Training 2023 Pre-season thread

You need new friends!
Had em since school, 45yrs+ ago. We all grew up rugby league boys haven't been able to convert them, lol. To be honest I only started watching AFL so I'd have something to talk to my brother in-law about. Fell in love with it, now I'm a tragic.

Speaking of said Collingwood bro in-law, he went n watched their trial game v Carlton and he said Mcstay had a ripper of a game. Kicked goals, crashed packs, etc. He reckons they got a beauty.

Had em since school, 45yrs+ ago. We all grew up rugby league boys haven't been able to convert them, lol. To be honest I only started watching AFL so I'd have something to talk to my brother in-law about. Fell in love with it, now I'm a tragic.

Speaking of said Collingwood bro in-law, he went n watched their trial game v Carlton and he said Mcstay had a ripper of a game. Kicked goals, crashed packs, etc. He reckons they got a beauty.

Gets bagged on here, but we will miss Dan's contribution.

We improved our list forgoing Dan’s contribution so I’m not complaining

Will play some games and look like a world beater then will go missing for 10 weeks . Will end up being one of their whipping boys . Need to look at the net output , Mcstay pick was helpful in acquiring points for our young draft guns and dunks . Plus we get Gunston who for this year and possibly next should provide at the very least a similar output goal wise to Mcstay maybe more .

McStay was just about coming good when he left so you'd expect him to be a reasonable player for the Pies.

It's hard to read too much into practice matches but what yesterday did show is that when we go forward we should look to get it into Gunston's hands wherever possible.

Mate, I get ya. Being in Qld none of my mates are AFL fans, and its only my brother in-law that I can talk footy with but he's a Collingwood supporter so it's pretty one sided.
My department at work has;
An Adelaide fan (the boss).
Two Richmond nuffies.
One Geelong fan.
One St Kilda fan married to
A Lions fan (they both work here).
And me.

Everyone else follow league or soccer.

amazing kick and went for the ball but gunston is everything we lacked

mcstay is no where near the afl smarts as gunston

guynston doesnt need to crash packs as he just funds space with ease inside 50 will flow on to our midfielders who will be able to spot up targets inside 50 instead of just bombing it high and long

big change in inside 50 delivery

Still wonder if we might miss that hulk of a contested marking forward ala Hawkins/T Lynch. Daniher looked to be playing the McStay role further afield yesterday and certainly didn't shy away from the physical stuff, which was very encouraging, but it makes me wonder how his shoulder will hold up if required to play that way for 6 months.

Mate, I get ya. Being in Qld none of my mates are AFL fans, and its only my brother in-law that I can talk footy with but he's a Collingwood supporter so it's pretty one sided.
I've got one mate who's an on and off swans fan and that's it. I can't talk to anyone else about it which is what makes this website so great. I don't comment too often but I like being able to read everyone's different opinions and views.

It's nice being apart of a collective that all shares the same interest as well. I started watching in 2016 and have watched the journey to the top over the last few years, and finding this forum has only enriched the experience for me (and made school easier).

I've got one mate who's an on and off swans fan and that's it. I can't talk to anyone else about it which is what makes this website so great. I don't comment too often but I like being able to read everyone's different opinions and views.

It's nice being apart of a collective that all shares the same interest as well. I started watching in 2016 and have watched the journey to the top over the last few years, and finding this forum has only enriched the experience for me (and made school easier).
I lived in Sydney for 7 years and can confirm that basically every Swans (and Sydney Sixers) fan is an on and off Swans fan. They could live right next to the ground but they still won't go unless they're winning.

Still wonder if we might miss that hulk of a contested marking forward ala Hawkins/T Lynch. Daniher looked to be playing the McStay role further afield yesterday and certainly didn't shy away from the physical stuff, which was very encouraging, but it makes me wonder how his shoulder will hold up if required to play that way for 6 months.
In my opinion, after last season, we needed forward smarts more than we needed forward physicality. I think our forwards play more on instinct than strategy. McStay played a structure well but I don't know that he could adjust his role to respond to what they opposition were trying to do. He is a good player in a functioning system.

What I've seen from Gunston in his career is a more cerebral approach to footy. He's not as reliant on his physical gifts as he is his ability to read the game situation. Even yesterday, in a praccy match, he seemed to find new areas of space up forward that I'm not sure the likes of Daniher, Hipwood and McStay would find. There was a little back lead and then to the fat side at one point that really demonstrated his point of difference to our forwards from last year in that it gave the midfielder an option beyond a straightforward lead out.

To answer your concerns, I do think that at points this year, we'll wish we had a 105kg gorilla in the goal square rather than Gunston. But I think we'll have many more times when we'll appreciate that our forward line functions better with his different approach.

Finally, if we end up with a style of play that means we're constantly kicking down the line and wishing McStay was there to contest, then I reckon we've either got the wrong game plan or the players are doing the wrong thing. I would be blaming factors other than list management if that were the case.

From what i read McStay is playing a different role at the Pies.
Playing deep forward and that is apparently where they see him playing most minutes.

Lions getting Gunston automatically changes the way we bring the ball into our forward 50.
Well, it should you would think.
Time will tell, a better guide will be the Cats game in only 5 days time.

