Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Pick 1. (Richmond) – Jagga Smith
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro – MID, 182cm
Undeniably the most consistent talent throughout 2024, Jagga Smith is a lock for a long and productive career, which is what makes him a safer option at pick 1.
The smaller midfielder is a workhorse accumulator, with sharp ball skills, toughness, and evasiveness that makes him tough to defend and limit around the stoppage.

Pick 2. (North Melbourne) – Sam Lalor
GWV Rebels/Vic Country – MID/FWD, 188cm
If the Kangaroos are picking the next best talent, Lalor is a Dustin Martin prototype, packaged with explosiveness and power in the front half that can swing games and create big moments.
Lalor’s question marks surround his injury troubles in the past two years which would deter Richmond from taking him at 1, however, his X-Factor propels him above most others on the ground with his scoreboard impact and cleanliness around the stoppage.

Pick 3. (Carlton) – Finn O’Sullivan
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Country – MID, 182cm
Doing things most others can’t on the field, O’Sullivan is an elusive forward of centre player that offers speed and versatility that the Blues midfield demands.
With elite overhead ability and forward-half impact, O’Sullivan may have a similar impact to his cousin, Sam Walsh, at AFL level.

Pick 4. (Brisbane) – Levi Ashcroft
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro – MID, 178cm
Picks Given: 27,34,42,43,58
The only player in Talent League history to win three consecutive premierships, Levi Ashcroft has proven himself in every aspect. He is an excitement machine with competitiveness at stoppage and forward half flare that captivates viewers.
Ashcroft’s running power and footy smarts around the ground have translated at every level this year, including a 35 disposal and one goal game for Brisbane’s VFL side.

Pick 5. (Adelaide) – Sid Draper
South Adelaide/South Australia – MID, 182cm
The home-grown South Australian talent is dashing and daring with ball in hand, producing stellar performances at SANFL level to match it with senior bodies, which arguably makes him the most senior-ready among the top five prospects.
Draper’s low centre of gravity is incredible, making his ground ball efforts and forward-half movements near impossible to restrict.

The supremely talented Sam Lalor appears to be firming as the favourite to be taken at pick 1 in next weeks National Draft. Unfortunately, calling these FULL season highlights is rather wishful thinking on my part as Lalor suffered through a series of injuries in 2024 which severely limited the amount of footy he was able to play.

Thanks a bunch for all your videos mate, par excellance just like Sam Lalor himself... ;-)

Don’t mind Adelaide! The new gig has panned out pretty well so far. As an outsider now that I’ve actually had a close look at your list structure and contracts I’m surprised Reid didn’t cut deeper from the main list, even if it meant some contracted players (e.g. Brodie Smith) and pushing some money in other contracts back a year or two.

Pick 64 has come into 57 so far and I expect there to still be some players there that in other years might go in the late 2R. Being able to select a player there and match a later bid for Welsh would have been a great result if it eventuates. I suppose you still can if you burn Schoenberg and Burgess.

Also could have made an aggressive play for Dodson. It’s a gaping list hole and I don’t know how they’ve arrived at only having two 29yo ruckmen on the list depending on how you classify TT. Long term Dodson rucking with TT chopping out from the forward line would have been a good pairing, especially with his meniscal injury.
Letting Smith hit his contract extension trigger is the biggest fail.

After that, it's a big call to pay out a contract early, but probably justified for Burgess if we had a decent pick to play with.

So, 1 to 2 list spots short of where we should be. But made more obvious with having brought in 3 players in the trade period (big tick) and not having a ruck that isn't about to start cashing pension cheques (big cross).

Letting Smith hit his contract extension trigger is the biggest fail.

After that, it's a big call to pay out a contract early, but probably justified for Burgess if we had a decent pick to play with.

So, 1 to 2 list spots short of where we should be. But made more obvious with having brought in 3 players in the trade period (big tick) and not having a ruck that isn't about to start cashing pension cheques (big cross).
Absolutely bizarre. Good news is I paid out and delisted Smith before the last list lodgement so we have four picks in the national draft in 5 (O’Sullivan), 31 (Dodson), 57 (TBC) and 76 (TBC). Some of the club’s leaders were happy to push their salaries back by 1-2 years. We’ve turned the Burgess spot into Alex Dodson so pretty happy with that.

