Kwickhatch
- Aug 21, 2022
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
Swans goal after a few skill errors. Notably starch dropping an almost sitter. Looks like he spent it before he got it
I disagree that with 3 talls Cam doesn't fit in. We have played 3 talls pretty much all the time over the last few years and he fit in. Midfielders went fwd too and he still fit in. I like Cam fwd and thru the middle, and now he shows some potential down back, but maybe not against the real tall fwds as you mentioned.We actually looked a bit short in defence at times,when Sydney went with 3 talls Starcevich was often caught out playing on a tall. If Gardiner can’t get back we could be a bit vulnerable there I fear. Cam looks like a good creative defender who can read the play and intercept mark pretty well so I think he will end up there. He couldn’t play on a third tall over about 195 cm though. And there isn’t really an obvious spot for him on the forward line now,Dunckley looks like a really good option there at times and withZorko probably playing forward as well,spots are pretty limited.
Yes fair point re Starc, I think MacDonald outmarked him when matched up against him and there were a couple of other occasions. Starc was a bit below his good standard today but confident he bounces back. I was more thinking with Cams leap he might be able to play a little taller and possibly third tall defender, otherwise you are right in that we will need Dizzy.We actually looked a bit short in defence at times,when Sydney went with 3 talls Starcevich was often caught out playing on a tall. If Gardiner can’t get back we could be a bit vulnerable there I fear. Cam looks like a good creative defender who can read the play and intercept mark pretty well so I think he will end up there. He couldn’t play on a third tall over about 195 cm though. And there isn’t really an obvious spot for him on the forward line now,Dunckley looks like a really good option there at times and withZorko probably playing forward as well,spots are pretty limited.
Yep. On the train home from work now.How goods this?
Get to knock off work, sit in some air con, poor an ice cold beer & watch some footy.
Been a long time coming for those of us that have been a bit disillusioned and unsatisfied with the Aussie test team this summer.
Thought we played a really good game today, not really any complaints and thought most performed well. Can't say I'm sold on McKenna at this stage though, showed good speed at times but skills were horrible and I'm not convinced that it's just rust. Wonder whether he is the one to move out of the backline once Gardiner is ready rather than Rayner. Really liked Wilmot on the wing and think he should start there round 1.
Mate, our test team is terrible atm.How goods this?
Get to knock off work, sit in some air con, poor an ice cold beer & watch some footy.
Been a long time coming for those of us that have been a bit disillusioned and unsatisfied with the Aussie test team this summer.
It'll be a lot easier to see what was actually happening with better quality coverage. If we were to play Wilmot behind the ball I believe he would provide the unpredictable run and carry while also being more solid defensively and with ball in hand when he needs to be. Personally I think the run and carry from both Coleman and Wilmot alongside the kicking of Rich and the new 'quarterback' style of role from Rayner we've got enough avenues out of the backline. I also think guys like Dunkley, Ashcroft and Gunston are better at providing options for those little 20m kicks to start the transition.McKenna to me was rebounding and overlapping from backline a lot more, although in a reckless and unpredictable way. Many of those mistakes on kayo appeared to be him trying to play at a breakneck speed. He appears to play a style which is unique compared to the rest of our defensive smalls - Keidean is silk and more pinpoint, Wilmot is a lot more defensive minded, Rich when on gives you those bullet passes to kickstart from defense, Starce is lockdown and McKenna would be just pure dare and take the opposition on at all costs.
Cut down some of those mistakes, he'll make our defense more dynamic. My 2c.
Coleman with 4 shots on goal and who knows how many inside 50's. Rayner deep in defence frees up Coleman to roam forward. Rayner can be the distributor from the last line. Worked very well but will be interesting to see if they stick with it.
Mate, our test team is terrible atm.
There's a saying I like, can't remember where I heard it but it's, Hard times create hard men. Hard men create soft times. Soft times create soft men. Soft men create hard times. At the moment there's a lot of soft men in the test team creating hard times. The coach and captain are two of the softest. As soft as 10ply toilet paper. (Acknowledgement to the best show on TV, Letterkenny, for the 10ply reference).
Yep. On the train home from work now.
As soon as I get home I’ll be doing the same.
Only difference..I’ll be downing a Carlton Draught…you’ll probably be sucking on a Great Northern.
Gee young Ashcroft looked great, without putting pressure on the kid this early he looks a ripper. The run down the wing and some of his slick hands around the ground he is ready to go. More silk than when Rowell bust out of the blocks for the Suns with his grunt work.
But But But!!!! Patty is so nice . I mean really, really nice. Really nice.Mate, our test team is terrible atm.
There's a saying I like, can't remember where I heard it but it's, Hard times create hard men. Hard men create soft times. Soft times create soft men. Soft men create hard times. At the moment there's a lot of soft men in the test team creating hard times. The coach and captain are two of the softest. As soft as 10ply toilet paper. (Acknowledgement to the best show on TV, Letterkenny, for the 10ply reference).
But But But!!!! Patty is so nice . I mean really, really nice. Really nice.
We know where he stands on climate change. Not so much where he stands on hard cricket. It's all to do with dodgy wickets. That would be the wickets that both teams play on. Mind you, the Tests don't last long enough to work out whether the said wickets might last the distance.
I clearly recall Ian Chappell was a dead set arse**le. But hard. Where is our next Ian Chappell??
That was actually into the wind, according to the commentators. Pretty stiff northerly wind in Sydney today apparently.What a rooster of a goal from Kiddy Coleman. Solid 55m, with the wind.
It may have. Was the story of many of our second halves last season. Firstly when games were well and truly won, but later on it started happening even when they weren't! But we finished off well today which was great to see, and hopefully a sign of things to come.If this game meant something the intensity wouldn't have dropped off in this quarter
It's amazing we think that way at all given you'd think Round 23 of 2021 should still be so fresh in the memory of all at the club, and that mad scramble for that final behind with 14 seconds left in the match. Percentage matters! I yearn for the days the dynasty team were up by 60 at 3QT and would go on to win by 100.I hate when we do it during the season. We really tend to give teams a way back in. I understand why we do it during preseason because we don't want any injuries, but I agree it's sets up the mentality that once we are up and about we can just coast the rest of the way
Tackled with a bit of venom as well. Gave away a free or two, not that it mattered considering where it was on the field.My 2c worth on today's effort... Pretty good I thought. The control we had on territory through the first 15 minutes of Q3 was a feature, and then some desperate defence in the final 10 mins of the 3rd to keep them goalless for the term.
Annoying to give them a sniff early in the last, but we responded in the right way to finish them off good and proper, kicking the last 4 goals of the game and win going away from them.
Optimistic.
AND JOE DANIHER WAS SEEN MAKING MULTIPLE TACKLES