Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.

Who played well for the Blues in Round 22 vs the Dees?

Player by player review, so much to like across the board:

Dow - not a dominant game, but the kind of solid contribution we should now expect. Does what he does very well, and while he's not chasing anyone down from behind he's also staying involved across 4 quarters. Seems happy, teammates seem engaged with him...called it a few weeks back but I think he's a better than even chance of staying unless someone offers him big money. Even then...would he take big money to run around at North or West Coast? Might be willing to take unders to stay.

Motlop - classic quiet small forward game. Had put together a really good month, so this was definitely on the cards. No concern from me.

Fogarty - very Owies-like. You know he's got shortcomings, but he has a knack for making really important plays. When Voss talks about close games being won with "moments", I think Fog is a prime example of a player who steps up in those moments. Tackles well, surprisingly hard to tackle, makes good decisions.

Cripps - the game we needed from the Skip with key outs in the middle. Most pleasing, team-high 9 tackles and slotted the goal when his chance came.

De Koning - didn't dominate the ruck, but who's expect him to against Gawn and Grundy. What he did do was keep them honest and limit their ability to impact outside the ruck, and backed it up with some excellent ground level play. Lucky the dropped mark up forward didn't punish us at the end - probably needs to put some preseason work into marking with the hands at full extension, seems to fall back on the chest mark too often and it brings defenders back into the contest.

Acres - broke even with the vaunted Ed Langdon, but stepped up in the contest when we needed him to which was critical to the win.

Hollands - good defensive wing game, and continues to show top shelf vision and execution by foot when he gets the ball in space. Reckon Acres is a perfect playing mentor for him as well.

Docherty - good contribution, just a very balanced player who is finding ways to impact on every line. Sidenote: very pleased to see that we're happy to make a precautionary/tactical sub of a senior leader even in a close game. Mature and sensible call, and shows faith in the other 22 blokes.

Kemp - looking more and more like the backline roll was the right call for him. Could probably play forward too, but I reckon he'll have just as much scoreboard impact with his ability to intercept and then drive transition.

Martin - full buy-in from this guy and it's great to see. Not playing with any fear of injury, and his contest-work up forward means our mids don't need to be busting their arses to get to every ground ball inside 50.

Marchbank - magic fingers, building nicely, but definitely needs to work on his handballing - gives it a bit too much hangtime, and seems to direct the ball to the player instead of the space ahead of them. Love seeing him throwing the body around though, another who doesn't look like he's holding back in the interests of self-preservation.

Weitering - 17 disposals....all kicks. Had a rough patch with his disposal earlier in the year but he's clearly playing with supreme confidence now.

Newman - coming home with a wet sail, pencil him in for the B&F for sure.

Fisher - last week was exceptional, this week is the kind of game I think we'd expect most weeks. Linked up well, did some really smart things, but a few soft/half efforts on ground balls in dispute were frustrating to see.

Pittonet - did a job, but if he's to be a starting ruck moving forward he'd want to do more. Maybe the expectation against Gawn/Grundy was just for him to keep making a physical contest.

Cuningham - almost game, would have been nice if he could have slotted that set shot. Even when he's not impacting directly, I like the threat he presents around the contest - opens up space for teammates.

Hewett - very complete game from George, finding form at the right time and creates some interesting selection questions as others return.

Charlie - competed, which is all we can expect when he's playing a lone hand KPF role. 2 goals is a good return in a low-scoring game.

Ed - came on late, not much impact. He's sub now, but should be squeezed back out as we reintroduce other mids.

Cincotta - solid defensive game, with his trademark physicality on show. Important role player.

Saad - bounced back well from a quiet game last week, at his best when he turns defensive efforts into immediate attacking plays, and play of the game was him doing just that to set up the Motlop-to-Acres goal.

Owies - what a pest, love it! Limited opportunity, two goals, exactly what we need from him.

Cottrell - quiet, but bobbed up at both ends and undoubtedly played an important role in limiting the ability for guys like Langdon, Hunter and Sparrow to do much damage.

Overall the most pleasing aspect for me was the way we played with our comparative outs. Both sides were missing key forward players, but Melbourne had their full midfield complement while we were short 3 of our top 6 mids. By rights, Melbourne should have won the forward supply battle, and weight of numbers should have carried the game for them. Instead, despite comfortably losing the hitouts, we practically broke even on clearances, shaded them on inside 50s, but managed to grind out the win by maintaining control of the ball for longer periods and sustaining a better pressure game at either end.

Reinforcements on the way. Suns season is over, so we should look for a comprehensive and thoroughly professional win next week - make sure the GWS game is just about jostling for position, not fighting for a final top 8 berth.

I think you will find every supporter base has people who think their club is hard done by in the media

Exactly. Because we only tend to remember the whacks that we get. The positive is nice to hear and gives us a quick dopamine rush but it's quickly forgotten. And when you've been as down as long as we have the whacks are more regular

Just a teeny bit hungover after all excitement of the Carlton thingy.

Nothing a nice big coffee & a few menthols won’t fix.

Breakfast of Champions.😎👍
First time in a long while I cracked open a bottle of wine.

Started with the heart stopping matildas win and ended with our win...

what a night of sporting triumph that went our way :moustache:

Just a teeny bit hungover after all excitement of the Carlton thingy.

