Training 2022 Pre-season

I played for Western districts back in the 70s 80s and Zillimere were great rivals back then. Excuse the spelling but I remember blokes form there like Audi Malt or Marr and Barry Karklis a rover in the top grade that had tattoos removed, must have been the first Australian to do so and had to wear long sleeves. There weren't too many clubs back then just Wests, Zillimere, Mayne, Sandgate, Morningside, Cooparoo and Wilson Grange I remember in the top grade.
I played with Audi Malt and Russell Maher from Under 10’s. Russ was as tough as teak and still a bricklayer in Coolum. Karko unfortunately passed away a few years ago. West’s were our number one rival, Sandgate a close second.

If Lachie gets back to his 2020 form he is every chance of another Brownlow... although he'd probably prefer a Norm Smith, he's looked great and back to full fitness this pre season.

Excited to have Answerth back this season. Hard as nails and super althletic.

Yeah

I love Answeth

Has the potential to be a weapon

There has been a bit of a theory about Queensland players for years. Up here we certainly have some great juniors but our guys finished school a year before drafting so only have club footy for a year where the Victorians still have school and club in that year before drafting. With our guys out of the school system there seems to be a drop off once out of the day to day routine and structure the Victorian's have and for those at the private schools the training and professionalism around the school's program. In short the Queenslanders are 'late bloomers' where once on a list they take a bit longer to get into the process than the kids from the other states. Once we were discussing Sherwood they are in the QAFL the Queensland second division competition there would be no full time players in that competition, all would have jobs so it's probably called park footy. But players do get recruited from there to the AFL, rarely but it does happen. The best kids in Qld will generally be in the Lions and Suns academy and they are the ones that get drafted. Then there are some kids playing and trialing with Southport and Aspley from teams like Sherwood and the odd one will get a run. I think its a bit like comparing chalk and cheese really, but you might say our younger top us are probably not as good as Victorian ones just because our process to the AFL is as good and we have a more even speed of sporting choices all chasing talented kids. Once in the process Queenslanders are just as good as any other states.

Sherwood are in the QAFL, the same competition as Aspley - so no kids trial from Sherwood at Aspley!

There are no full-time footballers outside the AFL, certainly almost none in the VFL and maybe a handful in the SANFL and WAFL, but most would have jobs

There are 4 Sherwood players topping up for the Lions VFL side currently.

Not sure if Charlie Cameron got a disposal all game.
Just played 3 x 20min quarters again.

Sherwood youngster Riley Greene played on him and kept him very quiet.

Sherwood are in the QAFL, the same competition as Aspley - so no kids trial from Sherwood at Aspley!

There are no full-time footballers outside the AFL, certainly almost none in the VFL and maybe a handful in the SANFL and WAFL, but most would have jobs

Big tick for young Riley then for is CV in the future

How have Andrews and Gardiner been looking in preseason? They looked very much at sixes and sevens at the back end of last season. Would be good to know if they've recovered their fitness?
All good for those two
Although shoulder injuries can reoccur at any time

I was talking about last year when players like Dan Edwards from Sherwood trialled during the preseason with Aspley after he was already asked to have a go at Redlands.

Like the school years now being aligned the old theory may not count at all.

Feel like we have barely seen Zorko play this pre-season. Has he got an injury or just helping him through the pre-season as he is just running laps a lot.
Didn't Zorko have a achillies tendon problems last year. I'm no Dr but I reckon it's an injury that takes a good amt of time to get over and easily re-injured if it's not healed properly. Just being cautious with work load I'd reckon.

I played with Audi Malt and Russell Maher from Under 10’s. Russ was as tough as teak and still a bricklayer in Coolum. Karko unfortunately passed away a few years ago. West’s were our number one rival, Sandgate a close second.
I played with Bruce McArthur, Clayton Bell coached by Arch Wilkie and then Mike Walnough (not sure the spelling) he came up from Collingwood and the great Alex Jessalenko was getting around I think he ended at Sangate.

Yes only 8 teams played in those years. The team you missed was Kedron
The late Barry Karklis was a great player and played with him in Windsor-Zillmere's first ever grand final win in 1975
For the youngsters on here the season was 21 games so each team played each other 3 times.
Yes Kedron, the red legs, I ran water there one day when Owen Blackwell had come back to Wests from Fitzroy and he kicked two goals over his head without even looking.

