Preview 2023 Elimination Final - Carlton vs Sydney Friday 8th Sept 7.50PM @ MCG

Team is in …

IN: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty, Marc Pittonet
OUT: Paddy Dow, Corey Durdin, Zac Fisher, Ollie Hollands

After starting the last game as sub, Caleb Marchbank has been elevated into the starting 22.

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Alex CincottaMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Jack MartinHarry McKayDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraSam Walsh
Interchange:Matthew CottrellTom De KoningGeorge Hewett
Caleb Marchbank
Emergencies:Paddy DowZac FisherOllie Hollands
Jesse Motlop

Demetriou is an arrogant flog and he just wanted to boost his ego by starting two new clubs for no other reason but to make himself look good imo.

G.C at least has a few thousand genuine members and they are mainly expatriate Victorians.

Giants on the other hand, will never take hold. Just so stupid to start an AFL club in that part of Sydney, most of their members are cats and dogs.
GWS might, but it will take another 50years.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Apologies if it’s already been asked but is there any open training session in the lead up to the game?
DID somebody say Super Saturday?

It’s going to be a big day to be a Blue at IKON Park this weekend.

Carlton will open its 2023 AFLW season when it hosts Gold Coast at the home of women’s football.

And now, Bluebaggers will be able to see both teams on the one day, with confirmation that the AFL side’s open training session will be held on Saturday morning.

Full details and registration available here.

AFLW Round 1
Carlton v Gold Coast
Saturday 2 September
1:05pm
IKON Park
Free entry before 11am

AFL open training

Saturday 2 September
Gates open from 8:30am
Session begins from 9:30am, signing session to follow
IKON Park

All of Club photo
AFL and AFLW teams to take photo with supporters in front of the Legend Stand
12:40pm

DID somebody say Super Saturday?

It’s going to be a big day to be a Blue at IKON Park this weekend.

Carlton will open its 2023 AFLW season when it hosts Gold Coast at the home of women’s football.

And now, Bluebaggers will be able to see both teams on the one day, with confirmation that the AFL side’s open training session will be held on Saturday morning.

Full details and registration available here.

AFLW Round 1
Carlton v Gold Coast
Saturday 2 September
1:05pm
IKON Park
Free entry before 11am

AFL open training

Saturday 2 September
Gates open from 8:30am
Session begins from 9:30am, signing session to follow
IKON Park

All of Club photo
AFL and AFLW teams to take photo with supporters in front of the Legend Stand
12:40pm
IKON Park will be full. Great day for all who can make it.

Lots of players have had moments of real bravery, flying through the air with eyes only for the ball!!!

The difference being Kenny did it week in, week out it was just a hallmark of his game! At a time when the game was deliberately brutal.

Hickmott was also a very brave player putting himself in places angels feared to tread, difference was Kenny also did it with the guarantee that if an opposition player didn’t clean him up gravity certainly would.

I need to go back & watch games with KH again.

The players that throw themselves at it like Kade Simpson , an early Ollie Hollands, are worth their weight :).

Lots of players have had moments of real bravery, flying through the air with eyes only for the ball!!!

The difference being Kenny did it week in, week out it was just a hallmark of his game! At a time when the game was deliberately brutal.

Hickmott was also a very brave player putting himself in places angels feared to tread, difference was Kenny also did it with the guarantee that if an opposition player didn’t clean him up gravity certainly would.

Broke his jaw 3 times in his first WAFL year. You know how.

Percy is now in the North Fitzroy Arms. Not far from the Brunswick St tram. Get off at St Vinnie's hospital and walk to the G via the Fitzroy Gardens.
That's awesome. My parents always visited Percy's Pub over the years when visiting from Tassie and loved chatting with him about the old days. My Dad's cousin was a great mate of Percy's growing up and they loved reminiscing old stories like when a young Percy stowed away in a car boot for a free ride as all their friends and girlfriends went to the drive-in one night. They left Percy in there for half the film and he was banging on the boot, yelling "let me out, ya b*stards!" 😂 I'll be sure to take them out to North Fitzroy Arms for a beer and a Parma. Thanks for the tip!

I need to go back & watch games with KH again.

The players that throw themselves at it like Kade Simpson , an early Ollie Hollands, are worth their weight :).
pound for pound and level of outright enjoyment/astonishment he gave me at a game, kenny just nudged by the great man.........

I’d go to war with Toby. Close to the best player in the comp.
When we were at our most successful, he’d be just one of the rat pack that we built our premiership teams on.
To pretend otherwise is hypocritical.
We hated David Rhys-Jones when he played for the Swans, and thought he was a dirty mongrel. When he became a Carlton player we came to love him because he was our dirty mongrel then. Pretty sure the same would be the case if Toby became a Blue. Would love to see it.

So until then **** him!!!

;)

no question - from thug to unfairly misunderstood and targeted..............

Random thought…..could Marchy play the JSOS role?
Similar size, more athletic, better mark, probably not the same footy smarts, but could it be worth a try?
As others have mentioned, I think it’s detrimental to TDK when he has to share the duties with Pitto.
Not detrimental to the midfielders who get fed the ball though, Not detrimental to TDK when Pitto absorbs the physical punishment. At this stage, I think that Pitto and TDK are by far our best ruck combination but we will have to see what MC thinks I guess, still a way to go.

Hope the players are shitting themselves less than I am.

Hopefully we get to see 2022 Cripps.

Hopefully we get to see that power forwards plus elite defenders wins finals...

Again, 💩 myself.