List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

It would be great to have these three all playing the footy of a couple of years ago, but in reality, Paton broke a leg and doing OK but not quite as good, Coff ACL and related injuries and out for two seasons and probably won't be as good as he was, and Clark with his serious upper body injuries and looks proppy- nowhere near as confident in the contest as he once was. Not sure if they would attract huge interest.

What information do you have that would suggest Coffield won't be as good as he was?

I'll play devil's advocate again here. 2020 Coff had a breakout year and was superb. 2021 he was putrid and spent large parts of the season in the VFL. Did his ACL 2022 offseason and has now missed two years as a result of that injury.

The odds are that Coff is a bust. He has only shown he can play half back and we have plenty of good players in that position. Offering him a three year deal on the basis of potential he showed four years ago would be a big risk. I doubt he has much interest elsewhere and my guess is he'll sign a one year deal with us but sadly he needs a lot to go right to get his career back on track.
How do you work out that Coff is most likely a bust?

Super talented kid, has break out year, gets ahead of himself & works out that he needs to put his head down & bum up. Works his arse off the next preseason then blows his knee out.

As I've posted a number of times, Coff hasn't lost his talent... he had a serious injury & then soft tissue injuries that often follow an ACL.

Anyone who saw him in the VFL a few weeks ago can attest to his ability (albeit against rubbish oppo).

He would be picked up in an instant if we don't re-sign him or offer him a rubbish deal.

The only thing he needs to get right is his body, which is looking really positive right now. He is not a Freeman like crock FFS

Possibly but he missed two years from an ACL, it's pretty concerning.
That's a very misleading statement.

Did his knee in Feb 2022. 12 month recovery so missed all 2022 & 22/23 preseason.

Did bad calf when he was set to return.

Was held back (like a number of players returning from injury have been) & now has been fully fit for a month.

How do you work out that Coff is most likely a bust?

Super talented kid, has break out year, gets ahead of himself & works out that he needs to put his head down & bum up. Works his arse off the next preseason then blows his knee out.

As I've posted a number of times, Coff hasn't lost his talent... he had a serious injury & then soft tissue injuries that often follow an ACL.

Anyone who saw him in the VFL a few weeks ago can attest to his ability (albeit against rubbish oppo).

He would be picked up in an instant if we don't re-sign him or offer him a rubbish deal.

The only thing he needs to get right is his body, which is looking really positive right now. He is not a Freeman like crock FFS
I would love him to make it as much as you mate but when a player hasn't played good AFL footy in three years they are up against it. On average it would point to a bust.

All i'll say on Coffield,Clark & Paton is we are & can win without them & in reality if we are not to be a middle of the road side changes needs to happen, you can't keep players on potential alone all clubs have turn overs os around 20% player per year.

I believe the clubs see's the players we drafted last year as part of our future & will back them in ahead of a proven players that have been in the system long enough to be worked out.

I would love him to make it as much as you mate but when a player hasn't played good AFL footy in three years they are up against it. On average it would point to a bust.
Got way more hope for Coff than Clark.

Clark's allergeic to the gym and runs like a 45 year old guy playing local twos

If Howard is on the way out, the current market for KPDs plays right into our hands.
It lets us dictate the price and force Sydney to cater to us to facilitate a trade, otherwise they take a gamble on another fringe player in a year where they want to be contending again.

It's a fantastic position to be in if that's the path we choose

If Howard is on the way out, the current market for KPDs plays right into our hands.
It lets us dictate the price and force Sydney to cater to us to facilitate a trade, otherwise they take a gamble on another fringe player in a year where they want to be contending again.

It's a fantastic position to be in if that's the path we choose
Yeah exactly. Ideally we probably wouldn't want to lose Doug without a replacement. But if the asking price is inflated because of lack of supply and we think Cordy or a budget buy replacement can help us for 1-2 years like Nath Brown did, I think we go for it based on where we are with this list (aiming to build around King, Owens and co not the top bunch)

Teams willing to overpay for a key back like Doug are at the other end of the timeline from us and are probably trying to win it all asap

Add Hotton and Keeler to that group once they break into the team and we’ll be the draft kings
From what I have seen at training, I have high hopes for Hotton.
Keeler could be Nic Nat or Spencer White.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jesus you guys are like a bunch of Neil Mitchell listeners. Owens is looking high potential. He might become a star. Newcombe is already way ahead of him he's being talked about in the AA conversation. It has nothing to do with age. You don't get participation awards in footy.
Owens is already a star and is being talked about with Cheezel and Anderson as the rising star.
If you can't see Owens is our highest quality footballer since Roo at the footy club you are being deliberately obtuse.

The kid is 19 and will be a superstar.

That 2017 draft from most sides perspective is quite underwhelming to be honest. I think there probably has only been about 10-15 decent AFL players from that total draft that you could say improved their team. I'd say Patton would still be in St.Kilda's plans as Webster is already 30 so you need a replacement down the line as a lock down defender, I'm still hoping Ben can do that as I don't think he has that much of a skillset to play in another position. Clark has talent but incredibly slow and has a limited tank which is a quintessential skill required in today's game, especially midfield. Coffield is also slow but probably has a little more upside as his kicking is pretty decent, but probably has Battle to contend with.

