List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo

His upside is quite apparent but I think a lot of people still can't look past the semi game sadly. Walker is still only in his second year and cracked the B22 of one of the leagues best (or even best) defences. He's only going to get better. Still can't believe he lasted til 51 in that year's draft, should have gone top 30

I think there's been a collective memory wipe of just how fumbly, poor shot at goal and rushed Frederick was just last season. This year he was a scooping it up on the run, one touch mark, set shot slotting very serviceable forward.

Walker is a better player than Frederick was last year, if they both have that same jump in output into 2023 we will be laughing about how long we have them contracted.

His upside is quite apparent but I think a lot of people still can't look past the semi game sadly. Walker is still only in his second year and cracked the B22 of one of the leagues best (or even best) defences. He's only going to get better. Still can't believe he lasted til 51 in that year's draft, should have gone top 30
Reckon Walker is better at the same age than Quaynor I reckon. Going to be a very good player.
Suns fans are set that when given midfield time he'd be a gun and I'd agree

Could be a good Mundy replacement, and given he's from the Suns he might also arrive with a first round pick given our history
Sounds good to me. Get on that Belly.

Anybody watched Bowes in the last couple of years? Fairly sure he's played wing and one of GC players looking to leave. Former top 10 pick too.
Bowes would interest me greatly. There's talent there to be used

I don't understand when people say things like this and imagine they're dunking on people. If height didn't matter the comp would be full of short people, instead it has a tiny number nicely acting as the exception to prove the rule.

Not that I think he's not making it because he too small (if anythings it's more his light weight for his height that is an issue rather than purely his height). Primarily it's because he's not good enough.
As good as Caleb Daniel is, he’s a pretty big liability at times too, gets shuffled around and his occasionally as Bailey Dale is a far more damaging distributor too

There might only be four or five hits from NGA programs league wide. Changkuoth Jiath at Hawthorn, Tarryn Thomas (maybe), Isaac Quaynor at Collingwood, maybe JUH but the cost was a lot, and Brandon Walker has played 31 games in a side that made a semi.

Please don’t mention Walker and that semi. I’m still going thru counselling.

I read that as you have inside knowledge and Bowes is a :padlock:
Well they are quite close.. not getting a game at GC and they need to dump salary again?

Screenshot_20220920-174228_Instagram.jpg

There's quite a number of Bowes on Will's remarkably quiet social media.

Yeah I don’t know how posters can be confident he’s just going to bounce back from that experience.
Meek played one of the worst games of his life in the final round of last season. Didn't affect him at all. I highly doubt anyone is going to let a game from several months ago affect their entire pre-season and rest of their career.

Not sure how you can compare a game of final round to finals. Also, Walkers clangers directly cost us goals

What ******* waste of time the NGA has been for us

The very dubious prospects of Liam Henry aside the only truely decent AFL level player it’s ever produced is playing for Carlton

Time for a rethink on whatever is going on with it because it should be one of our few advantages

There might only be four or five hits from NGA programs league wide. Changkuoth Jiath at Hawthorn, Tarryn Thomas (maybe), Isaac Quaynor at Collingwood, maybe JUH but the cost was a lot, and Brandon Walker has played 31 games in a side that made a semi.

I think people are discounting the impact the COVID list crunch (particularly in terms of being forced to cut guys like Butters and Carter) and the effective 18 month ban on AFL listed players from second-tier competition (forcing Henry to go direct from high school footy into the AFL) had here, and also looking at Sydney's ludicrous NSW academy production line and comparing apples with oranges.

If you look at the battles of Kimberley guys like Irving Mosquito and Zeph Skinner (and NT fellas like McDonald-Tipingwuiti and Jurrah as well) the younger guys coming in via the NGA are never going to be plug in and play - but to have the inside running on these guys (and setting up a support network for them in the long run) is going to be invaluable in coming years IMO.

It's telling that the guys who've spent extended periods out of community (Ash Johnson, McAdam, Farrar, the Ah Chees) have had the most success at the top level from the Kimberley players. If the NGA can eventually supplement that, it'll be huge, but it's going to be a long-term investment.

It's why the abrupt Motlop rule change (because the League didn't like a few commentators having a cry on SEN about Ugle-Hagan's bid being matched) was particularly enraging.

Benning could be absolutely anything IMO - and I'm more than happy to keep him on the list and developing for an extended period.

What do we reckon is the cause of the sudden exodus of players at the moment?'

On the surface it appears that the players are not convinced that the club will have success, the tone on afl.com.au seems to suggest that, however, based on a lot of player interviews of late it seems that there is a clear vision of who plays what role and who those that might struggle for a place might be getting more games at a new club. That kind of decisive attitude shows that the club is onto something great.

Not sure how you can compare a game of final round to finals. Also, Walkers clangers directly cost us goals
Mate it's one game. He wasn't the only one that lost us the game. It wasn't like only one costly error cost us the game. It was an all round smashing that heavily flattered us on the scoreboard.

What do we reckon is the cause of the sudden exodus of players at the moment?'

On the surface it appears that the players are not convinced that the club will have success, the tone on afl.com.au seems to suggest that, however, based on a lot of player interviews of late it seems that there is a clear vision of who plays what role and who those that might struggle for a place might be getting more games at a new club. That kind of decisive attitude shows that the club is onto something great.
I think it's more so that certain players don't believe they will be a part of the success regardless. Logue, Tucker, Meek - even Acres lowball tells him that we believe we have replacements lined up. But also different players value different things. Some want opportunity, some money, and some success.

At the end of the day we so many of our young core signed up for years to come. Logue is the youngest one that wants out and he'll be entering his 7th season next year. There's a massive buy in from the next generation who are really the ones that are driving this team.

Yeah I don’t know how posters can be confident he’s just going to bounce back from that experience.
If he can't bounce back from it then it's on the club for not giving him the proper tools to learn and recover from a poor performance like that

Besides, I'm sure if he IS thinking about that game still, it's about what he can do better rather than what he did wrong.

Mate it's one game. He wasn't the only one that lost us the game. It wasn't like only one costly error cost us the game. It was an all round smashing that heavily flattered us on the scoreboard.
There’s a player for Brisbane that made his debut for Brisbane in the Elimination final played all three finals didn’t shit the bed, Walker has been a deer in the headlights well before the finals needs to sort his awareness out.

There’s a player for Brisbane that made his debut for Brisbane in the Elimination final played all three finals didn’t s**t the bed, Walker has been a deer in the headlights well before the finals needs to sort his awareness out.
oh F*** off. Every single Brisbane player shit the bed in that last final. Walker was one of our best just two games prior vs GWS. 19 year olds having inconsistent games is normal. I'm sick of so many people playing down his ability because of that last game.

There’s a player for Brisbane that made his debut for Brisbane in the Elimination final played all three finals didn’t s**t the bed, Walker has been a deer in the headlights well before the finals needs to sort his awareness out.

Wilmot shat the bed plenty of times with rushed kicks, just not as heavily scrutinised because:
A) Freo supporters don’t follow him.
B) He’s not playing in defense, so his quick kicks that landed on the chest of a defender not as noticeable.

Walker was bad but let’s not make it seem Wilmot bounced into finals with ice running through his veins.

List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo