Training 2023 Pre-season thread

Daniel Rich was at the St Laurences v Padua year 10 game at Coorparoo this morning all dressed up in his St Lauries gear, looked in ripping nick.
Interestingly Rich is usually very prevalent in game pics but I didn't see him once in the batch I saw. I read he was off for 10 minutes but most unusual is his low profile.

Great writeup Grasshopper! Looks like your thoughts were pretty close to what has been in these articles.

Looks like we are going to have a starting midfield of Neale / Dunkley / Ashcroft, I am surprised to see Ashcroft already being talked about like that. I didn't really believe the hype I suppose but looking forward to watching him play in the big time!

Did Lyons play in the match sim? I worry about his spread from the contest still but not sure if he's even been out there at this point.

For those that have been at the match sims how good is Ashcroft's disposal by foot, is it in the McCluggage, K.Coleman class or a level or 2 below that, also is he dual sided?

I did not go yesterday but watched him the previous week and at some training sessions.
I won't comment on his kicking at this early stage. Let's see how he goes during the season under more pressure.
However, he has one of the fastest set of hands you will see.
Players running into a better position and or backing Will Ashcroft up should be able to capitalize on this part of his game.

I suspect he's also going to be used in the back line at times, like yesterday's game.

Might be wishful thinking on my part, I think our weakest area is the backline. As good as Harris is as a general, Gunston will have a lot to contribute to help back line cohesion.
Yep, if a tall defender goes down for a period of games, Gunston can play back, and we can either bring in Fort or Fullerton for a number of games.

Life was simpler for me in the "old" days when I could duck down to Yeronga for the Wed arvo training session.

Springfield presents a more interesting challenge for me and I haven't been able to make that journey so far this pre-season

I have been reading this thread with great interest. I am still alive and well

Ever so grateful for the input from Grasshopper and Mr Ripper.

Ashcroft sounds almost a lock for Round 1?

Exciting times ahead.

Go Lions!

Sadly no. Lacks game sense which we can only hope comes with some solid VFL time. In his defence he was matched up on Hippy and Daniher. Has the physical attributes and the effort. Doesn't shirk contact.

Sent from my SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app
out of curiosity, why does Joyce keep wearing Adams #24 and not his own number seems odd to me anyway why hes wearing a number he wont be wearing in 23?

Probably waiting on jumper stock to arrive

Life was simpler for me in the "old" days when I could duck down to Yeronga for the Wed arvo training session.

Springfield presents a more interesting challenge for me and I haven't been able to make that journey so far this pre-season

Exciting times ahead.

Go Lions!
Congratulations L, any day above ground is good.

Exciting times ahead.

Go Lions!
You post alludes you may have been struggling with you health mate. Trust you're now better.
Anyhow let's hope this is the year.
We've been riding the waives for a long time. Perhaps finally we caught one to ride it all the way.

You post alludes you may have been struggling with you health mate. Trust you're now better.
Anyhow let's hope this is the year.
We've been riding the waives for a long time. Perhaps finally we caught one to ride it all the way.
Struggling more with my age than my health;)

After wrapping up at Wilston Grange, we had a chat to Chris Fagan about his key takeaways from our match sim.

1. Positive signs for ball movement and scenarios

"We played the A team vs the B team tonight, which we did last week but I felt this week the A team moved the ball a lot better than they did last week.

"We tried a few things out tactically that we want to practice during the season. We changed the scoreboard at the end of the second period and made the A team chase and try and get the lead and then protect it so some good tactical lessons there."

2. Key forwards starting to gel

"It was great to see Jack, Joe and Eric play together.

"Early days, Jack got free and we weren't looking for him because we weren't used to playing with him but we had a chat about that and reminded the boys outside 50 of how good Jack is at leading at the last moment and getting some space and as a result we found him a few times."

3. Cam the Defender?

"We wanted Cam to have another string to his bow.

"He's a really good medium sized forward, he's a good powerful midfielder when we need him to be but we're just wanting to see if he can do something else and so far that little experiment is going okay."

