Position 2023 Rookies

1681365244093.png

1681365248122.png

1681365252382.png

giphy.gif

I'm on the Wagner hype train. I'm tempted to go early on him ahead of van Rooyen or Young. Worst case he's my DEF/MID loop for the year (I don't have Madden)

Half back with pace, something Freo desperately need

Hammy injury in the preseason killed his chances of a round 1 start

I'm on the Wagner hype train. I'm tempted to go early on him ahead of van Rooyen or Young. Worst case he's my DEF/MID loop for the year (I don't have Madden)

Half back with pace, something Freo desperately need

Hammy injury in the preseason killed his chances of a round 1 start

My man's been delisted twice, and not by good teams (North and then 2019 Melbourne).

Could end up being a Baker-style rook, but I wouldn't want to go in blind with him, as he's been a terrible player at AFL-level so far.

My man's been delisted twice, and not by good teams (North and then 2019 Melbourne).

Could end up being a Baker-style rook, but I wouldn't want to go in blind with him, as he's been a terrible player at AFL-level so far.
Oh yes, logic says don't do it. But he was a small pressure forward in the past, now he's a running half back. 26 years old, last chance at AFL footy, obviously giving it a red hot crack.

Had a ripper preseason at Freo, aside from the hammy in match-sim

Wagner was runner-up in multiple runs

I need a rookie this week, and I reckon van Rooyen gets dropped soon, Ryan gets monstered and scores 30s, 40s and 50s, and Young doesn't make much money. Also I can loop Wagner, who I think can score big in this role

Mind vs heart

Wait on Wagner. Perfect downgrade option in a few weeks
Who do I take then?

I already have Greene, Caminiti and Chandler. If I get van Rooyen, I can't get Williams next week (another FWD only rookie). Also if I take van Rooyen, it means he's on field, and Mackenzie goes to the bench. Also I can't loop my D6.
Same goes with Ryan (and I already have Esava at R3).
A DEF rookie is perfect for me, I can get Young, but he is a KPD, so won't score more than 60.

All crap options in my eyes :(

Young vs van Rooyen vs Ryan vs take a punt and go early on somebody

I don't think any of van Rooyen, Ryan and Young make me more than $100k

Who do I take then?

I already have Greene, Caminiti and Chandler. If I get van Rooyen, I can't get Williams next week (another FWD only rookie). Also if I take van Rooyen, it means he's on field, and Mackenzie goes to the bench. Also I can't loop my D6.
A DEF rookie is perfect for me, I can get Young, but he is a KPD, so won't score more than 60.

I personally don't envisage a situation where JVR doesn't get a long hard crack in the senior side. I think you're overestimating BBB and TMac at this stage of their careers. JVR's ability to crash packs and defend is gold imo, he will comfortably make it to 250k, much like Chandler has

I think the coach loves Brown and TMac, and they're kicking goals.

If Gawn is really back in 1-2 weeks, then that's a worry.

When the 90 drops out of his 3-rd-avg, if he scores ~50 again this week, he won't make much money at all.

I still don't truly believe the 1-2 weeks for Max. They will play it very cautiously with him.

Melbourne's next 4 opponents - Dons, Tigers (team is obliterated), NM and GC. Could see him have a game amongst those where he nabs 3-4 goals and takes a few big contested marks. The supply the forwards will get will be huge

Plus you have to remember that GF's aren't won in April. Melbourne faded hard last year. In the back of Goody's mind it's 100% in his best interest to develop JVR now and keep BBB, TMac, Lever, May etc fresh for when it matters. Hearing rumours Lever is out this week also

I still don't truly believe the 1-2 weeks for Max. They will play it very cautiously with him.

Melbourne's next 4 opponents - Dons, Tigers (team is obliterated), NM and GC. Could see him have a game amongst those where he nabs 3-4 goals and takes a few big contested marks. The supply the forwards will get will be huge
Aside from van Rooyen, I have another issue

I have Chandler, Caminiti and Greene as FWD only rooks
Add van Rooyen this week
Williams might be a must-have next week (playing half back; took 2 kick-ins)
My team structure adjusts when Zieb and Sheez can move to DEF (rookies off field elsewhere), but it's still a mess

JVR only had 3 kicks against a WCE side, last week, scared me off

Add van Rooyen this week
My team structure adjusts when Zieb and Sheez can move to DEF (rookies off field elsewhere), but it's still a mess

Williams could be sought next week after another cash rise from Chandler imo (could be around $285k) if you become desperate to grab him.

Who do I take then?

JvR probably makes $100k in two weeks though. And will play plenty through the year. No guarantee Williams is worth it next week.

And you should know better than taking a rookie before their first game. It's a bad idea at any point, let alone in round 5.

Add van Rooyen this week
Johnson from Freo might get a full game this week, they have a few outs apparently. Not going to make fast cash, but will be in-and-around the team.