List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

I reckon we'd want to replace him first. It looks like a classic Saints move where you pay a lot for a player, sell them cheap then panic buy another B grader for more than you got for the guy you got rid of.
We can replace him with Cordy no problem. It's a patch up job for a year or so till the kids cone through.
TBH Nas and Wilkie are the only backs that are guaranteed to be there in 2 years.

It doesn't make a lot of sense. The turnover being discussed is North at rockbottom levels or what West Coast is now being forced to do.

I'm confident that our football department is better in most ways at the moment but Gubby and Sos are my biggest concerns. They will make or break the club's chances with what they do over the next few seasons.

Agreed. Plus with the impending inclusion of Tassie and all the concessions will be thrown their way, we can't really afford to screw it up again.

Why limit it to next year's Brownlow? The point is we have young blokes that have as much upside or even now more in the case of Chito.
Anyway the Brownlow is an award for mids.
Freo has not gone past us, I don't care for excuses, we have gone past them, we just crushed Hawthorn and our kids
Pou
Chito
Naz
Windy
Hammer
Titanic
will all get better as they grow together.
Haven't even seen Hotton, Van Es and Keeler.
We really need to consolidate this draft, that's why I am so wild at the AFL completely undermining us with these corrupt legups for Gold Coast and Norf.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
So why on earth havnt they signed Nick coffield
His ceiling is as high as anyone’s
I can’t believe the narrative out there is that he probably won’t be at stkilda next year..🤷

Whilst we cannot be patient with our need to draft potentially premium players we cannot be reckless.
There is a tendency on here to undervalue our GOF that have exposed form for a name and draft position at another club.

Carlton are getting it done with in effect 4 no names rather than Walsh and Harry McK et al.

Hawthorn got Newcombe for a bag of chips....our three most effective players came from rookie selections. Our captain was a hand off.

We have a pretty strong football department now and Toce has shown a capacity to get some real talent at bargain prices. Let's see what they can do.

We were lauded with getting an early pick from Hawthorn that got us Coff and Clarke...now we are happy to let them go for sfa....to possibly then go and repeat the process.

It seems to many to be a shallow draft and may not get through the whole 3rd round.

So moving on say JB for a 3rd may not even result in a pick. Providing SC space is only valuable if getting a premium player..otherwise it just means a pay rise to the existing team for potentially a reward for what may be an average year.

We have a good batch of young players coming through which we need to add to so let's use our draft picks however we also need to keep experienced campaigners to provide on field support and guidance to allow them to develop.

We need some more draft quality every club always wants more....we have had a heap of experience and talent on the sidelines that need to get back to playing regularly. Coff DMac Hayes Membrey Jones....which will get sfa for on a trade...best to keep them round...viz Joel Smith.

We got 50 games this year out of Wood Stocker and Caminti for nothing. NOTHING.

There are clearly some players that are not rated that will go Connolly Highmore and Paton are sadly just not good enough for starters and I am sure decisions on Jones and Allison have been made Gresh looks gone maybe another so that's 6 players in a 3 round shallow draft...that means bringing in at least 2 from other clubs or dfa.

IMHO not a year to be making wholesale list changes. Getting Coff DMac and Hayes playing consistantly will be like 3 new recruits to our draft hand....issue becomes where do you fit them all in the firsts for next year.

We look to be playing finals with a very banged up list with high unavailability throughout thie year things could be much worse.

Maybe Coff DMac and Hayes et al could be the 4 no names that have helped Carlton...maybe they are the oh year remember thems.

Go Saints bring on 2024

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So why on earth havnt they signed Nick coffield
His ceiling is as high as anyone’s
I can’t believe the narrative out there is that he probably won’t be at stkilda next year..🤷
I'll play devil's advocate again here. 2020 Coff had a breakout year and was superb. 2021 he was putrid and spent large parts of the season in the VFL. Did his ACL 2022 offseason and has now missed two years as a result of that injury.

The odds are that Coff is a bust. He has only shown he can play half back and we have plenty of good players in that position. Offering him a three year deal on the basis of potential he showed four years ago would be a big risk. I doubt he has much interest elsewhere and my guess is he'll sign a one year deal with us but sadly he needs a lot to go right to get his career back on track.

I have feeling that Hayes was an experiment that worked ok for a couple of games until he got injured, but maybe might not be in the bigger picture as we go on.

At least you know they'll have a crack. Rightly or wrongly we've been fairly inept at securing good trades or improving our Draft hand over the long run.

