List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread II - Goldy&Bucket➡️✅/'24 EoFR & #44➡️Stephens&#25✅/#21&#25➡️Fisher&#17✅/'24 EoFR➡️#18✅

Jy's gotta be the most popular bloke in the league. I reckon Oliver's the fourth or fifth BEST mate I've heard that he has
He's the first player I heard Jy was mates with, years ago. Grew up together near Shep, meth capital of the known universe.

Bottom line.

Oliver is on the gear and is out of control.

Do. Not. Touch.
dave chappelle drugs GIF

Its ******* hilarious that we could get him and still get a couple first round draft picks this year. Our draft hand really is something else.
We could actually afford to burn some draft capital on him if he's partying too much, on the chance that when he comes good he'll rip it apart again but we'd have to be careful it wasn't too much we still want picks 2,3 and something under 20 this year.

Also how does this go?

If he has behaviour issues do we get him right or does he go off the (or on) rails and take Tarryn with him?

We potentially have a lot to lose that we've already invested time and effort into.

His disposal has been pox for years now.

I'm not saying he's overrated or doesn't deserve the awards he's won. I'm venting my frustration that he hasn't taken that step from elite to goat. That's unfair on the individual now that I type it out, as that final step to goat is exponentially hard to achieve.

I wouldn't take Oliver for picks. I would trade him for a gun player to fill holes elsewhere other than midfield. The way the collective midfield stood up in Oliver's absence can't be ignored.

This, before today's article;

I'm starting to get a bit worried about our midfield depth. Depending on what decisions Harmes and Brayshaw make regarding their future, we might be going from clearly far too many inside mids on the list to absolutely zero back ups.

I am neutral on Oliver myself. That last game he just blindly dumped the ball into the F50 still upsets me.

Then there was the bombing inside 50 come finals especially against Colling where Oliver was one of the biggest culprits and has been for majority of his career. It's cost us games and finals.

Oliver is signed until he's 33, you reckon he's close to requesting a trade?

Quotes from dees board.

Harmes is out, brayshaw may not play on, so trade Oliver???

Are people seriously turning their noses up at Oliver 😂

Before people throw shade about his extra curricular activities, who do you think he hits the town with regularly?
Something up noses by the looks of things.

Nothing wrong with partying if it doesn't mess up your footy performance or your teammates performance. But if it does then it will **** us up big time.

So that's the risk with this situation.

We could actually afford to burn some draft capital on him if he's partying too much, on the chance that when he comes good he'll rip it apart again but we'd have to be careful it wasn't too much we still want picks 2,3 and something under 20 this year.

Also how does this go?

If he has behaviour issues do we get him right or does he go off the (or on) rails and take Tarryn with him?

We potentially have a lot to lose that we've already invested time and effort into.
Honestly mate, I got no answers on this one.

He's one of the best players in the comp. I'd drop 3 on him in a heartbeat if there wasn't good reasons to believe he was in a bad way.
Who know if he's got strikes already

In Viney I trust, I guess.

A premiership team right in the middle of their window looking to trade out arguably their best player screams alarms bells.

Considering all the red flags and the big long term contract any trade would have to weigh heavily in the oppositions favour.

Also the info getting leaked about Oliver criticising Melbourne’s medical staff, not showing up to end of season club events and not being professional just about makes his position at Melbourne untenable. Why would someone at Melbourne release that info and potentially decrease his value? His manager would never release that info as it as the potential to cost his client hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Something doesn’t add up here imo.

Purely spitballing here but perhaps salary cap issues with Melbourne? Potentially trying to offload him to balance the books but want to paint it as if he is the issue?
Similarities to how we traded out BBB. Doesn't look the type but could he have possibly had a strike or two. Dunno if that was my mind reading into a previous post showing a "bag" could also explain his mysterious hamstring injury.

Great didn't sleep last night after Johnny Holmes Ralph with his 573 money shots in movies to his name posted a clear click bait article then reneged it this morning, now I'm in a fit at Clayton Oliver picking to come to North in his prime after we finished 17th 18th 18th 17th and with more holes in the list then swiss cheese, plus costing us pick 2 or 3 in the deal. Well looks like no sleep again tonight, I hate Bigfooty.

Also how does this go?

That's a good point re Tarryn, v hard to bring someone into the club with behavior issues and slot him straight into the team when Tarryn has been stood down for his misdemeanors. Sure wasn't on our watch but its bordering on double standards.

Great didn't sleep last night after Johnny Holmes Ralph with his 573 money shots in movies to his name posted a clear click bait article then reneged it this morning, now I'm in a fit at Clayton Oliver picking to come to North in his prime after we finished 17th 18th 18th 17th and with more holes in the list then swiss cheese, plus costing us pick 2 or 3 in the deal. Well looks like no sleep again tonight, I hate Bigfooty.

It was a nice article to wake up to though..."aahhhh, the age clause.... how did I miss the age clause"...

Hey Ralph, if i wanted a roller-coaster i'd go to the show.

I lol’d

A lot of you guys would be make fantastic girlfriends.

No, better yet. You’d be a perfect fit down at *

‘BUT I CAN FIX HIM!’
I could fix him real good but we'd probably want him back on earth at some stage...

Crikey a few of you must be like lambs to the slaughter when you buy a house or car.

Oliver getting shopped is the equivalent of painting over the mould. Or winding back the odometer.

Before someone protests "but Clarko" - as much as I believe in him, this is the coach who flamed out with Scully, Garlett and Patton himself.

Clayton Oliver - do not touch.

Scully, Garlett and Patton cost them SFA, and given the state of their list were definitely worth a gamble.

Oliver is a completely different scenario. But luckily we won’t have to make that decision. No way he chooses us

Reid and Oliver and all these names being thrown around.
Would I love them at North? Yes.
But at the price they will cost? F*** no.

You take 2, 3 and 4 or 5 to the draft, get three guns in and call it a day.
Why limit our draft value on one player? Makes no sense.

If North is smart it will roll all its future picks into engineering future 1st round picks that it trades for from other clubs and keeps the cycle of having at minimum two 1st rounders every year. Similar to GWS when its talent leaves and they get a top up and go to the draft with two 1st rounders each year.
Except we use picks as our assets.