List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Wood is a gun
Someone saw something in him and knew he got a shit run and that he just needed to get fit and have a chance to get a real crack at it

Is one of those first picked every week for me

Blokes like this u def keep at the club If u can
Wonder if that's beens spoke about with him, or weather he wants to and do his own thing after footy
🤔

Wood is a gun
Someone saw something in him and knew he got a s**t run and that he just needed to get fit and have a chance to get a real crack at it

Wonder if that's beens spoke about with him, or weather he wants to and do his own thing after footy
🤔
Another Gallagher master stroke

Old mate SOS has some big boots to fill

Our future first , current second and third , and Gresham compensation...
For Flanders and GC Suns current first.

Use GC pick for Sanders if available , or Duursma.

Use our first for Koen Sanchez.

Position: Small forward/midfielder

Size: 176cm

Clubs: East Fremantle/Applecross Mt Pleasant

A pocket rocket who pushed up a few draft boards during the carnival, booting 6.8 and averaging 18 disposals and nine contested possessions for WA. Sanchez played in the midfield for two games and inside 50 for the other two – and clubs were particularly thrilled by Sanchez’s output when he played closer to goal as he showed off his powerful kick, goal sense, speed and agility. After being hampered by hip and groin issues for several years, Sanchez is thriving — and has a growing list of fans at AFL club level.
No way Dirty Sanchez is going top 20 let alone possibly 11/12.

Can’t wait till we get the Mason Wood chant humming around the G on Saturday arvo!

Our salary cap situation isn’t great. A lot of B grade players on inflated deals. Gresham leaving will help somewhat but more would need to happen for us to bring players in.

I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Billings is likely gone
Gresh Gone
Howard gone for the right price
Membrey potentially gone for the right price
Zones on a significantly reduced contract
Clark and Coffield a 50/50 to stay
McKenzie likely delisted due to injury

that would be a significant amount coming off the books, and would also be most of the hyperinflated contracts that we have

Girthy is genuinely one of the best recruits we’ve ever had.

Criminally underrated as both a player, and person.

The kids on our list absolutely LOVE him.

???
Wood I assume? But Girthy?

This is totally and completely incorrect.
You are correct they made space the year before last year in case the Ben King deal came around.
Dunstan was moved on and it has to be remembered we were offering DeGoey big money so they had the cash.

On top of these players leaving - Long , Ryder etc , Billings and Ross had big reductions in there contracts and all these players that were replaced were replaced with guys from the draft.

And this year a lone they could easily be moving on more than 2 million in salary cap with Jones, Billings, Gresham , McKenzie , Clark.

So they have the fire power to really go after a elite player if one become available.

Reckon Norff will land pick 1 after a voluntary reaming from WC

WC take their new FB with p2

Hawks won't bid on GC's boy at 3

GC keep p4 and will need a massive load of points.

Saints lose Clark, Gresh, Doogs, Pato, JB and have a fist full of points to offer.

Saints land Bing and Ned for a future 1st and 4x 2ndRDPs
Dow for not much.
Keep our 1st and a couple of 3rds for the draft.

Not sure that even the pessimists didn't say we could make finals. Most just think we are unlikely to in a flag with this list. Sounds like even the club think it's a fair bit of talent short and are about to get pretty proactive. I think Ross Lyon's system has covered a fair bit of the shortfall too. If Ratts had lost King and Membrey going into the season I reckon we'd be getting very high pick this draft.
Making finals helps encourage the talent to want to come to Saints. Win win.

Reckon Norff will land pick 1 after a voluntary reaming from WC

WC take their new FB with p2

Hawks won't bid on GC's boy at 3

GC keep p4 and will need a massive load of points.

Saints lose Clark, Gresh, Doogs, Pato, JB and have a fist full of points to offer.

Saints land Bing and Ned for a future 1st and 4x 2ndRDPs
Dow for not much.
Keep our 1st and a couple of 3rds for the draft.
SOS and Gubby would get individual statues of them in Moorabbin if this were to occur

Making finals helps encourage the talent to want to come to Saints. Win win.

I'm certainly not complaining about making finals. Like the Hawks say, you are better to drill standards into a side than learn to lose. GC hasn't been able to break out of the bottom half of the ladder despite pooling some of the best talent of any side in history.

AFL 360 saying Bailey Smith will stay at Dogs

Wood is a gun
Someone saw something in him and knew he got a s**t run and that he just needed to get fit and have a chance to get a real crack at it

🤔
Lethers apparently rang Brad Scott to see if Mason was worth taking a punt on…Brad had no hesitation & the rest is history!!

I'm certainly not complaining about making finals. Like the Hawks say, you are better to drill standards into a side than learn to lose. GC hasn't been able to break out of the bottom half of the ladder despite pooling some of the best talent of any side in history.
And they have gone and got a coach that has shown what he can do with a talented list