In my opinion, after last season, we needed forward smarts more than we needed forward physicality. I think our forwards play more on instinct than strategy. McStay played a structure well but I don't know that he could adjust his role to respond to what they opposition were trying to do. He is a good player in a functioning system.

What I've seen from Gunston in his career is a more cerebral approach to footy. He's not as reliant on his physical gifts as he is his ability to read the game situation. Even yesterday, in a praccy match, he seemed to find new areas of space up forward that I'm not sure the likes of Daniher, Hipwood and McStay would find. There was a little back lead and then to the fat side at one point that really demonstrated his point of difference to our forwards from last year in that it gave the midfielder an option beyond a straightforward lead out.

To answer your concerns, I do think that at points this year, we'll wish we had a 105kg gorilla in the goal square rather than Gunston. But I think we'll have many more times when we'll appreciate that our forward line functions better with his different approach.

Finally, if we end up with a style of play that means we're constantly kicking down the line and wishing McStay was there to contest, then I reckon we've either got the wrong game plan or the players are doing the wrong thing. I would be blaming factors other than list management if that were the case.
Yes the beauty of our sport is there are multiple ways to skin the cat. The two key things I'm taking out of this is (a) the importance of multiple leads and (b) the importance of leading to create space for others, not necessarily to get the ball yourself.

More and more the movements in an AFL forward line are starting to resemble the movements in the secondary of an NFL offence, and they set up their plays with the primary objective of creating space for a team mate. I saw signs of this at the intra-clubs (very hard to see on TV whether it happened yesterday) but I'd like to see more of this from all our forwards.

From what i read McStay is playing a different role at the Pies.
Playing deep forward and that is apparently where they see him playing most minutes.
For what it's worth, this is where I always thought we should have played McStay. We can go right back to his return from injury early in 2021 when we were 1-3 and I thought that's how we should have played him then, with Daniher new to the team at that stage.

I think it's an incorrect argument that Gunston will change our ball movement and there will still be many times we enter forward 50 under pressure

We also have Joe and Hippy who are poor 1 on 1. The balance really isn't great and puts more pressure on us moving the ball quickly

I think it's an incorrect argument that Gunston will change our ball movement and there will still be many times we enter forward 50 under pressure

We also have Joe and Hippy who are poor 1 on 1. The balance really isn't great and puts more pressure on us moving the ball quickly
Let's hope Dunkley and Ashcroft can improve us in this area.
Also, there should be less of the opposition solely targeting Neale.
Then we have an improving Coleman delivering the ball forward.
No Robbo (15 games) skying the ball without looking.

I don't think it is so much as a different gameplan to get the ball into the forward 50.
Just some different options, with different players in the mix, to make better decisions.

We've kept hearing how good our forward line is for a couple of years , no one can stop them etc etc , I'm not at all convinced ,well I'm sure they're no better than Geelong and maybe a couple of other clubs that might emerge this year. As individuals they look good on paper but it's getting the mix right and them having the discipline to play their roles more effectively.

The one thing Gunston will bring is that if he can get it it's likely to be a good outcome from there. It's probably a no no to say but do we need all of Hipwood ,Daniher and Gunston in the same forward line.

do we need all of Hipwood ,Daniher and Gunston in the same forward line.
I think if Daniher can maintain the focus on his defensive pressure that we saw yesterday, that will make a big difference. Prelim Final night last year it did really look like the elephant enclosure down in our forward line, but if our forwards, big and small, can exert more pressure when the ball hits the ground, that will make a huge difference I think.

Interesting aside... Looks like Gold Coast are toying with the idea of all of King, Chol, Casboult and Lukosius in their forward 50. Will be very interested to see if they can make that work with respect to forward pressure when it comes to ground.

I think if Daniher can maintain the focus on his defensive pressure that we saw yesterday, that will make a big difference. Prelim Final night last year it did really look like the elephant enclosure down in our forward line, but if our forwards, big and small, can exert more pressure when the ball hits the ground, that will make a huge difference I think.

Interesting aside... Looks like Gold Coast are toying with the idea of all of King, Chol, Casboult and Lukosius in their forward 50. Will be very interested to see if they can make that work with respect to forward pressure when it comes to ground.
That's the issue. Cameron can apply good pressure when he's in the mood. McCarthy doesn't get up the ground enough for me . Cam wasn't good at it when he wasn't going for the ball. Daniher ,well ,he had good excuses last year but needs to lift in that area. I don't see a whole lot of it from Hipwood but others might have more idea. Bailey isn't at all what you would call a player who pressures the opposition without ball in hand.

I'm not saying this as a joke but our forward line functioned well when Ah Chee was in in there. For what others thought of McStay I thought he was spasmodic in that area and rarely chased. When we got blown away it was a lack of pressure that emanated from our M/F and was prevalent in the forward line.

We've got the talent to be a genuine contender this year if certain players just lift that 10% in this aspect of the game. It was encouraging to see Daniher doing a bit of that yesterday and let's hope he can keep it up.

i wholeheartedly disagree. could already see the difference from one practice match

gunston can read the play much earlier than our other forwards and mcstay could ever

he was free so many times inside 50 and our players respected his calls on many occasions

will only get better over time as we gel

he is our most natural forward

if mcstay was there id believe we would have just bombed it long as he would not be as free as gunston

big changes ahead

Training 2023 Pre-season thread