I played with Bruce McArthur, Clayton Bell coached by Arch Wilkie and then Mike Walnough (not sure the spelling) he came up from Collingwood and the great Alex Jessalenko was getting around I think he ended at Sangate.
Mike Woolnough

They played there last year. My old club in the 70's
I don't know if you're on Facebook mate but there is a group there which involves current and past Zillmere players, officials and supporters. People are sharing their photos and memories of the club.

Thanks for that but no i am not on facebook.
I have supplied some photos etc to the club via my ex coach Ron Russell.
He may have sent some off to the facebook group.
I am not much into social media except bigfooty if that is counted

We would have played against each other then. Bruce used to sit near us at the Gabba with his Hall of Fame father - we told someone that one night and they didn’t believe us. Also played against twins - Gersokowski? I used to have to pick up their rover.

We must have played against each other. Bruce has been a close mate since High School, he and his wife Toni moved to the other side of the ground and sit with us now. Tommy McArthur unfortunately passed away but his record for the most games umpired will stand forever give so many were not counted when he volunteered to umpire in his early days. The team up played against had another set of identical twins with the Eustace boys and the rover was probably their older brother or Steven Bice although Gary Shaw played a while for Wests before going to WA and then was recruited by Collingwood as the highest paid recruit that year. The busted him up trying to put muscle size on his frame but he played with Daicos and those boys back then. I have my 21st ket signed by the whole Pies team. (sorry everyone else for the nostalgic trim I know it's not preseason)

• Deven Robertson and Harry Sharp were the latest additions to Chris Fagan’s Maroon side as he continues to play around with his best team.

• Lachie Neale was lively from the first bounce, showcasing signs of what's to come with silky one-handed pick ups and rarely missing a target.

• Cam Rayner continued to excite Lions fans, looking dangerous both in the midfield and in the forward line. Looking considerably stronger than he has previously, the 22-year-old broke tackles with ease and was clean on both feet.

• Darcy Fort was impressive in the ruck, evenly matching his opposition in Oscar McInerney as they look to form a strong pairing going into the season.

• Brisbane’s need for speed in the backline looks promising as Keidean Coleman and Noah Answerth both provided plenty of dash from the half-back line while Harris Andrews was solid as always.

• Tom Berry was among the best-on-ground for yellow as he got under the skin of his maroon teammates with some heavy tackles and pressure. Cal Ah Chee and Jaxon Prior also provided plenty of spark.

• Jimmy Tunstill was the best of the first-years and impressed with his efficiency by foot, finishing with a goal for his efforts.

The Brisbane Lions will host Adelaide at Metricon Stadium in a QLD v SA double header, which will be streamed exclusively on Kayo.

Each team will participate in one pre-season practice match scheduled by the AFL. These match-ups are listed below and will see teams decide on the format of each game including number of players, number of quarters and quarter length.

AFL Head of Broadcasting and Scheduling Marcus King said these practice matches play an important role for both AFL Clubs and supporters.

“Our two objectives for pre-season practice matches are to give clubs the best opportunity to prepare ahead of the AAMI Community Series and to take matches to supporters in local and regional communities where possible.

“The practice matches will see football played at local grounds right across the country and we are really looking forward to connecting the elite men’s game to regional footy grounds – including Lavington Oval in Albury and Morwell Recreation Reserve – allowing fans to be able to watch their teams in action in their own backyard.”

AFL Pre-Season Practice Matches Fixture

Wednesday, February 23STADIUM (State)EDTLOCAL
Essendon vs. Western BulldogsThe Hangar - Essendon FC (VIC)3:00pm3:00pm
Thursday, February 24
Carlton vs. St KildaIKON Park (VIC)10:00am10:00am
North Melbourne vs. MelbourneCasey Fields (VIC)11:00am11:00am
Friday, February 25
Brisbane Lions vs. Adelaide CrowsMetricon Stadium (QLD)11:00am10:00am
Gold Coast SUNS vs. Port AdelaideMetricon Stadium (QLD)3:00pm2:00pm
Collingwood vs. HawthornMorwell Recreation Reserve (VIC)4:00pm4:00pm
Sydney Swans vs. GWS GIANTSLavington Oval (NSW)6:30pm6:30pm
West Coast Eagles vs. FremantleOptus Stadium (WA)7:40pm4:40pm