Those two will make or break the list but either way, at least it won't remain a middling team. I can get around that!

On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Whilst we cannot be patient with our need to draft potentially premium players we cannot be reckless.
There is a tendency on here to undervalue our GOF that have exposed form for a name and draft position at another club.

Carlton are getting it done with in effect 4 no names rather than Walsh and Harry McK et al.

Hawthorn got Newcombe for a bag of chips....our three most effective players came from rookie selections. Our captain was a hand off.

We have a pretty strong football department now and Toce has shown a capacity to get some real talent at bargain prices. Let's see what they can do.

We were lauded with getting an early pick from Hawthorn that got us Coff and Clarke...now we are happy to let them go for sfa....to possibly then go and repeat the process.

It seems to many to be a shallow draft and may not get through the whole 3rd round.

So moving on say JB for a 3rd may not even result in a pick. Providing SC space is only valuable if getting a premium player..otherwise it just means a pay rise to the existing team for potentially a reward for what may be an average year.

We have a good batch of young players coming through which we need to add to so let's use our draft picks however we also need to keep experienced campaigners to provide on field support and guidance to allow them to develop.

We need some more draft quality every club always wants more....we have had a heap of experience and talent on the sidelines that need to get back to playing regularly. Coff DMac Hayes Membrey Jones....which will get sfa for on a trade...best to keep them round...viz Joel Smith.

We got 50 games this year out of Wood Stocker and Caminti for nothing. NOTHING.

There are clearly some players that are not rated that will go Connolly Highmore and Paton are sadly just not good enough for starters and I am sure decisions on Jones and Allison have been made Gresh looks gone maybe another so that's 6 players in a 3 round shallow draft...that means bringing in at least 2 from other clubs or dfa.

IMHO not a year to be making wholesale list changes. Getting Coff DMac and Hayes playing consistantly will be like 3 new recruits to our draft hand....issue becomes where do you fit them all in the firsts for next year.

We look to be playing finals with a very banged up list with high unavailability throughout thie year things could be much worse.

Maybe Coff DMac and Hayes et al could be the 4 no names that have helped Carlton...maybe they are the oh year remember thems.

Go Saints bring on 2024

Can we really afford to have half a dozen guys sitting in the rehab group all year again? DMac, Jones and Coff have hardly played in two years, what are the chances they're suddenly going to be injury free and playing good footy for us?

If we trade too many players it will set us back years.

We will already delist
Connolly
Highmore
Bytel
Peris ?
Jones ?
Mckenzie

+
Gresham
Clark?
Membrey?
Billings?
Coffield?
Paton?

That is a lot of bloody players. This will be bigger than our 2019 draft period
No way we can afford to get rid of that many whether its by trading or delisting as most of them don't have a lot of value

Can we really afford to have half a dozen guys sitting in the rehab group all year again? DMac, Jones and Coff have hardly played in two years, what are the chances they're suddenly going to be injury free and playing good footy for us?
What and have more players like Connolly Highmore Allison stinking it up in the 2s instead. They cost the same in time investment as our injured players just they are doing it on field.
At least Coff DMac and Hayes can footy to the level required....much rather that risk for another year than having a plethora of late picks no names stinking it up in the 2s hoping and praying one is good enough.

Tom Ledger Curren the list goes on.

Also much rather have an injury bust that we have monitored rather than getting one from another club like Freeman, which I thought at the time was a good risk.

Exposed form under our noses is the least risk approach.

Given the nature of Coffield's injuries, I'd put him in a different injury category than DMac and Jones.

Just watch every one of Clark, coffield and a criminally underrated Paton go on to play very good football with other teams while we have a bag of manic beans.
Sometimes that’s the way footy goes unfortunately. Some players just need that change of scenery. We’ve had some luck come our way with that, although not so much with chronically injured players.

I’d rather we keep Coffield and Clark for another year (possibly with a trigger for a second year) but I’d be hesitant to give them a straight two years each. If they get a two year offer from another club and take it, then so be it. We won’t get much for either sadly.

Just watch every one of Clark, coffield and a criminally underrated Paton go on to play very good football with other teams while we have a bag of manic beans.
It would be great to have these three all playing the footy of a couple of years ago, but in reality, Paton broke a leg and doing OK but not quite as good, Coff ACL and related injuries and out for two seasons and probably won't be as good as he was, and Clark with his serious upper body injuries and looks proppy- nowhere near as confident in the contest as he once was. Not sure if they would attract huge interest.