Back to reality and I thought the Crows did very well in trade period overall. ANB, Cumming and Peatling are all quality additions straight into best 22. Not only their ability but if you look at which players they push out they are fantastic acquisitions. Correct me if I’m wrong but seems the net result was:

OUT: 28 (now 31), F2
IN: ANB, Peatling, Cumming, F3 (GWS), F4 (GWS)

That’s outstanding. Looks a hell of a lot better than pick 14 for Liam f**king Baker.

Back to reality and I thought the Crows did very well in trade period overall. ANB, Cumming and Peatling are all quality additions straight into best 22. Not only their ability but if you look at which players they push out they are fantastic acquisitions. Correct me if I’m wrong but seems the net result was:

That’s outstanding. Looks a hell of a lot better than pick 14 for Liam f**king Baker.
I think most of us agree we did well in acquiring those players - A+ on that score

But having some deadwood still ( my opinion) in Smith and Shoenberg etc in this draft when we could have been more creative and have open options frustrates a few and in my opinion drops us to an A-

I think most of us agree we did well in acquiring those players - A+ on that score

But having some deadwood still ( my opinion) in Smith and Shoenberg etc in this draft when we could have been more creative and have open options frustrates a few and in my opinion drops us to an A-
Also could have traded one of Berry , Jones , Laird for a pick and open up a list spot

Glad we kept Berry

I still get the feel if Sid Draper is our target we are every chance to go hard for pick 2 on draft night, we may already have just can't sign off on it? Carlton perhaps have spooked us with their latest interview?
I doubt we do, although I think Carlton should take Draper. He’s exactly what’s missing from their midfield and can help them next year, given they’re likely in contention. FOS could be a big win for us if he’s there. Honestly though, I doubt North take Tauru if they stay at 2, it’s just too early, he’d be just about the most speculative #2 I can remember. They’re also a chance to take Draper.

Absolutely bizarre. Good news is I paid out and delisted Smith before the last list lodgement so we have four picks in the national draft in 5 (O’Sullivan), 31 (Dodson), 57 (TBC) and 76 (TBC). Some of the club’s leaders were happy to push their salaries back by 1-2 years. We’ve turned the Burgess spot into Alex Dodson so pretty happy with that.

Great drafting so far. If you can pick up a small forward (or massive slider) at 57 before the Welsh bid, that would be perfect.

Yes, 2x 2nds out and a 3rd and 4th in for 3 best 22 players. Particularly like Peatling's upside.

My commiserations on the Eagles trade period.

Mick Ablett is a real light weight & I don't value his opinions ......but if you crave Draft info, here's some more content from WA

They discuss Curtin at the 20 min mark of the tape

I still get the feel if Sid Draper is our target we are every chance to go hard for pick 2 on draft night, we may already have just can't sign off on it? Carlton perhaps have spooked us with their latest interview?
Or a deal may already be in place to ship some future picks to them with pick 4 for pick 2 if they are dead set on taking Tauru. If they are taking him, they are essentially getting free picks from us at no risk of losing the player they want.

But what Carlton interview are you referring to that spooked us?

Or a deal may already be in place to ship some future picks to them with pick 4 for pick 2 if they are dead set on taking Tauru. If they are taking him, they are essentially getting free picks from us at no risk of losing the player they want.

But what Carlton interview are you referring to that spooked us?

1731307577669.png

According to some on our board we just did the general rounds of all the SA talent last week… but the timing of this media is interesting to say the least.

Perhaps you should advise your own club on trades, particularly dealing with Richmond's Brando tactics.

Baker's a damn good player. I'd love him here.

I have been worried about Blues taking Draper . Being SA captain and crows fan - therefore little long term risk of losing him - and MAINLY being that breakaway pace mid we need I am open to getting up to pick 2 as others have mentioned. He is the one I imagine the club really wants. It just cant be using our F1 so options clearly are limited.

