header with the interval at the easy times brewery.

They better bloody not change the venue and play this in Melbourne. I'd be really really unhappy about that.
It’s not the venue that is the problem.

So the Crows vs Freo PF has no date or time locked in. I watched the Roos vs Freo final one of the commentator said looks like the PF will be moved back a week. Might be the Lions/Pies play their final next weekend.

Noooo.... We are lined up for the double header with the interval at the easy times brewery.

They better bloody not change the venue and play this in Melbourne. I'd be really really unhappy about that.
Lions play the Bombers next week in Melbourne I hope that don’t move it to Melbourne so it can be played before the mens game.

You wouldn't think so, but you never know with the league's Melbourne centric focus.

It’s not like the girls haven’t been stuffed around enough this year, hey?
True. But they have handled it brilliantly.

And it's not just footy that they have had to handle. They have to manage their jobs as well. There are obviously some very patient, very supportive companies out there that will never be listed as sponsors, but they should be.

True. But they have handled it brilliantly.

And it's not just footy that they have had to handle. They have to manage their jobs as well. There are obviously some very patient, very supportive companies out there that will never be listed as sponsors, but they should be.
They have won the right to a home final, I can’t see any reason why it shouldn’t remain that way.

Brisbane Lions v Collingwood at The Gabba, 12:05pm local / 1:05pm EDT on Sunday, March 27.

I think that works out really well for our girls.
The only thing I would have preferred is if it was on Saturday and not Sunday so that they have a full week for preparation for the Prelim.

Gives Freo a good chance to take it up to Adelaide too, which means if we can get over both Collingwood and Melbourne we could yet have a Grand Final at the Gabba.

Women's Footy 2022 AFLW Season Discussion (now Player Movement)