Nothing a nice big coffee & a few menthols won’t fix.

Breakfast of Champions.😎👍
Dude!!!
No catch 22 about it.
Beautiful blue dreaming.
Hugh Jackman Oklahoma GIF by The Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization

Balance is the most important thing as imo that is what has turned our season around.
I’d go.
Gov for Marchbank
Cerra for Dow
Walsh for Hollands
McKay likely comes in for a small forward which throws things out, probably Motlop.
JSOS, Boyd and Kennedy miss out.
Fisher is one bad game from going out which is harsh.
Hollands getting dropped seems crazy but imo is the most replaceable.
Dow sub.

I can't see Hollands going out.

That game indicated that we were the better side when fresher, but Melbourne came back as we tired and lost run.

We dominated early but didn't get the scoreboard reward. After half time we got out to a 14 point lead and they reeled it back in by 3 quarter time. Again in the last, we get out to an 18 point lead and they nearly catch us at the end.

We still need all the run we can get, which will keep Hollands in ahead of a few others IMO.

Stoked with the win.

One negative but what are peoples thoughts on essentially giving up a 3 goal lead again.

What can we improve ?
We didn't give up a 3 goal lead, we only gave up 14 points.
6 from a brilliant goal from one of the best small forwards in the game. And then another 6 stemming from a horrible umpiring decision.

The thing that will improve us in that sort of battle is having H and SOS for the get-out kicks, or being targets on the wing. Charlie looked absolutely spent, and very hard for him to do it by himself, especially in those conditions.

I loved cunners before anyone..he'll cop a bs week
Bill Hader Reaction GIF by Saturday Night Live

Cuners loves ME!!

Actually have a feeling he'll shine more as others come back. Playing necessary roles atm.

What a game!!! Two teams just cracking in. Pressure, intensity, desperation and elite skills at crucial times to crack the game open both ways.
Owies snap, Pickett snap intercept marking in the wet. What a watch!

Love that we have proven we can win in different ways in this streak and, despite the heart palpations, this one might be the most gratifying for our finals aspirations. Defend a small lead for over 14 minutes in a super high intensity game again the arguably the hottest team in the competition widely tipped to be the most likely team to knock off Collingwood in the finals. That's us now!!! With a bullet.

Not talking individuals, again, the essence of our streak is system, team and effort. Everyone gave that. Thank you Carlton. Thank you Voss and the team. Thank you Andrew Russell and his team.

Controlling our own destiny. Bring on the Foldies to lock up finals...

Oh I sure hope so. I've suffered enough.

Maybe I am. Maybe I'm not. Perhaps that forever remains open to interpretation.

I just don't seem to recall a match in recent times with such a decision that has this much potential ramifications. What are Geelong and Sydney thinking right now? What is the AFL's verdict?

Understand that I grew up with the new generation of non-arrogant fans who have only ever seen punishment and false dawns. Soft I might be right now, but I want to see success no less than you do. Don't you think we are entitled some good times without such controversies?
Controversies only exist if you give a **** what salty footy trolls from other teams think. If
FOG part of two IMMENSE plays in the last qtr.

The handball out of congestion to Crippa on the wing that freed him up to hit Charlie on the lead - goal

But..that almost contrived “squeezed” kick to TDK with the Dees guy streaming front on towards him even better. Another clutch goal resulted.

2 of our 3 final qtr goals due to his classy work

This makes him so valuable in the big time, very measured under pressure, kudos to him
fogs a gun and it shows you where he stands in the team that he not only gets picked after a down week but gets a bigger role. This guy is ticking every box the coaches ask of him. Selfless. Absolutely staying in the team

That game indicated that we were the better side when fresher, but Melbourne came back as we tired and lost run.

We dominated early but didn't get the scoreboard reward. After half time we got out to a 14 point lead and they reeled it back in by 3 quarter time. Again in the last, we get out to an 18 point lead and they nearly catch us at the end.

We still need all the run we can get, which will keep Hollands in ahead of a few others IMO.
I love what Hollands is doing.
Didn't have a lot of it yesterday, 10 touches, but half of them were score involvements, and 2 goal assists!

That said, we're getting Walsh and Cez back. I think he's probably the one to go out. Not sure he currently has the body for first choice September action.

Only if he needs a rest.

Our players have become very smart in 50/50 contests...

Instead of taking possession and potentially getting tackled and creating a stoppage they tap to advantage of a team mate or to themselves to keep the ball moving.

It really adds a lot of excitement to the viewing.

Keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Its everything the bulldogs (2016 flag), tiggies (3x flags) and filth (this year) have been doing but with a lot more intensity and tackling ferocity.

Fogarty 18 touches and 7 tackles for a high half forward.

People were calling for him to be dropped after 1 poor game.

Take a bow son
Yep, I was one of them. Shame on me, Fog was trucking awesome. Really did not think he was capable of that performance.

He keeps that level of impact up and he is definitely best 23 in my book.

Newman couldn't miss a tackle if he lost both arms at the moment. Sticking everything.

Not sure if it's fair that Blake Acres twin gets to play every week either. One player xant cover that much ground, surely.

Jack Martin, just never get hurt again, please. Unbelievable intangibles.

Oh Captain my Captain!

Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.