Would you give up 2 (or 3) of our third rounders next year (picks 40+) to get Swans F2 giving them points for Academy player (from my understanding). Then we offer Kangas that F2 for a slide to 4. Would clearly need to be agreed and loaded as soon as draft starts with a 3 way trade immediately. For Kangas they may want more but hard to achieve and they cant afford to let Dees possibly take Tauru at 5, hence Crows are their best bet for a trade (Gettable also mentioned this potential option during the week)

I personally would. Picks 40+ in a supposed weak draft when we will have the option of trading both 2026 and 2027 picks to get back into the second (third) round if needed.
If draper is gone and we get Smith then it's arguably a better outcome for us.

View attachment 2162935

According to some on our board we just did the general rounds of all the SA talent last week… but the timing of this media is interesting to say the least.
Smoke and mirrors is all this stuff. I still hold fast that you guys traded up primarily to try for FOS and if he is gone still get a great kid.

Pick 1. (Richmond) – Jagga Smith
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro – MID, 182cm
Undeniably the most consistent talent throughout 2024, Jagga Smith is a lock for a long and productive career, which is what makes him a safer option at pick 1.
The smaller midfielder is a workhorse accumulator, with sharp ball skills, toughness, and evasiveness that makes him tough to defend and limit around the stoppage.

Pick 2. (North Melbourne) – Sam Lalor
GWV Rebels/Vic Country – MID/FWD, 188cm
If the Kangaroos are picking the next best talent, Lalor is a Dustin Martin prototype, packaged with explosiveness and power in the front half that can swing games and create big moments.
Lalor’s question marks surround his injury troubles in the past two years which would deter Richmond from taking him at 1, however, his X-Factor propels him above most others on the ground with his scoreboard impact and cleanliness around the stoppage.

Pick 3. (Carlton) – Finn O’Sullivan
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Country – MID, 182cm
Doing things most others can’t on the field, O’Sullivan is an elusive forward of centre player that offers speed and versatility that the Blues midfield demands.
With elite overhead ability and forward-half impact, O’Sullivan may have a similar impact to his cousin, Sam Walsh, at AFL level.

Pick 4. (Brisbane) – Levi Ashcroft
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro – MID, 178cm
Picks Given: 27,34,42,43,58
The only player in Talent League history to win three consecutive premierships, Levi Ashcroft has proven himself in every aspect. He is an excitement machine with competitiveness at stoppage and forward half flare that captivates viewers.
Ashcroft’s running power and footy smarts around the ground have translated at every level this year, including a 35 disposal and one goal game for Brisbane’s VFL side.

Pick 5. (Adelaide) – Sid Draper
South Adelaide/South Australia – MID, 182cm
The home-grown South Australian talent is dashing and daring with ball in hand, producing stellar performances at SANFL level to match it with senior bodies, which arguably makes him the most senior-ready among the top five prospects.
Draper’s low centre of gravity is incredible, making his ground ball efforts and forward-half movements near impossible to restrict.

I reckon I saw one on adelaidenow today that had Jagga going at 8. Open top end.

If draper is gone and we get Smith then it's arguably a better outcome for us.
How exactly is that the case?

A high end SA talent compared to a Vic Metro lad whose father Mike has been the head groundsman at Scotch College Hawthorn for an eon?

This isn't an Ebert vs Dangerfield scenario in ny mind, if anything it's the other way round.

Yeah I can't see it happening TBH,

I'd be surprised to see him get through the first 4 picks who aren't Levi Ashcroft.

Too much emphasis on mids going high on all the phantom drafts. I think we could get a surprise. Rumour is North want a top KPP. They are an example of a side whose stocked to the brim with mids. Elite Mids at that. Ive heard Melbourne also want a KPP. Both have mids selected at their pick in the phantom draft.

Sliders and bolters always happen.

I reckon I saw one on adelaidenow today that had Jagga going at 8. Open top end.
Possible, even though I’ve got him at 2

Clubs are looking for guys with massive weapons and he’s more the subtle death by a thousand cuts

If anyone gets him outside of the top 3 it’s a massive bargain for them

Possible, even though I’ve got him at 2

Clubs are looking for guys with massive weapons and he’s more the subtle death by a thousand cuts

If anyone gets him outside of the top 3 it’s a massive bargain for them
Wonder if an interstate club will go down Brisbane's retention path with great mates Tobie Travaglia, Archer Day-Wicks and Ollie Hannaford?

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)