4. The half-back selection squeeze continues

"All the defenders played well today I thought.

"We cycled through Starcevich, Rayner, McKenna, Wilmot, Rich and Keidean Coleman tonight.

"I'm no clearer after tonight, they all did well."

5. What impressed Fages most?

"The starting midfield group of Neale, Dunkley and Ashcroft were pretty impressive I thought.

"I was pretty happy with how they all worked with our ruckmen and that was the first time we've seen that because Lachie was out last week.

"It looked promising."

Struggling more with my age than my health;)
I turn 64 this year:shoutyoldman:, I still feel 34 mentally then I make the mistake of seeing myself in the mirror and think who the F is that old wrinkly creature. Slowly starting to feel the aging process over the last few years though, can't run/jog like I used to because my knees can't handle the load, don't quite feel as sprightly as I used to.

I am going to get in as much trekking, cycling, yoga and pilates as I can while I'm still able.

I turn 64 this year:shoutyoldman:, I still feel 34 mentally then I make the mistake of seeing myself in the mirror and think who the F is that old wrinkly creature. Slowly starting to feel the aging process over the last few years though, can't run/jog like I used to because my knees can't handle the load, don't quite feel as sprightly as I used to.

I am going to get in as much trekking, cycling, yoga and pilates as I can while I'm still able.

Yeah I bought a bike last year and first time out I tried to jump a rut like back in the 80's on my BMX, didn't end well.

My first bike was late 60s and it was one of these swank babies >

d234f0b4f89c01c8fe8befa90e76a917.jpg

Great writeup Grasshopper! Looks like your thoughts were pretty close to what has been in these articles.

Looks like we are going to have a starting midfield of Neale / Dunkley / Ashcroft, I am surprised to see Ashcroft already being talked about like that. I didn't really believe the hype I suppose but looking forward to watching him play in the big time!

Did Lyons play in the match sim? I worry about his spread from the contest still but not sure if he's even been out there at this point.
Lyons did not play.

Ah in the 70's I had one too.

My first bike, purple with the hand grip tassels.

Got to love the 3 speed shifter and ape bars.

A chopper for kiddies!
I was never allowed to have a bike😩 when growing up.
I bought my first bike when I was 19 when I started training for triathlons after giving up swimming.

2. Key forwards starting to gel

"It was great to see Jack, Joe and Eric play together.

"Early days, Jack got free and we weren't looking for him because we weren't used to playing with him but we had a chat about that and reminded the boys outside 50 of how good Jack is at leading at the last moment and getting some space and as a result we found him a few times."

3. Cam the Defender?

"We wanted Cam to have another string to his bow.

"He's a really good medium sized forward, he's a good powerful midfielder when we need him to be but we're just wanting to see if he can do something else and so far that little experiment is going okay."

4. The half-back selection squeeze continues

"All the defenders played well today I thought.

"We cycled through Starcevich, Rayner, McKenna, Wilmot, Rich and Keidean Coleman tonight.

"I'm no clearer after tonight, they all did well."

5. What impressed Fages most?

"The starting midfield group of Neale, Dunkley and Ashcroft were pretty impressive I thought.

"I was pretty happy with how they all worked with our ruckmen and that was the first time we've seen that because Lachie was out last week.

"It looked promising."
Regarding half back spots, based on not much more than principally last year's form, Starc and Coleman are locks, next Rich and I hope Wilmot. McKenna very likely plays at some point throughout the season and possibly Answerth at some point.

Cam might be under a bit of pressure this year, no doubt he is playing small/mid forward with likely stints in the midfield from round 1. At this stage he is not a fulltime mid and reports are that Ashcroft is going well and IF Lyons is fit there is no room in there. Needs to step up and make that forward spot his, which I think he can.

I started training for triathlons after giving up swimming.
It must have been hard to do triathlons without swimming. Run, cycle, and whoever drowns the slowest wins?

Training 2023 Pre-season thread