Owens is already a star and is being talked about with Cheezel and Anderson as the rising star.
If you can't see Owens is our highest quality footballer since Roo at the footy club you are being deliberately obtuse.

The kid is 19 and will be a superstar.

Max is the best we've had since Roo. The doubt on him by some supporters is wild. Stood up in a final and kicked 50-60 goals last year. Has done it all without a real big/established forward next to him as well. Has got the #1 defender from game 1.

Wild to think supporters on here underrate him and what he does already.

I like the idea of recriting from Ireland because you never know if you can pick up a Leprechaun and turn into a dynamic small forward.

Plus we do with some luck of the Irish.

Max is the best we've had since Roo. The doubt on him by some supporters is wild. Stood up in a final and kicked 50-60 goals last year. Has done it all without a real big/established forward next to him as well. Has got the #1 defender from game 1.

Wild to think supporters on here underrate him and what he does already.
WTF is underrated King? He is a key forward.
Owens, like Roo (who was in reality a wingman) can play forward, up the ground, in the mids, chop out at ruck and is a contested ball beast.
King is a fantastic get and will be a great player. A lazy 6 with a busted wing going half rat pace tells us everything we need to know.
I just happen to opine that Owens is a better all round prospect. We are fortunate.

To extrapolate that out to underrating King is ludicrous but not unexpected on here.

I reckon we'd want to replace him first. It looks like a classic Saints move where you pay a lot for a player, sell them cheap then panic buy another B grader for more than you got for the guy you got rid of.
Lucky we've still got a couple of games against some pretty good forwards to see exactly what Cordy can do.
He's still young - maybe he'll be the find for us now that he's playing his preferred position.

Owens, like Roo (who was in reality a wingman) can play forward, up the ground, in the mids, chop out at ruck and is a contested ball beast.
King is a fantastic get and will be a great player. A lazy 6 with a busted wing going half rat pace tells us everything we need to know.
I just happen to opine that Owens is a better all round prospect. We are fortunate.

To extrapolate that out to underrating King is ludicrous but not unexpected on here.

I can’t think of a player under 21 in the comp that I would rather have than Owens. The amazing thing is that I think we’re only scratching the surface of what he’s fully capable of.
If he were at any other club most of this forum would be asking why don’t get players like him.

So why on earth havnt they signed Nick coffield
His ceiling is as high as anyone’s
I can’t believe the narrative out there is that he probably won’t be at stkilda next year..🤷
If we lose him I'll be more p....d than i was losing "space cadet" :rolleyes: Acres who is doing really well in a decent team.
I hated him being part of that trade.

It would be great to have these three all playing the footy of a couple of years ago, but in reality, Paton broke a leg and doing OK but not quite as good, Coff ACL and related injuries and out for two seasons and probably won't be as good as he was, and Clark with his serious upper body injuries and looks proppy- nowhere near as confident in the contest as he once was. Not sure if they would attract huge interest.
I think they’ll have plenty of interest from clubs looking at bargains. These guys can play and my guess is someone will back them in to get back to full fitness. What I doubt you’ll see is anyone offering anything that would temp me to part with them, Imo we’re better off backing them in after all what do we have to loose. We will have plenty of list spots without getting rid of guys who can play. I’ll go out on a limb here but of all the guys mentioned so far including Howard and Gresham not one is getting us a first unless we sweeten the deal in some manner.

The other side of the equation is who are we bring in and at what cost, Henry has been mentioned, Flanders has been talked about on here, Darcy at one stage. Good luck getting any of those guys for a bargain price and then we’re right back to why are we paying top dollar when the club thinks we‘re a fair way off?, none of this makes sense to me at this stage. Things will undoubtably become clearer in a month or two but I think our best course of action is to take our first to the draft and look for some undervalued young guys and maybe a veteran who can sore up the midfield and provide depth.

I just can’t see how we’re doing anything major without letting someone with real value go, have any of our cunning plans ever actually worked.

Can we really afford to have half a dozen guys sitting in the rehab group all year again? DMac, Jones and Coff have hardly played in two years, what are the chances they're suddenly going to be injury free and playing good footy for us?
DMac (sadly) and Jones - I agree. Doesn't look good for them.
Coffield is a whole different situation. Plenty come good off ACL's ( see both Kings for example) and he is still young enough.

Lucky we've still got a couple of games against some pretty good forwards to see exactly what Cordy can do.
He's still young - maybe he'll be the find for us now that he's playing his preferred position.
Ross & Co could not of script it any better,Doogs goes down with an injury & he gets to see what life is like without him ptherwise it would of been a guessing game, untimely injury for Doogs.

Tomlinson would come cheap as well. Got a few years left to cover the kids while they develop. Elite trainer as well
Now he’s a good example of a player who can help us and won’t cost much. You add another player like that, hopefully a young guy, draft well and that’s a good offseason imo. It also doesn’t require slashing lists or trading guys for peanuts.

Give me the young key forward who had nearly 100 shots on goal in his third season

DMac (sadly) and Jones - I agree. Doesn't look good for them.
Coffield is a whole different situation. Plenty come good off ACL's ( see both Kings for example) and he is still young enough.
He hasn't had a clear run back from the ACL though. The ACL has led to a bunch of soft tissue injuries causing him to miss nearly two seasons.