Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

When we don't have the ball has always been his biggest weakness. Not all players have to defend but he has to do alot of good to balance what he costs the team when they have it.
All players have to defend to some extent in 2024 AFL. Kudos to him for turning things around when he looked done and he is an All Australian who's averaged almost 30 possessions across his career but... if guys like Soligo, Peatling, pick 4 can not only win the ball at stoppage but also exit the stoppage and dispose cleanly, then Crouch's touches have less value. He starts in 2025 you'd think but his lack of leg speed, disposal penetration and defensive running means if we're going to contend in today's super paced game, he probably isn't part of our best side.

Improved it massively re what he does without ball
He has, but with our recruitment of Peatling, continual growth of Soligo, Rankine, Taylor etc and (hopefully) investment of a midfielder at the high end of the draft he's probably got 12 months left with us to step that up even further.

I know we (me included) say that the SA thing shouldn't be a huge factor in deciding on a player, but when you line everything up ... maybe it should be this time around?

Someone mentioned this first round draft class will be coming out of their 3-year first contract when Tassie are in full reaping mode. That means the Vic clubs are going to be spending up on available talent rather than going to the draft and willing to pay big AND Tassie will have power and money and picks to spend.

I cannot see how we would compete with these two channels for a non-SA player ... compared to keeping someone like Sid Draper.

I think this could be why we are looking to get to #2, to make sure Sid doesn't slip out of our hands.

It’s not just a lack of leg speed we have been missing- it’s the explosive power out of a stoppage

Our team is crying out for that attribute in our midfield mix

I agree. Everyone has different opinions on the ranking of this group, which is totally fine, but what can’t be argued is that we have several players who play very similarly to Langford, but we have no one who plays like Draper. Burst speed forward of a contest has been a missing piece for 10 years really, since Danger.

I know we (me included) say that the SA thing shouldn't be a huge factor in deciding on a player, but when you line everything up ... maybe it should be this time around?

Someone mentioned this first round draft class will be coming our of their 3-year first contract when Tassie are in full reaping mode. That means the Vic clubs are going to be spending up on available talent rather than going to the draft and willing to pay big AND Tassie will have power and money and picks to spend.

I cannot see how we would compete with these two channels for a non-SA player ... compared to keeping someone like Sid Draper.

I think this could be why we are looking to get to #2, to make sure Sid doesn't slip out of our hands.
Agreed. I also normally argue that picking locally is short sighted, however this year the fact is that even if Draper was from Vic he probably is the best pick for the balance of our group. The fact he’s also local and a lifelong Crows supporter really makes it a no brainer.

So if we want to move up it would be for Smith but if Smith and Draper are both available at 4.... why wouldn't we also still select Smith?
Because Smith won’t be available at 4*

*unless North goes the unconventional route and reaches for Tauru at 2, but even then there’s a chance Smith is picked over FOS at 3.

I don't think I was the first but I have been following him since the SSA under 12s champs. To be honest I don't watch as much of the under age football as I could but my mate recruits for one of the AFL teams, Mr Kinnear Beatson
You sound like you know your stuff.

Are you a driving instructor as well by chance?

Because Smith won’t be available at 4*

*unless North goes the unconventional route and reaches for Tauru at 2, but even then there’s a chance Smith is picked over FOS at 3.
Cmon, you guys are playing the long game by trading up to try and get FOS if he is there...its another string to the bow to try and lure Harley Reid across :cool:

We already have his girlfriend … so we’ve already got ways to convince him 😎

Totally unrelated, but I wonder if he has any interested in environmental sustainability and cardboard recycling ? 😂

While I am fully in the Smith/Draper basket for our pick, the suggestions of a meltdown for Langford is a stretch.

At least Langford is the next considered in that bracket. It's no doubt he's around the mark.

If we took Travaglia or Lindsay at our pick, there might be more of a melt.
I think Langford is the best of the lot. The melts will come from the FB happy clappers who just assume Draper is the one because he’s local.

WTF have happy clappers got to do with it, many draft followers have different opinions on the players in the top half dozen or so. Langford doesn't figure at the top of too many boards, it's all down to opinions, some informed some not so much.

I’ll prob get roasted for this.

We lack class. We lack highly skilled footballers with top shelf footy IQ. It’s why, IMO, Draper is not the answer. Speed is overrated if it leads to turnover. Speed of ball movement is much more important. And that comes from making good decisions under pressure.

Hence why Smith or Langford should be the priority.

WTF have happy clappers got to do with it, many draft followers have different opinions on the players in the top half dozen or so. Langford doesn't figure at the top of too many boards, it's all down to opinions, some informed some not so much.
I realise that mate. But I’m sure you also see how the average punter on FB would melt if we didn’t go with Draper.

My understanding is that they will take FOS at Pick 2 and then look to trade their F1 for Tauru if he slides.
OK but who realistically would trade a top 10 pick (likely needed for Tauru) for a F1? This has been well covered in the media about how DIFFICULT it is going to be for teams to buy back into the first round this year, let alone a top 10 pick

We lack class. We lack highly skilled footballers with top shelf footy IQ. It’s why, IMO, Draper is not the answer. Speed is overrated if it leads to turnover. Speed of ball movement is much more important. And that comes from making good decisions under pressure.

Rankine, Dawson and Curtin. Soligo does in close but does rush his kicks when he burst away from contest (easily fixable with more experience).

I’m not sure Langford is the highly skilled player you think he is

I keep swapping between Smith and Draper for the same reasons. Today, Smith is my preference.

Especially at AFL level where his lack of pace will have him kicking under pressure all the time. I love him but gee he does look slow.
He’ll need time and space to have effective disposal at the top level, IMO

I think he definitely can be an effective, even a very good player, but moreso off a wing

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)