List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo

I think you underestimate just how little I care about lobbs personal life
Fair enough, but what I'm saying, is that people would be best to wait, before making Internet forum-based judgements. Let's see as to what transpires over the coming month and half.

Well what I know is that he's trying to flake on his front ended contract after taking the majority of the money. That's always a dog move.

Something Freo has been good at in recent years been extracting good currency from departing players to improve our draft, and trade hand. We haven’t bottomed out to the extent that other clubs have to have the draft capital we would like, so had to do it differently. Yes, the departures have been plentiful - hardly lost anyone during the 2011 to 2015 period - but our list needed more high end, A grade talent and we have slowly built it to reflect this (with some unwelcome blows along the way - Neale for Hogan as an example). Getting Jackson during this trade period seems consistent with this, as well as the players we appear prepared to seek good value for, with, I would argue, not an A grader amongst them.
On this point, I can’t see any purpose in granting Lobb his trade request at this moment. Wait until Jackson has been sorted and Young, the Bulldogs or another suitor, come to the table with an offer too good to refuse.

A lot of wasted time in this thread. I’d almost bet my left nut Lobb is with WB next year. It’s a genuine possibility that Lobb/Young have to face that should a decent deal not be presented to Freo that he will remain with the club.

The statement “Lobb is critical to our team structure and cannot be traded” means we will need a replacement player otherwise Lobb won’t be traded.

I’m talking a key forward that is starting 22 consistently each week. Not Josh Corbett who will be handy forwardline addition. He is currently depth outside to 28 GC players. I don’t mind adding in Corbett my comment is we need a starting calibre forward to be brought in via the Lobb trade (and not bulldogs scraps like Schache or Bruce).

Someone the calibre of Harry Himmelberg (GWS), Nick Larkey (North), Todd Marshall (Port), Noah Balta (Richmond).

A lot of wasted time in this thread. I’d almost bet my left nut Lobb is with WB next year. It’s a genuine possibility that Lobb/Young have to face that should a decent deal not be presented to Freo that he will remain with the club.

The statement “Lobb is critical to our team structure and cannot be traded” means we will need a replacement player otherwise Lobb won’t be traded.

I’m talking a key forward that is starting 22 consistently each week. Not Josh Corbett who will be handy forwardline addition. He is currently depth outside to 28 GC players. I don’t mind adding in Corbett my comment is we need a starting calibre forward to be brought in via the Lobb trade (and not bulldogs scraps like Schache or Bruce).

Someone the calibre of Harry Himmelberg (GWS), Nick Larkey (North), Todd Marshall (Port), Noah Balta (Richmond).
love this and totally agree. I said all this weeks ago when I raised my concerns about Lobb going and Jackson coming in, it was not, and still will be, a like-for-like replacement. I have no qualms Lobb going, I think we'd be a better "workplace" for it in the long run given the current situation and especially the way Young handles him and how it's got to this.....fatuous point almost. But my point was there and quasi-mirrored yours - Lobb going meant we really needed 'someone' of a similar ilk (playing-wise, not personality wise..) or better coming in to build the structure around, especially with Tabs injury ''proclivities''.

I agree, Schache would be a bust. The names you mentioned are much more in line, but would any of them be a 'shock trade' scenario that hasn't surfaced yet?! It's hard to get clubs to part or be prised of good KFP assets. I guess it's a watch this space and see. Himmelberg or Larkey for mine would be a great scenario to find eventuating.

Could a straight swap of Meek and Riccardi be a solution?
That would be a decent start. If that happened and we get a good draft pick for Lobb things might actually move for ole Colon.

Trades below assume North are granted 11, 20 as priority picks along with ability to Pre-list Tassie U18 players as rookies prior to rookie draft (if not selected in ND) in addition to increased Rookie list numbers being granted.

Meek > Riccardi
Lobb, F3 > Pick 16 (acquired from Brisbane for Dunkley)
11, 20 (priority picks) > 16, Tucker, Logue
11, 14 > Jackson, 43
Acres > F2 (Carlton)
F2 (Carlton) > Sharp, F3
Corbett > F4

In: Jackson, Sharp, Riccardi, Corbett, Pick 20, Pick 43, F3 (GC)
Out: Lobb, Logue, Meek, Tucker, Acres, Pick 14, F3

2022 ND picks: 20, 43, 74
2023 ND picks: 1st, 2nd, 3rd (GC)

The Brisbane Dunkley Trade might look a little like:
31, Dunkley, F2 > 16, F1 (perhaps another pick around 3rd round thrown in for Brisbane to get some more points).

