Autopsy 2023 Elimination Final Blues hold on in a thriller

Who played well for the Blues in the Elimination Final vs the Swans?

I’ve only just now reflected on how amazing it is to have won with both Cuningham and Marchbank playing and playing well after not being a sit for so long.
(Oh and Martin, Gov, Doc, Charlie)
Absolutely. Both just critical to our current setups. Love what Marchy and Kemp have bought to our backline. CunIngham is just pure class and along with Martin are the 2 differences forward of the centre. I just want to watch us more and more right now. It’s just fun again.

That’s not gonna cut it. Got lucky again with the panic button kick and hope strategy to save the game. Be professionals, be proactive and put the game away. Gotta learn fast.
You have a point Sydney kicked 9 goals for the match and 4 goals 1 from our direct kick in turnovers hopefully we sort that out.

I remember a mate of mine being angry at the players after the 95 GF , he thought that we should have won by 100 points:tearsofjoy: After the season we had that year he still couldn't allow himself to celebrate it.
I think Billy Brownless got a late one? I remember just wanting them to end the game already let the party start

Still waiting for the penny to drop. They are not a bottom 4 team anymore. They are better than the opposition all over the ground. Play like it.

Enough of conserving a few goal lead into half time. Enough of this fragile panicking rubbish.

Go out there and bully them from start to finish. All of them.

I'm not sure what that means. Recruiting key forwards... this is what it looks like. A lot of the time you have to wait 3 years to see how far they can develop unless you trade for one but we're not in that market obviously.
You can have the ability to improve without being 'the answer'. He's not fast nor a leaper, he's just big and a better than average kick for goal. It's not enough for me to think we can pass up a player with a few more tricks because we have Lemmey waiting in the wings. Remember, I only brought the subject up for perspective regarding people wanting to trade Harry.

Certain opposition fans seem to be putting a negative slant on our win. Apparently the Swans are crap and we didn't play that well.

The Swans were in the grand final last year. They are a very competitive club, with a very experienced coach in John Longmire.

That second half was a battle, and we probably weren't on top form. We still kept our heads above water though and managed to grind out a well deserved win. That was a win to cherish and savour imo.

It was certainly not a textbook impressive win. To be 30+ points up and scrape home is not a complete performance. But I think at this time of year you dispense with the analytics. The only objective is to have your nose in front at the end no matter how you do it.
I think this team has also been weighed down in the past by expectation. Our form reversal mid season only came after all expectation had been removed. Favouritism against the swans was a psychological barrier that was good to overcome. With that finals win, in many respects the season has now already been a success. We will be underdogs from here on, which means lower expectations. We become the hunter. I think it will suit us.

That second half was a battle, and we probably weren't on top form. We still kept our heads above water though and managed to grind out a well deserved win. That was a win to cherish and savour imo
U literally just agreed with them 😂
Swans kicking at goal was woeful & we weren’t great.

The mark of a good side is being able to win when u aren’t playing your best footy - we did that.

Take the W & start planning for next week, **** what everyone else incl the media natter incessantly about.

100% we know we need to play better to win next week & our focus will be on the best way to beat Melbourne.

U literally just agreed with them 😂
Swans kicking at goal was woeful & we weren’t great.

The mark of a good side is being able to win when u aren’t playing your best footy - we did that.

Take the W & start planning for next week, * what everyone else incl the media natter incessantly about.

100% we know we need to play better to win next week & our focus will be on the best way to beat Melbourne.
I said somewhere else, that it was the first finals game for a few of our players. So there was always going to be a bit of nerves and tension.

They came through their first finals game with a win though, and being underdogs against Melbourne is no bad place to be in at all imo.

I think Billy Brownless got a late one? I remember just wanting them to end the game already let the party start
They got a few late ones, we got to over 80 points in front and then our players went into celebration mode, we won by a 'mere' 61 points, was great to see at the time.

Still waiting for the penny to drop. They are not a bottom 4 team anymore. They are better than the opposition all over the ground. Play like it.

Enough of conserving a few goal lead into half time. Enough of this fragile panicking rubbish.

Go out there and bully them from start to finish. All of them.
When did you actually see panic set in on Friday? I must have missed something. I saw our team stand up and win what was a hotly contested final in the end.

It was certainly not a textbook impressive win. To be 30+ points up and scrape home is not a complete performance. But I think at this time of year you dispense with the analytics. The only objective is to have your nose in front at the end no matter how you do it.
I think this team has also been weighed down in the past by expectation. Our form reversal mid season only came after all expectation had been removed. Favouritism against the swans was a psychological barrier that was good to overcome. With that finals win, in many respects the season has now already been a success. We will be underdogs from here on, which means lower expectations. We become the hunter. I think it will suit us.

Exactly my thoughts.
Would love to get past Melbourne and head up to Brisbane to hunt them in front of the home crowd.

They are too used to running rampant with teams trying to match that open style gameplan and not having the skills to go with them. Our pressure will make them very nervous.

Exactly my thoughts.
Would love to get past Melbourne and head up to Brisbane to hunt them in front of the home crowd.

They are too used to running rampant with teams trying to match that open style gameplan and not having the skills to go with them. Our pressure will make them very nervous.
It's not a fortress
It's just a patch of of oval grass, some goal posts, and seating areas.
Pffft.

Every close game of the last month. They are simply better than the opposition all over the ground. They need to realise it fast and play like it to win the flag.
Reckon the pressure's off (to a large degree) now.

Lose last Friday and many would have suggested it was a fail, we're just making up the numbers...

Now, we face a depleted Melbourne, whom we always match up very well against.

With a much, much stronger midfield (Cerra, Walsh should be seriously cherry ripe) out there against a seriously weakened midfield (sans Brayshaw).

Autopsy 2023 Elimination Final Blues hold on in a thriller