Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Probably in the minority here but I reckon Smith is a net negative for the dogs. Turnover merchant, and with how costly turnovers are these days you'd almost the ball ended in dispute than in his hands
Apparently St Kilda are going to be working on Bazinga all season to bring his unique combo of seagulling and pleas for privacy while being the most voluntarily photographed human on earth to Moorabbin.

Sides we should beat

North
WC
GWS
GC
North and Hawthorn twice should put us a third of the way to playing finals.
I can't understand why people are so pessimistic about this season.
I mean if we can't win one more game than Ratten won then why did we bother with all of the change?
Hopefully the list will look pretty healthy again soon.

I mean if we can't win one more game than Ratten won then why did we bother with all of the change?
It will be interesting to see if the Suns improve but that double up is looking ok at the moment too.

Actually there is no issue at all leaving the ground as long as you miss the head. It’s about grading and leaving the ground doesn’t matter. A week I’d say. I don’t think the player was injured.
Yeah - one week for charging since Smith kept playing.

And another 3 weeks for Potential to Cause Injury because Smith is lucky to still have a head.

Geelong as well. Sides take time to bring in new players. Collingwood and Port seem to have done it quite successfully though.

I don't think you can read much in to it yet. You need to get to about round 6 to get a real form line.

Port and the Pies have both come out looking like they mean business but you wouldn't want to put your money down on either yet.

I wish we weren't going last. Feels like the nerves have more time to build up.
Agree but these teams have the same coaches , most probably close to the same game plan and have spent big getting players in like Taranto , Dunkley , Hopper.
We have a bit of leeway knowing we have a new coach , game plan and a whole lot of injuries - but as you say by round 5 or 6 we will see what teams are on.

When are the assembled footy media finally going to bite the bullet and openly call GWS and GCS for the failed experiments that they are?!

Fully expect us to be better this year than last year with natural progression from the players , but may take a few games to sort out our best 22 we the injuries.

When are the assembled footy media finally going to bite the bullet and openly call GWS and GCS for the failed experiments that they are?!

If GC flop this season they will come under pressure for sure. That looks like the GT Saints for quality of youth on the list. GWS are at the opposite end of the cycle and no-one expects anything of them ATM. Their list still looks good enough to play finals but they have no ticker.

Probably have to give them 6 weeks to see where they are at though. Round one can be fools-gold as a form line.

They need to move the Suns to Tassie - I expect the membership and crowd attendance would be far better , maybe no by much but better.
The history of players like Hudson , Baldock , Riewoldt shows the produce players.

They won’t because they aren’t. The game is growing there even if the crowds aren’t and the extra game pays for the money they get which is only about 7 million more than us so I don’t think we should be complaining

If GC flop this season they will come under pressure for sure. That looks like the GT Saints for quality of youth on the list. GWS are at the opposite end of the cycle and no-one expects anything of them ATM. Their list still looks good enough to play finals but they have no ticker.

Probably have to give them 6 weeks to see where they are at though. Round one can be fools-gold as a form line.
Pressure in what way? They aren’t going anywhere and being an ordinary side has been us for 10 years.

Fully expect us to be better this year than last year with natural progression from the players , but may take a few games to sort out our best 22 we the injuries.

The problem is that all other teams can progress as well. In a vacuum you can step up just from internal organic improvement but if you improve 100% on last year but everyone else does too you stand still. If you improve 100% and the rest go past you at 200% you can improve and go backwards. Double ups against improved or better teams can skew results as well. A few years ago getting Melbourne twice was banking 2 wins. Now they keep coaches up at night.

A lot of sides around our level have improved through trades. Collingwood, Richmond, Port, Freo etc. Sides above us like Geelong and Brisbane have too.

Then sides like Sydney look like they have some youth step up as well. The Dogs are in the middle, lost some talent but improved in other areas. It's going to be a really interesting year where a good side could finish 15 that probably could have gone top 4 in a soft year. A couple of close losses or inopportune injuries could stuff a few chances.

Pressure in what way? They aren’t going anywhere and being an ordinary side has been us for 10 years.

They will come under pressure to sack Dew for a start. Doubt they move but the media will rip them a new one.

That isn’t going to happen. Tassie have made it clear on that.
True but what is the difference of folding a club and starting another.
If they bring in another club they are going to have some weak teams running around , like usual the best players we go to the teams where they want to live and if they do get players they will be paying way over for some average player's.

Trade the Suns players to get the players they want to go to Tassie.

True but what is the difference of folding a club and starting another.
If they bring in another club they are going to have some weak teams running around , like usual the best players we go to the teams where they want to live and if they do get players they will be paying way over for some average player's.

Trade the Suns players to get the players they want to go to Tassie.
Gold Coast aren’t folding. They make money for the afl. If you are saying that about players leave Gold Coast then Tassie would be worse. I know if I was 21 where I’d rather live.

The problem is that all other teams can progress as well. In a vacuum you can step up just from internal organic improvement but if you improve 100% on last year but everyone else does too you stand still. If you improve 100% and the rest go past you at 200% you can improve and go backwards. Double ups against improved or better teams can skew results as well. A few years ago getting Melbourne twice was banking 2 wins. Now they keep coaches up at night.

A lot of sides around our level have improved through trades. Collingwood, Richmond, Port, Freo etc. Sides above us like Geelong and Brisbane have too.

Then sides like Sydney look like they have some youth step up as well. The Dogs are in the middle, lost some talent but improved in other areas. It's going to be a really interesting year where a good side could finish 15 that probably could have gone top 4 in a soft year. A couple of close losses or inopportune injuries could stuff a few chances.
I don’t reckon any year has a difference of 11 spots depending on the type of year. Last year I heard soft so often but the grand final winner won 20 games. That isn’t soft. The softest year I remember was 1997. And if you think freo have improved their list which I don’t disagree with and they lost 5 less games than us last year you are brave man giving us a chance today with 25% of our best side out. Hope you are somehow right.

Agree with what you are saying but we have a whole bunch of quality players getting to the age where they could make massive improvement - Battle , King , Higgins , Clark , Bytel , Coffield and that is not even looking at Windhager , Owens , Milera and the likes - also players who have been far from consistant and if the game plan and coaches can fix that we should make a vast improvement or is that being to hopeful.

I agree we are far from a basket case a few of the kids come on and king back we will be ok