That would be a decent start. If that happened and we get a good draft pick for Lobb things might actually move for ole Colon.

Trades below assume North are granted 11, 19 as priority picks along with ability to Pre-list Tassie U18 players as rookies prior to rookie draft (if not selected in ND) in addition to increased Rookie list numbers being granted.

Meek > Riccardi
Lobb, F3 > Pick 16 (acquired from Brisbane for Dunkley)
11, 19 (priority picks) > 16, Tucker, Logue
11, 14 > Jackson, 42
Acres > F2 (Carlton)
F2 (Carlton) > Sharp, F3
Corbett > F4

In: Jackson, Sharp, Riccardi, Corbett, Pick 19, Pick 42, F3 (GC)
Out: Lobb, Logue, Meek, Tucker, Acres, Pick 14, F3

2022 ND picks: 19, 42, 73
2023 ND picks: 1st, 2nd, 3rd (GC)
Love it. Lock it in Eddie.

With the money we are going to have spare and cap raise in a year or two, I’d not be bringing in any forward unless they are a star. May as well just move chess pieces around between Jackson, Darcy, Tabs, Treacy and Amiss.

Club should be all in on Naughton and McDonald for when they are out of contract. Pickett to join his mate Dogga next year as well would be great.

I recon requesting trades, managers sprouting shit and media feasting on list movements should be banned till after the Grand Final, it's distracting from the actual footy that's still on FFS.

We have so much offseason for this BS

Exactly! There’s FIFO workers on way less money, who have to deal with 3 and 1 rosters or worse!
i mean the two aren’t particularly comparable
I've identified the problem.

Logue and Lobb (and Blakely) are from Swan Districts

Should just stick to drafting Claremont boys. hehe
and forget about sonny?

With the money we are going to have spare and cap raise in a year or two, I’d not be bringing in any forward unless they are a star. May as well just move chess pieces around between Jackson, Darcy, Tabs, Treacy and Amiss.

Club should be all in on Naughton and McDonald for when they are out of contract. Pickett to join his mate Dogga next year as well would be great.

I am not sold on Naughton (only due to his kicking for goal), but I think McDonald would be a good pick up.

An A grader in our forward line would make a massive difference. I am also not against getting a fringe 22 player like the cats did with Gary Rohan, if it is an area of weakness.
With 4 players leaving, including 2 from the forward line, one more mature age forward would help, providing they were best 22 and we don't pay them a fortune

Jesus Christ dude, you have no idea as to the inner workings of a couple's relationship, nor do you have any justification for your hatred towards Lobb. You're making giant leaps and generalisations and simply making a fool of yourself. If one is only to view the situation from a "hot-collared" supporter's perspective, then Lobb will appear the devil incarnate. Stop, breathe and consider the fact that he abided by the club's wishes to remain for the 2022 season, in addition to upholding his end of the bargain in playing to the best of his ability. I believe the agreement entailed his wish of a trade east being facilitated after such duties had been carried out. Some people need to stop with the irrational slurs along the lines of, "Such and such is such a campaigner. How dare he do x, y and z. He's dead to me. F*ck him off and blah, blah, blah!"
Funny, I always thought the devil incarnate would be shorter. Balla-esque.

I recon requesting trades, managers sprouting s**t and media feasting on list movements should be banned till after the Grand Final, it's distracting from the actual footy that's still on FFS.

We have so much offseason for this BS

Have a look at how many pages are being generated on the topic on here, and it's probably the same on every club board - of course the media will make the most of it, and the AFL will support it happening.

Think it was floated on previous thread but Sam Menegola would be a great get with all the exits. I think he’s somewhat of a Mundy type replacement. Some veteran presence in the midfield isn’t a bad thing

He’s not a ruckman. He will do 30% of the rucking, I think often less.

I think he’s a utility who can improve us in a number of areas, including at stoppages by providing a big body who has genuine two-way ability, allowing Serong, Brayshaw, Fyfe and Brodie to be more aggressive. Andy’s CP and clearance numbers have plateaued and that’s partially because he often has to play the defensive role at stoppages.

Away from stoppages, he’ll have a bit of a license to roam and become a link in transition or a forward target, using his height against shorter midfielders or his athleticism against ruck opponents.
Ruckrover?

List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo